6/2 Phoenix AMBG 102 +5 63 +7 106 PMBG 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lindsay & Phoenix

Member Since 2011
As you can see by my spreadsheet, I have not given a shot since last night. I felt his number was too low at AMPS to warrant giving the shot and now I am heading into work at PMPS and it is still low. I have been steadily (but not too quickly) reducing his dose. I will reduce again in the morning as long as I can shoot. Is the only reason that his numbers are too low to shoot because he is still getting too much insulin? I have reduced alllllll the way from 3u twice daily to .50u units twice daily. I would appreciate anyone taking a look at his spreadsheet and giving their opinion. I apologize for gaps in his home testing... I work all kinds of crazy hours both during the day and night and test all the time when I'm actually home. Thank you!!
 
Hi Lindsay, I don't know the answer to your question, but will bump you up for someone else's eyes. i know people go down in doses to just 1 drop, but don't know what's appropriate for phoenix. great news that phoenix is doing so well! you must be thrilled!
 
For someone who works crazy hours, Phoenix's SS isn't bad at all!! I'd suggest trying to get a before bed test and an in or out the door test so you can get at least one test per cycle if that's possible.

Given your schedule, rather than having to skip shots, it might make more sense to lower the dose so you can shoot twice a day. It looks like that after a couple of skipped shots, Phoenix's shed begins to empty and numbers start rising. I'm thinking that if you lower the dose, you'll get a much flatter cycle and won't have to skip (or at least not as often). What would you think about lowering the dose to 0.25u?
 
Hi Lindsay, I agree with Sienne, I think you're doing pretty well for someone with a crazy schedule! I see you are having to skip shots with 0.5u, reducing to 0.25u so you can try to shoot twice a day makes sense to me. I understand not wanting to shoot a low number and go to work. I know his number this morning was low, but if you are able to monitor, maybe on a day like today you could try a BCS (reduced) dose if you aren't comfortable shooting the full dose? I'm not sure you realize that you could use that third option, rather than shoot the full dose or skip. Trying it on a day when you can monitor will let you see what happens, so you might be more comfortable shooting at least a reduced dose when he is in lower numbers and you have to go to work.

It looks like Phoenix's pancreas may be sputtering...producing some insulin, but not enough or not consistently enough to do the job on its own. I suspect that you will see higher numbers again tomorrow morning after skipping two shots (maybe not, these kitties love to keep us guessing!). You want to try to shoot some insulin, even if it's only a drop, as much as possible so you can keep some insulin in the shed, and keep his numbers down. I understand that you work crazy hours, and you won't be home sometimes to monitor....you have to be comfortable with what/when you are shooting. But the more you can shoot some insulin, the more time his pancreas will have in the healing range (50-120) so it can get strong enough to take over the job on its own.

Does that makes sense? Please ask questions if not...sometimes I'm as clear as mud! :razz:
 
I know it's late but I just wanted to respond. I honestly did not think about reducing the dose when his pre-shot is low so that I am still giving him something. This makes SOOOOO much sense! I am going to go to .25u in the morning and see how we do. I have more time tomorrow to test. I can always count on you guys! Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top