6/2 Philly AMPS 511, +3 414

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
On day one (Thursday) we saw numbers drop from 400s to 80s so decreased dose from 1 unit to .75 on Friday morning. Since then it seems we're seeing way too many 500+ numbers.

He gets a few bites of dry twice a day at shot time. Otherwise he is only offered wet food. It's only Tuesday. Is it safe to allow him to stay this high for a week before doing a curve?

My vet office called this morning and when I gave them Philly's update, they said they would pass the info to the doctor. I expect that she will call in a bit. She knows I belong to this forum and is great about working with me on a plan.
 
Did your vet ever call you back?
Looks like our kitties have very similar looking spreadsheets. I'm trying so hard to get mine out of the red and pink numbers. He's been there for a while. :( We're already up to 3u of Lantus.
Also, if you add the question mark prefix to your title, people tend to respond a little faster.
Good luck and I hope Philly starts feeling better and you get those numbers down. <3
 
Here's the link to your previous post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-philly-amps-510-4-433-9-346-pmps-505-3-517.230362/ We include those links so people can go back and see the history. Might be time to toss out the Temptations, they are very high carb. Have you tried freeze dried meat treats? All my cats have gone crazy for them.

What is the percent of dry vs wet he's getting now? Once you've completed the change, you have the option of using TR for dosing, which allows you to increase faster. With SLGS you'd be fine to do the curve anytime now, but the increase would have to wait. I see you increased back because the vet said to. It's possible Philly had a strong initial reaction to insulin, which some cats do. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Hi. Philly seems to be coming down a bit on the 1 unit dose. I plan to stick with this for a week and do a curve. He will take a few bites of wet, but that's about it, so I have to try throughout the day. I only allow him to have dry at shot time, and he only eats a couple minutes.

Our 14 year old cat, Ash, passed away this morning, and we just came in from burying her. Today has been a day just to get through, so I've only tested a few times. At least he's had a gradual decrease all day.

I had forgotten about adding the previous day's link. I'll try to get back in the habit.
 
Back
Top