6/2 Mister PMPS 307 +1 265 +3 253 +4 245 +5 232

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
6/1 Mister PMPS 297 +1 258 +2 238 +3.5 165 +4 156 +5 142 +6 144

I have to take my boxer dog Ava to the vet to get her annual vaccines today. I got an email notification that Mister is also due. I've been on the fence about this since his dx. I'm going to do some more research before I decide whether to get his or not. If anyone cares to share their experience with vaccinating a diabetic cat (or not), please do share.

ETA Mister got a 5-year rabies shot last year, so this one I don't need to worry about. Most (if not all) vets here in my area won't even see a cat unless they are up to date with a rabies vaccine. It's the boosters I'm wondering about. I found some good info on previous condos that I'm looking through, and I'm leaning toward holding off on any other shots for now. But again I'd love to hear anyones thoughts. Thank you all!

Have a great Tuesday and safe surfing to my cat friends out there😻
 
Last edited:
Hi Elizabeth, I hope the vet visit went well today with Ava.
You may want to post a separate thread on the "MAIN" page and ask the question about vaccines to see what the overall thoughts are, there will probably be more eyes on the question there.

Ivy hasn't had vaccines since she was a baby, none of my vets have wanted more vaccines for her, she's had many health issues for so many years now.
She is indoor only, no other pets, so that may be part of the reason.
I don't want to give her vaccines at this point in age and many health issues.

I hope Mister has a safe surf today :bighug: 😻 🐈‍⬛ 🌊
 
Hi Elizabeth, I hope the vet visit went well today with Ava.
You may want to post a separate thread on the "MAIN" page and ask the question about vaccines to see what the overall thoughts are, there will probably be more eyes on the question there.

Ivy hasn't had vaccines since she was a baby, none of my vets have wanted more vaccines for her, she's had many health issues for so many years now.
She is indoor only, no other pets, so that may be part of the reason.
I don't want to give her vaccines at this point in age and many health issues.

I hope Mister has a safe surf today :bighug: 😻 🐈‍⬛ 🌊
Good idea, I’ll make a post over there about it. The only problem is my vet is very pro-vaccines. I can’t order anything from Chewy that requires a prescription unless the animal is up to date 😳 which I’ve always thought was a bit ridiculous. But ultimately it’s my decision! I don’t blame you for not wanting to give her anything that could put unnecessary strain on her. Ivy is the luckiest girl to have you!
 
Good idea, I’ll make a post over there about it. The only problem is my vet is very pro-vaccines. I can’t order anything from Chewy that requires a prescription unless the animal is up to date 😳 which I’ve always thought was a bit ridiculous. But ultimately it’s my decision! I don’t blame you for not wanting to give her anything that could put unnecessary strain on her. Ivy is the luckiest girl to have you!
We all do the best we can.
I know you are taking great care of your pets 💞
Thanks, Elizabeth 🥰
 
My vet is supportive of my choice for the vaccines so I’m very relieved about that. I still have some time to consider.

My dog is happy to be home, and Mister was waiting at the door making sure I knew that I had missed his 3pm feeding. I think I’m in trouble.
 
All my kitties get their FVRCP vaccine every 3 years. Since I foster cats, volunteer at an adoption center and a kitten nursery, and do Trap/Neuter/Return with feral cats, I have to be super careful. Panleuk is super contagious and after having dealt with a couple exposure scares (none of my cats/kittens got it thank goodness) and calicivirus with a litter of kittens who all got SUPER sick, I'm even more careful. The kitten who started the calici outbreak got the virus at the vet's office when he was in getting his heart checked and he gave it to his sisters and another foster. I've never had a cat with an adverse reaction to an FVRCP vaccine (knock on wood!) and am very comfortable with the safety of that vaccine. I'm still a bit more hesitant about rabies vaccines but now that my girls have access to a catio, I gritted my teeth and got updated rabies vaccines for all of them since we do have bats in the area. I know my situation is probably much higher-risk than most, so the cost benefit analysis is probably different, but I figured I'd chime in. 😻
 
All my kitties get their FVRCP vaccine every 3 years. Since I foster cats, volunteer at an adoption center and a kitten nursery, and do Trap/Neuter/Return with feral cats, I have to be super careful. Panleuk is super contagious and after having dealt with a couple exposure scares (none of my cats/kittens got it thank goodness) and calicivirus with a litter of kittens who all got SUPER sick, I'm even more careful. The kitten who started the calici outbreak got the virus at the vet's office when he was in getting his heart checked and he gave it to his sisters and another foster. I've never had a cat with an adverse reaction to an FVRCP vaccine (knock on wood!) and am very comfortable with the safety of that vaccine. I'm still a bit more hesitant about rabies vaccines but now that my girls have access to a catio, I gritted my teeth and got updated rabies vaccines for all of them since we do have bats in the area. I know my situation is probably much higher-risk than most, so the cost benefit analysis is probably different, but I figured I'd chime in. 😻
I appreciate this information so much! It’s so scary and sad that he picked up calici from the dr’s office🥺
The bats/catio is the reason I’ve stayed up to date on all of mines rabies vaccines too, we get bats that fly right around our house sometimes. I know it may still be a slim chance but l felt it was worth having them protected just in case. We also have a couple stray cats in our neighborhood and while my cats never go outside, they have access to their catio 24/7, which is a chain link enclosure with a chicken wire roof. I don’t know the chances of them being able to catch something that way if a stray roamed into our yard but the thought does make me a little nervous so I totally understand why youd want to be more cautious in your situation especially. Food for thought - thank you! And think you’re a rock star for everything you do to help those kitties!
 
Mine got their kitten FVRCP and none since. They are strictly indoors. I don’t understand how vets can force you to get vaccinations and refuse treatment or prescriptions. 🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️
That’s what I was worried about happening. I don’t understand either, it has always rubbed me the wrong way. I’ll be doing my research before deciding because I’ve seen others say the same and their cats are thriving. I’m glad my vet agreed that Mister can go without but I’m wondering about Calliope. Thank you Marje💕
 
Maybe it's your vet's requirement? I order from Chewy's pharmacy and all they do is contact the vet to confirm a prescription. They don't ask for vaccine status, not that it's any of their business or has anything to do with the prescription.
I do believe it is a vet requirement. We have a good vet I try not to complain about things especially if I don’t fully understand but some things definitely make me “🤨🤔
 
That’s what I was worried about happening. I don’t understand either, it has always rubbed me the wrong way. I’ll be doing my research before deciding because I’ve seen others say the same and their cats are thriving. I’m glad my vet agreed that Mister can go without but I’m wondering about Calliope. Thank you Marje💕
Ask your vet to run a titer for Calliope for the things protected by FVRCP. If her titer is high, there’s no need to vaccinate. Most vets are getting away from annual vaccinations. Vaccinating for feline leukemia should be completely up to you and I would not let a vet browbeat me into that. Insofar as rabies, that’s a tough ones. Most states require it, as does mine, and so some vets are insistent. Mine is not but she’s also on the same page as I am about vaccinations. She know I understand the risks if Livia got out but if she did get out, there are bigger hazards like hawks, coyotes, and bobcats who all live on and around our property.
 
Back
Top