6/2 Misha AMPS 53; skipped. PMPS=75; drop. +1=68, +2=61, +3=63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeakycats

Member Since 2017
Hi, all--here's yesterday's thread. Misha's AMPS was 53. I will be gone all day. My husband can stay and take a +2. We are not doing TR, and I'm nervous. I'm going to go ahead and give him his drop (unless advised otherwise in the next few minutes). My husband is not used to managing any of this, though he can successfully get a test done. He will need really specific guidance, and I'll be away from the phone and email and unable to help. What would make you think he needed to give MC food? Or HC? What would indicate a crisis where he has to skip work, vs. a situation where he could feed MC or HC food and then head out? Help!
 
I think under the circumstances I'd be inclined to skip this morning and resume in the evening. It just seems too close for comfort, given that your husband isn't used to dealing closely with this-- I wouldn't want to shoot this number without being confident of being able to monitor and steer.
 
OK--thank you both so much--I don't want to mess up the experiment we're doing here, but even more than that, I don't want to mess up my kitty!

I was looking at the TR sticky and trying to apply that information, and it made me realize why it's helpful to have a +1. Previously, I thought "Nothing is going to have changed much, and the insulin isn't supposed to have had any effect yet, so why does this matter?" But now I see it's important to have some numbers from throughout the cycle--from all of the hours!--to try to detect a pattern. I looked at his AT sheet, which has much more data since that was what I was focusing on in the past, but it still isn't enough for me to be confident of his patterns. He does seem to usually be dropping by +2, which is interesting.

Again, thank you--I am so glad you were here and appreciate your help so much!!! I will test again right before I leave this morning just to have the information, and we'll get back in the saddle tonight.
 
I am a bit late but, I agree also with the skip, since monitoring today is an issue. At this point, the drop is being given to give the pancreas some extra support. My gut tells me that he is ready to be done with insulin. We will all be looking tonight to see how he did without the drop.
 
Well, he was at 70 when I got home tonight and rose to 75 an hour after eating his dinner. (He may also have been snacking during the day...I'm not sure.) I'm totally fine with shooting this and will get more measurements tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top