6/2 MILO AMPS 85 +0.5 81 +1 90 +2 108 +3 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bebe Kaye

Member Since 2013
Posting today after being ill for the past few days.

Low numbers today, but Miley seems to be fine when I shoot low, I just make sure i'm there to watch him.

We finally got to the vets and I learnt how to do subq's, not too hard (well I don't think it is, I have to do all by myself tomorrow *eeek*), the vet was great, walked me through it and then let me do it. She gave me some spare needles in case I screw up (<- very likely), but I hope I don't and this helps Miley out keeping him hydrated with his CKD. It was a stressful day for the Ebony Prince, I stupidly let them take him out back to do his blood test instead of insisting they do it while i'm there and he apparently put up a huge fight. That is not my boy, he is the most placid sweet cat and even the vet said she was surprised at how he was, she doesn't realise that he's fine as long as with either me or one of my daughters. So from now on my foot is down, if they want to take blood they can do it with me there!

Milo's sugar climbed up on the day of his vet's visit and some of the next morning, but that's normal for him, he hates car trips and vet visit even more! On the way home his third eyelids prolapsed and this only happens with him when he's sick or REALLY stressed out so on the drive home I was a mess! Once he got home, had a drink, something to eat and curled up on his favourite blanky, he was fine. His BG has since dropped back down and I sat up all night with him last night, his BG levels weren't too low, but I haven't been sleeping well anyway, so he got some company and we watched reruns of 'House'...problem with those medical shows is I now think my chest infection is something so much worse!! :lol:

Miley got his vitamin B shot, and we also checked his BP, it's still high and so his Amlodipine dose has been doubled. He seems a little lethargic, but I guess with everything going on with his health he has a right to be. Miley has been quite good, though seems to be a little off his food, I have a feeling it's more to do with him being sick of what he's being fed, because when I try him on fresh meat or something new, he breathes the food down.

Well I think it's time to go grab my sweet Ebony prince and head up stairs for a nanny nap, thank goodness I have blacked out windows in my bedroom...makes daytime napping so much easier!

Hope all the sweet furry little boys and girls and their sweeter beans are doing splendiferously and have been enjoying the weekend!

Bebe and Milo
 
Be sure to give the sub-q fluids and the insulin in different areas on Milo. So there is no interference between the two.
 
Anne & Zener said:
Nice numbers for Milo. Check out this video that Marje made about giving fluids.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... tSzMuDgx78
Liz

Awesome! thanks so much!!


Deb & Wink said:
Be sure to give the sub-q fluids and the insulin in different areas on Milo. So there is no interference between the two.

I give Miley's insulin in the sides of his tummy, so no worries there...his fluids are going in around the neck scruff and upper sides of shoulders. Thank you very much for the warning!
 
Looks like another late night...'but that's okay Miley, I really don't need sleep' :lol:.

AMPS+10 76
AMPS+11 70

PMPS 86
+0.5 72
+1 59
+1.5 65
+2 74

His numbers seem to be all over the place but I think free feeding has a LOT to do with it! I just want to keep meat on his bones, last week he was 7.33kg and this week a little bit up at 7.45kg. He's always been a BIG boy, he looks a little funny now, he has saggy tummy skin from when he was big...well it's either that or something to do with the suspected but undiagnosed Cushings, but I have to wonder if that theory is wrong with his BG levels being so good.

I'm wondering...if he keeps these low numbers, after a week or two, should I lower the insulin down to 0.75? I'm not sure how much longer I can go without sleep :roll:, though I do like the blues and greens a lot more than the purples! Maybe this is his ideal dose and he will sit pretty here.

Hope everyone is doing wonderfully, looks like I get to watch more 'House' reruns...wonder what disease i'll think I have next :lol:.

Have a good one everybody and everykitty,
Bebe and Milo
 
he has saggy tummy skin from when he was big...
My vet calls these "man boobs'. ohmygod_smile My civie Monet developed these after a 4.5 pound (2.04 kilo) weight loss.

Let me take a minute to look at your SS and I'll get back to you on the dose.
 
Three options:

1. Stay at this same 1U but test less. The amount of testing you do does not allow you to get the sleep you need. You could test a bit less, getting those +2 at night and a before bed test might be enough. Depending on how different the +2 is from the preshot, it is sometimes a good predictor of what direction the BG's are headed.

2. Skinny the dose to a skinny 1U, plunger just below the 1U mark on the syringe, a tiny bit closer to the needle. A little bit less insulin. May help to keep those nice blues and greens around.

3. Decrease the dose to a 0.75. Milo hasn't officially earned a dose reduction, dropping under 2.77(50). You could always try this and if the reductions does not hold (keeping the BG numbers down in those nice blues and greens). After 3 days, reevaluate and then go back up to the last good dose, which would be the 1U if needed.

He did not officially earn that 1.5U to 1U dose reduction you did back on 5/27 or the one on 5/28 either but he seems to be doing well with the reductions.

We need you to take car of yourself too. So pick the option you like best and try it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top