6/2 Jinx AMPS 376, +5 354, PMPS 444

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/2 Jinx AMPS 376

I think 3 is going to be your lucky number and you'll see more pinks and yellows with an occasional blue sky ;-)
 
Re: 6/2 Jinx AMPS 376, +5 354

Hey Joe!

It looks like it's time to increase Jinx's dose. Until you see Jinx steadily in blues and greens, you want to increase every 6 cycles (3 days) if possible. I'd consider increasing to 3.25u tonight.
 
Re: 6/2 Jinx AMPS 376, +5 354

Does his BG at 445 last night and the relatively high numbers today indicate he may not have cleared his bounce yet?
 
Re: 6/2 Jinx AMPS 376, +5 354

Sienne has been at this much longer than me, but I think what she may be indicating is that since Jinx's numbers are so high that shooting through the bounce would be warranted in this case.

Ultimately, you hold the syringe in your hand. So if you are not comfortable with increasing the dose just yet then do what you think is best.
 
Re: 6/2 Jinx AMPS 376, +5 354

I'm comfortable increasing his dose and it does make sense to me. But how to handle a bounce is something I still don't understand very well yet. He was on 1u for several cycles because of not clearing the bounce and his numbers were much higher then. I'm guessing that's because it was his starting dose and we didn't have much data yet?
 
Shooting through the bounce is when kitty has earned a reduction in one cycle but then starts to bounce in the next one. So, instead of taking the reduction that particular cycle, the caregiver can shoot through the bounce cycle and take the reduction the next cycle.

Example: Kitty, whose imaginary dose is 1u, earns a reduction in the a.m. cycle by going below 50. With a .25u reduction, the new dose would be .75u. But by +11, kitty is zooming up and is at 300 by PMPS. The caregiver can shoot the 1u through the evening cycle and then the next a.m. cycle, take the reduction.

Sorry I didn't peek in at Jinx's SS last night to see that six cycles had already flown by. Glad you gave the increase. Good luck!
 
Joe dropped me a PM about my thoughts re. increasing Jinx's dose. I thought he brought up a very good point so I wanted to clarify for anyone who was similarly curious.

I think at the beginning of this process most people have trouble understanding bounces. I tend to be relatively conservative about waiting out a bounce. However, there are a couple of caveats.

You're right -- Jinx is bouncing a bit. Ordinarily, I would suggest you hold until the bounce clears and it would be fine to do so if you would prefer. As Jinx starts to spend more time below 200, I would definitely hold until the bounce clears. When numbers are still relatively high, you want to get your cat out of those high numbers especially if as soon as a bounce clears, numbers drop, and the cat's numbers bounce up again. When that happens, you can be at the same dose for a long time. Since you are very good about getting tests and keeping an eye on Jinx's numbers, I think you can be a bit more aggressive and try to get Jinx's numbers into the blues and yellows. The other factor that may be complicating things with Jinx is the influence of the pred. Given that you're shifting to every other day dosing, I would definitely pay close attention to whether this has an effect on Jinx's BG numbers.
 
Marje & Sienne, thank-you for your posts. They make perfect sense and cleared up a lot of my ignorance regarding how to respond to bounces.

I'll definitely keep a close eye on Jinx as I try to wean him off the pred. He's been responding very well to the inhaler so I'm really hoping I can get him off the pred entirely and manage his asthma with the Flovent.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top