? 6/2 Jessi, AMPS 289, +2.25 215, +4 101, +4.5 81, +6.5 120, +7 193; PMPS 321, +2.25 245

Feeding now. It's a mix of her LC with Fancy Feast, like I did last night. I think FF might be a little lower carb here than in the States. Checking now. But it worked well last night without spiking much.

No, I take that back, FF is super high carb here too!

I just gave a little mixed in with some of her food. She ate some, not a lot. She seems to lose appetite at a certain point as the BGs go down and then in other moments gets more hungry. I think she just feels weird so she doesn't even know if she's hungry or not...her instinct is to curl up and sleep. I try to get her moving around and interacting so I see how she's doing.

FF pate is low carb here on the states. The gravy is about 15%, so it's just on the edge of MC/HC... The Tuscany gourmet is HC, as it has rice, about 19 or 20%.
 
FF pate is low carb here on the states. The gravy is about 15%, so it's just on the edge of MC/HC... The Tuscany gourmet is HC, as it has rice, about 19 or 20%.
I have the one with chunks in gravy which I was told by someone here on the forum was the highest carb one. I just calculated the carbs and if the calculator is right it's a whopping 29.72!

I used this carb calculator:

https://www.caticles.com/carb-calculator-for-cat-food/

Protein 7.5
Fat 3.7
Fiber .5
Ash 1.3
Moisture 81.5

Carb % 5.5 including moisture
Carb % 29.73 dry matter basis

It seems insanely high, does that seem right? I use this carb calculator all the time so I hope it's accurate.

She's a little allergic to rice so hopefully that isn't in this one. She has a bunch of food intolerances. I have no idea if any of them are in the FF I got, but for these purposes I think it's ok. I just hope she doesn't decide she wants only FF from now on! LOL!

Trying to stay lighthearted as my kitty's BGs are plunging again...

It's usually more extreme at night, but nothing is sure ever since we started Lantus!
 
Last edited:
Since I can't get a read on the sensor I am thinking of giving her some more food with some HC mixed in. She looks kind of out of it as usual when BGs go low. She also feels kind of warm to the touch, like she's overheating. I notice this often in these moments and breathing through her nose more noisily, although this might just be a Jessi thing. But weirdly, she has been doing this more since they put the sensor on.

Sensor seems like it decided to quit completely. I think it may have come out partially. It's day 9 so it lasted quite a while and several days more than last time. But now I have no numbers again. It might suddenly come back, but this is a clear indication that it is on its way out. It makes me wonder how much of last night's lows were true. I never saw it stay in the red (on the Libre) for so long... Usually when t is malfunctioning it dips down briefly to super low numbers then back up again.

I could try the ear pricking but I'm afraid it will just make her hide somewhere I can't get to her easily and of course stress her a lot, and me too. Meanwhile, I'm falling asleep sitting up as I'm writing this.
 
I just got a read, +131. But the graph is broken so the sensor is definitely on its way out. I think it's actually that loosened, so the needle isn't all the way in all the time. The sensor itself seems to still be working.

Well, that's a relief for now. But what about the dose? and how will I get through the night without this thing? I may have to preemptively give her a little extra carbs in her meal just to get us through without too much risk.

Why are her BGs plunging so much??? I know, I keep asking that. I just wish I could understand all this more. Maybe I just have to accept that there is only so much I can control. Ultimately, it's up to Jessi and her body how the insulin is utilized

Falling asleep at the computer again. Maybe it really is nap time now. I'll give it another half hour or so. We're at +6 now so waiting until +7 and then napping is probably good. I'll give her some extra food with maybe a tiny bit of HC on it, how does that sound? Or maybe she doesn't need the HC anymore since we're later in the cycle.
 
Do we take a reduction? I can't tell if she went below 81, maybe not. Of course, I fed to bring her up so it could have gone down more if I hadn't. So do I keep the same dose tonight or reduce? I know the sensor has a 10% difference at least so, it could be that she never actually went below 90...

What are your thoughts?
 
Do we take a reduction? I can't tell if she went below 81, maybe not. Of course, I fed to bring her up so it could have gone down more if I hadn't. So do I keep the same dose tonight or reduce? I know the sensor has a 10% difference at least so, it could be that she never actually went below 90...

What are your thoughts?

I don't give dosing advice, but I will tag a few members who can guide you regarding that.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy

The carb count sounds a little high as far as the FF, even the gravy varieties usually max out at 18%... There is a food chart that @Angela & Cleo probably has the link to, at hand!

The diving is part of her body reacting and getting used to the fact that now she is getting insulin and her body is using it. Once you have more data, you'll be able to see patterns, to predict drops, etc. Try using the LC food to hold a number, MC for a slight bump, and HC for deep dives, or low numbers under 60/50.... 1 teaspoon-ish at a time, so she will continue to eat if required.

Jessi might seem a little out of it in numbers she's not used to get. I don't think her feeling warm has anything to do with anything.
 
I don't give dosing advice, but I will tag a few members who can guide you regarding that.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy

The carb count sounds a little high as far as the FF, even the gravy varieties usually max out at 18%... There is a food chart that @Angela & Cleo probably has the link to, at hand!

The diving is part of her body reacting and getting used to the fact that now she is getting insulin and her body is using it. Once you have more data, you'll be able to see patterns, to predict drops, etc. Try using the LC food to hold a number, MC for a slight bump, and HC for deep dives, or low numbers under 60/50.... 1 teaspoon-ish at a time, so she will continue to eat if required.

Jessi might seem a little out of it in numbers she's not used to get. I don't think her feeling warm has anything to do with anything.

Ok, thanks. I'll wait to see what others say.

Maybe you can help me with another question. I want to lie down to take a nap now. She ate about a half hour ago, I think about a half 80g can. I will feed her in about 3 hours, a little less. Normally, I would leave some food out for her. But now that we are on Lantus I don't know if after the Nadir when numbers are starting to rise, I should leave food out or not. What are your thoughts?
 
THanks BHooma and
You are good for a nap till PMPS. Every drop below 90 is a reduction with SLGS .

Hi Stefania,

With that AM+7 at 193 Absolutely take a nap! :bighug:

When following SLGS, any BG reading under 90 is a reduction. Looks like Jessi's new dose is going to be 0.50. Congrats!

Here is a link to the Food Charts

Ok, thanks y'all! I will nap a little. Food? Leave some out for her while I nap or make her wait until PM meal? I'm inclined to leave some out.

Who's cross posting? What is cross posting anyway?
 
Food? Leave some out for her while I nap or make her wait until PM meal?
She has risen to high blues and in very SAFE numbers. I would not leave out anything until its times for PM meal. Feeding after nadir (the lowest BG in the cycle) shortens the duration of the insulin.
Who's cross posting? What is cross posting anyway?
Cross posting is when different members respond almost at the same time and therefore their posts crossed. Both Bhooma and I said basically the same thing at the same time in posts #58 and #59 :p
 
She has risen to high blues and in very SAFE numbers. I would not leave out anything until its times for PM meal. Feeding after nadir (the lowest BG in the cycle) shortens the duration of the insulin.


Cross posting is when different members respond almost at the same time and therefore their posts crossed. Both Bhooma and I said basically the same thing at the same time in posts #58 and #59 :p


Oops! I had already given her some and gone to sleep. Next time I will know not to.

How much do I give her at PM meal time? I normally give 1 to 1.5 cans depending on her appetite. I gave her half before the shot, should I go ahead and give the other half or wait a little longer?
 
About the food...she's waiting hungrily for me to feed her more. We're almost at +1.5, BG is still high, 256, but definitely going down, do I wait to give her more? She's used to getting at least a can if not more at PM and AM mealtimes.
 
I would feed her as you normally do.
When you have some time, read this thread on Using Food to Manipulate the Curve. I found it very useful.

I fed her the other half at about +1. BGs are still somewhat high. Thanks for the reminder about that thread, I had taken a look at it before. I noticed it said that this was for more experienced users so I am using it lightly, giving her small frequent meals throughout the day, but I still don't know enough to really manipulate the curve and I want to be careful I don't do anything that could put her in danger.
 
Good job so far with all the reading and keeping Jessie safe :bighug:
The stickies really do help (and also calm the human's nerves ;))
Keep posting, asking questions, share your fears thoughts and concerns, keep reading. It's all important and helpful for keeping kitty safe and keeping human sane :p
 
Good job so far with all the reading and keeping Jessie safe :bighug:
The stickies really do help (and also calm the human's nerves ;))
Keep posting, asking questions, share your fears thoughts and concerns, keep reading. It's all important and helpful for keeping kitty safe and keeping human sane :p

:)
 
Back
Top