6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65 +2 45 +3 67 +4 92 +5 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 234 1st cycle 1u
+2: 280
+4: 280
+6: 297
PMPS: 292 2nd cycle 1u
+2: 234
+4: 215
+9.5: 285


Happy Fursday!! We are sending out mega healing vines, white light, snowflakes, and prayers to Donovan and MJ.

Gracie is back to flat yellows. She seems to be feeling fine and doing all things happy Gracie does. Hoping her bounce clears today....probably will tonight so I can stay up with her :-D :-D

Tobey update: this morning when I got up, his left eye was shut and weepy. When he tried to open it, his third eyelid closed over it. I got him into vet ASAP this morning (hence the late condo). He has a HUGE ulcer on his eye. He was absolutely fine at 12:30 a.m. when Mike came to bed. Mike said Tobey was chasing after something in the guest room and Mike did a thorough check even using the black light looking for scorpions. This morning after I left, he found a dead sun spider. Vet said Tobey could have gotten bitten and then rubbed his eye causing the ulcer OR it could be herpes virus and all the stress from yesterday kicked it into high gear. I'm less likely to think that as he's been to the vet a ton and has never had that reaction and they didn't really do that much yesterday. At any rate, she gave him atropine ointment for the pain, terramycin ointment, and L-lysine gel. He goes back in a week or sooner if it doesn't get better. Poor baby boy....he was feeling really well yesterday afternoon...playing, eating, etc. She did say this morning that his heart rate was great, no sound of any abnormal beat or murmur. We're leaving in 5 mins for the specialist. Will let you all know when we get back. Please send more prayers that his heart is totally normal.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215

Poor little Tobey! It all happens at once! I hope it was just a spider bite, that is unless sun spiders are really toxic? All paws fingers and toes are crossed for the cardio check. and sending tone of vines for the little boy! ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215

Jeeze, guys... I am so sorry to hear about Tobey. He just can't get a win right now... :cry: I am sending you lots and lots of prayers and healing vines and keeping you guys in my thoughts today.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215

Poor Tobey! How scary...glad you were able to get him to the vet ASAP. I have a kitty with feline herpes and scarred corneas as a result. I don't think a huge herpes-related ulcer can pop up that quickly - maybe a small one, but not a huge one. I'm so glad to hear his heart sounded good. Many thoughts and prayers for your visit with the specialist...we'll be watching for updates! Feel better soon, Tobey!!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215 +4 83

A heap of healing heart prayers for our sweet little Tobey. And healing vines for his eye.

Cat-in-Heart-512X384-116.jpg
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 213 +4 83

DH here - I think Gracie thinks we are forgetting about her. I gave her a drop of karo and some 4% just to make sure she slows down after that onset.

Ann - the sun spiders are related to scorpions and vinegaroons, but they don't have a stinger and are non-venomous, just a small ugly spider looking thing. Our bug guy says they are good to have around because they eat everything they see. I still send them to bug heaven whenever I see them though.

Marje is on her way to the vet with Tobey. As soon as I hear something I'll update. They may not have any news until the cardiologist looks at the results. Thinking positive thoughts.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215 +4 83

((((Tobey)))) Poor little guy. I hope his eye feels better very soon. He and Gracie have such big beautiful eyes.
And I'll send lots of good luck and healthy thoughts that his heart murmur is insignificant or innocent or whatever they call it.
Strong heart Tobey, strong heart!

I'll watch for your update. ((((Hugs to you!))))

edit to add:
Hi Mike. Glad you saw Gracie's need for attention, hahaha! I like that green number, obviously the bounce has broken.
I like broken bounces. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215 +4 83

Oh my, Tobey sure is having a rough time, isn't he? :shock: I hope his eye heals quickly, and that his heart is fine!

Nice numbers for Gracie...I guess she wants some attention too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215 +4 83 +4.5 85

Geez Louise!!! Poor Tobes! I can't wait to hear about his results. I'm sending my super, all powerful good thoughts in his direction!!! :-D
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +2 215 +4 83 +4.5 85 +5 78

Hi Mike, tell Gracie we could never forget her, the little sweetie. That's quite a drop there at the +4! Positive thoughts and prayers for sweet Tobey. I will be checking for an update.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 Tobey Update

DH here - Marje just called. The specialists looked at Tobeys films from yesterday and said his heart looked completely normal, didn't think the echo was even required. Marje had them do it anyway, and his heart is normal and healthy in all respects :-D :-D :-D . They are on the way home, and I'm sure Marje will have more details. We are very relieved. Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers.

Gracie is doing great as well. She appears to be surfing, but I'll keep a close eye on the little stinker.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 Tobey Update

Great news for Tobey! You guys had such a scare...what a relief. What prompted the regular vet to think anything was wrong with his heart?? Now, hopefully his little eye will heal up quickly.

Nice work from Gracie there, too! Surf it, girl!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 Tobey Update

LANTUS LAND PRAYERS BRING MIRACLES!!! Thank you all so much!!!

The specialist and the radiologist looked at his xrays, listened to him, etc. and said they were 100% convinced his heart was absolutely fine. As Mike said, I asked them to do the echo anyway as well as an EKG. They laughed but agreed. I asked if it was their cat would they do the echo and they said "no but it's your cat and if it will make you rest better, then we will". He said all his measurements were beautiful, his heart perfect. No murmur, no weird rhythm.....all very normal. So at least I have a baseline and will pray that I never need it.

He did, however, say he thought we really need to have a specialist look at Tobey's eye because corneal ulcers can get bad fast and so I'm out the door to take Tobey to Gracie's eye doctor. POOR TOBEY!!! Three vetty visits in a day but they have no appts Fri or Sat and I feel more comfy with these ladies looking at him. Will be back soon. This boy is going to be exhausted.

Hoping Donny is home and all will be fine for him and negative tests for what we will not mention.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 Tobey Update

wow, great news on tobey's heart and hopefully some help quickly on the poor little eye problem!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 Tobey Update

Oh wow, what a scare for you both yesterday and now the wonderful news that Tobey's heart is okay. We'll still keep the prayers coming for Tobey's eyes.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 Tobey Update

What wonderful news! *sigh of relief here also*. So happy for you, Mike and especially Tobey.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 Tobey Update

Well, I'm breathing easier. I'm glad the cardiac hurdle has been cleared. It sounds like these were good vets and did well to encourage you to have Tobey's eye checked out. I'll be looking for that update.

I'm glad that Gracie was helping to keep Mike busy.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 Tobey Update

You have to breathe a sign of relief at this news, but maybe wonder a little what the vet who cancelled Tobey's dental was smokin that morning!!! :cool: Nothing like being really wrong and giving people lots and lots of gray hair!!! :lol: I'm just glad it ended up being nothing. Now on to fixing the little dude's beautiful peepers!! :-D
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 Tobey Update

So glad to hear the news about Tobey's heart. Hope to hear good news on his eye.

And Miss Gracie had a fantastic day.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 Tobey Update

Omigosh Marje, all kinds of news today. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay, on Tobey's heart. and how horrible on his eye. :sad:
Oh poor poor Tobey. :sad:

Beautiful day for Miss Gracie. :-D
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 Tobey Update

Thank you all for checking in. What a day for our baby boy. Three vetty visits in one day and in between the last two, Gracie took one sniff of him and hissed. She does not like anyone getting his attention. So I think he needs major KTSS.

I am so glad I was proactive and took him to the eye specialist. She is absolutely convinced it is herpes. If you all remember how sick he was last fall, she believes that is what it was and his ongoing snuffliness is probably due to the herpes virus as well. She said the terramycin the vet gave me this morning is good but is not broad enough spectrum to get all the bacteria that could be secondary to the herpes. In his eyes, he has to have four medicines four times a day, two meds two times a day, one med once a day, and tramadol orally twice a day for pain. Recheck on Tuesday. And he's on l-lysine as well. No dental until his eye is completely cleared up and we give it a couple weeks and then start the anti viral eye drops again for 4-5 days to ward it off. Also have an E-collar for him but hope I don't have to use it. He's already miserable enough. He's sound asleep right now.

On an interesting note, I just happened to ask the IM specialist, who practiced at Univ of New Zealand, if he treated FD and if he knew Jacki Rand. He said he did, asked if we were doing the TR protocol. I told him yes. He said not everyone agreed with her protocol and that he thinks people who hometest "overmanage" FD. He said that as long as they are getting enough insulin that they are not having any diabetic symptoms and are eating and acting normally (not lethargic, etc), then he believes that is the extent to which FD should be managed because cats do not get the associated problems like heart disease, cataracts, retinal detachment, etc. that are found in diabetic humans. At this point, I was too darn tired to discuss it with him and even though I had my phone which can access Gracie's SS in a second, I didn't even go there. He asked me how long she had been diabetic and I told him 8 mos. He said "she'll never go off insulin then if she's not off it by now". I told him about Mocha, Tuffy, Lucy, and many others who have been on it well over a year and gone OTJ. He didn't respond. He was extremely nice and I really liked him for Tobey's non-issues but has the typical take on FD.

Mike has decided to get someone to take his trip this weekend. If Tobey's eye does not improve by Sunday or he starts showing any other symptoms, I am to take him back to the speciality clinic which has emergency hours and can call the eye doc on call (who I know and who is wonderful....she's Gracie's other doc). So it will be very helpful to have Mike here to help out with all the meds; I don't know what I would have done today with Gracie's bounce breaking if he had not been here.

I need a nap....will try to catch condos later but it might be tomorrow....I've been in this state of exhaustion for a few days now. I know you all have BTDT!!

Endless thanks for all your wishes and thoughts. I know it was your prayers that helped us today.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

sooooo glad to know Tobey is doing well....i'm late getting updated here...but been praying for him anyways without knowing for specifics...glad to read a better update on the heart part....hope he feels better soon....

will continue to pray for him....and you all....(((hugs)))
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

Hi M & M, So happy to hear that your boy has a good strong heart. Sorry about his eye, but it sounds as if it can be gotten under good control with all those meds! Don't forget the FortiFlora (or plain yogurt with cultures), since he will be on antibiotics. KTSS will be along tomorrow to work their magic. In the meantime, have a restful evening. Mike, it's good that you could be there today.

Hi Gracie, Nice surf you've embarked on! Be nice to your brother now, he's had a tough day. 3 vets in one day! That must be a record!!

Hugs to you all,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

omg, and what a day. Poor Tobey! I am elated that his heart is fine. So sorry about the eye and the herpes, but it sounds like you can control it and get him all healed up. I hope you guys can have a nice relaxing evening. You both certainly deserve it.

Very interesting about the conversation with the IM vet on FD. wow... guess I am not too surprised.

NICE cycle to day Gracie - looking good!

Mannie says HI, says the KTSS will take care of Tobey, Hopes that Gracie can still make the party tonight. He's more worried about Tobey than the party....
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

what a day for you and Tobey! I thought it was bad last time I took a day off and took 3 cats to the vet (two different appointments because I couldn't manage all three at the same time). I think you beat me, taking one cat to three different vets!

I'm glad Gracie managed to wrangle her share of the attention. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

Poor Tobey with all the vetty visits today. Glad to hear his heart is a-ok, and I have never heard of herpes in kitties, might have to do some googling later. But it sounds like he will be on the mend with all his meds.

Sounds like the New Zealand doc was kinda a jackass.....oooops did I just say that? :o :lol: maybe he should do his research before opening his mouth.

I hope you get some rest sweet Marje, you deserve it.

Have a great night!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

Happy to hear that Tobey got a great report at the cardiologist! Poor boy having to go to three vets in one day (and poor bean!!). It sounds like the eye problem can be cleared up and definitely not as much of a worry compared to the heart.

Meanwhile, look at Gracie!! Wow, what a day. She definitely is wanting some attention.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

I'm surprised at the herpes diagnosis, but I'm sure it's not out of the realm of possibility. Stress does bring that sort of thing to the surface, although the speed of that ulcer is a bit shocking. Poor little guy! Like I said earlier, my civvie, Frankie, has corneal scarring from herpes; she had a very severe infection when she was 3 weeks old. Even though her eyesight is less than perfect, she is a very happy cat. I'm confident, with your loving hand, that Tobey will be fine.

Yeah, we FMDB folks over manage our cats' diabetes by caring too much :roll: . I have to say, in a lot of ways it's pretty annoying to know more than vets do about FD. Then again, the folks at this board aren't the "average" care givers. My vet is great, but I know that her hospital in general isn't a huge fan of the TR protocol...they worry about cats gonig hypo, and are only concerned with relieving symptoms.

I hope all of you manage to get some rest tonight...you've had a rough couple of days!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

What a day you've all had, human and kitty!!! I'm glad Tobey is now on his way to recovery with time and meds and little miss Gracie can start being the center of attention again. You've certainly lucked out having a guy like Mike who's just as invested heart and soul as you are to the kitties. Not often you can find a guy like that. I'm just so relieved you didn't have to go through the last couple days by yourself. It might have been your last straw!!! Get some rest and take care of yourself and Mike now!! :-D
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

What a day. Tobey could not be in better hands with you guys. I am glad you (both) have someone to support you, I am in the same boat (with the support) and I know how vital it can be to get through stressful times in one piece. You also have our support! I hope Tobey starts to feel better soon-- we will keep him in our prayers and send him lots of healing vines.

I am surprised to hear the comment about "overmanaging" FD.... I mean, really, can you ever overmanage something like this? I understand "overreacting" or "overplaying" it, but "overmanaging"... seriously? It seems he was focused on everything cats can't/don't get as a part of the disease but less focused on the things they can get as a result such as renal damage or going hypo for no apparent reason etc. Thanks, but if hometesting is overmanaging, I will take it. I have saved a fortune on vet bills (would've taken him in because I was worried because of x and y weird behavior) which we've been putting towards things that increase all of our kitty's QoL, not to mention Willy, still part snorlax, has also become part kitty again.

Get some rest!!! And get yourself a nice reward... maybe chocolate in lieu of chicken?!! People will still be posting condo's tomorrow!!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie AMPS 283 +6 66 +8 69 +9 84 More Tobey Update

Catching up on your good news about Tobey's heart.
So so relieved for you...
And Miss Gracie is being a bit of a BG drama queen today, hm?
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73

Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!'
He chortled in his joy.

So glad to hear that Tobey's heart is fine, but :cry: :cry: :cry: about the herpes. You are so on top of things catching it so quickly though. Have a restful night w/ Mike and the kitties, Stephanie is right. The condos will still be there tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65

what a day! i'm glad you guys caught everything early with toby and that the pmps is looking good. get some sleep tonight!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65

Thank you all very much, and yes, Gracie is being a drama queen!!!

We just finished a little dinner and have gotten Tobey to eat a little. It's going to take some time to get used to this med schedule of his....I had to make an xcel chart but I am so ecstatic about his heart that it doesn't matter how much of my time I have to spend doctoring his eye. He is up and about a little so the tramadol is not knocking his socks off.

Thanks for understanding. I've been away from home and Mike all day and just need to put my feet up. I hope everyone is well....I hope Donovan and Lauren's Charlie are fine. Love you all.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65 +2 45

DH here - Miss G definitely wants more attention. Gave her some 13% food with karo to keep her up thru onset.
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65 +2 45

You go, Gracie! All this talk of Tobey... way to have none of that nonsense!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bummer on the herpes virus, but such wonderful news on the cardio!! So glad that you were able to get in to see the eye specialist today and get a treatment plan in place! Fingers and paws crossed that the little guy heals up soon! On the L-Lysine... we've been using the Carlson brand powdered l-lysine this spring and Willie tolerates it very well.

Hey, Gracie!! Way to surf tonite!! Tell Tobey I'z gonna be wif de KTSS tonite! I bring him a libber smoothie to take his mind off dat eye and make him feel bedder!! Dip in de lagoon after? See ya soon! Willie
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65 +2 45

hey there 45. is someone too cool for school? or sleep?
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65 +2 45 +3 67

I wish y'all weren't having to stay up tonight. I know you must be exhausted!!!
 
Re: 6/2 Gracie PMPS 73 +1 65 +2 45 +3 67 +4 92

DH here - Finally got her up a little. We'll still be up testing for a while, but at least we shouldn't have to keep doing the pokecarbpokecarb macarena every half hour.

Patty - looks like you might be up for a while too. Champ is looking good.

Julie - thanks for the heads up. You have to watch out when she starts that kinkypants talk.
 
omg, just got caught up on your condos the last two days. Good grief, does it ever stop?!! I do hope Tobey is tolerating the Tramadol --that stuff makes Tessie Lou NUTS. I sure do admire you and Mike's dedication to your babies. They couldn't be in better hands than you guys. I just wish we could all have an extended vacation from these illnesses and problems. I think we must all be gray-haired (yes, even you young ones!).

Gracie, love your low numbers, but you need to give mama and daddy bean a good night's sleep tonight, ok?
 
I couldn't wait for you to post your condo today to tell you again how awesome it was to hear the news about Tobey yesterday and his beautiful healthy heart!! I'm so glad Mike will be home to help with Gracie and the meds you have to give to Tobey. I hope that he's right as rain in no time.. And what about those numbers again last night. Goodness that girl just doesn't want you both to sleep at the same time does she.
I sure hope you have some what of a restful evening and a wonderful weekend.
Thank you for thinking of me and Charlie yesterday. I posted the update in my condo today, but just to tell you, he will be fine. Just a fatty tumor is all.. Wheeeeeeeeeeew!!!!
Talk with you soon my friend :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top