? 6/2 Frankie AMPS 98

Shelley7

Member Since 2022
Frankie has to go to a boarding facility for 3 days (6/10-12). No one is there at night. They don’t check blood sugars but will give insulin. They will leave right after giving the pm insulin.

He tends to eat less when stressed and boarding, which wasn’t a big deal before but is a bigger deal now that he’s on a large dose of insulin. A few days last week or two I had to be gone a lot during the day…this was a change for him and his eating slowed down. His sugars lowered into the 50’s during that time. It wasn’t an issue because I was here to keep a close eye that day and he was still eating enough, but it made me wonder if the same thing will happen when boarding.

My question is whether you think I should lower his dose back to 3.5 or 3, so he’s running a little higher during boarding? If so when should I start the new dose? What should it be?

If anyone knows a person in Denver CO that is able to do in home pet sitting, that can stay overnight and do DM management, I’d love to hear about it. I have tried for 3 months to find someone and have been unsuccessful. (I’ve tried the my vets vet techs, a vet tech service, rover, next door, etc). I thought about taking him with me but it’s a 7-8 hour drive on the 10th and 12th (there and back) for just one day away in between. I feel like he’d be less stressed and more comfortable at the boarding place than traveling, but I’m going to be a mess worried about him.

Thanks for your advice!
 
Another member here was also looking for a petsitter and @Bron and Sheba (GA) posted on our FB page and got some suggestions. Here's the thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ive-in-allston-ma-can-you-help-urgent.263877/

Are you part of our FB group? You could post there for petsitters in your area. Many petsitters cannot test. They only give insulin - which is also fine. Frankie might prefer to stay at home rather than be boarded.

As far as as vacation dose is concerned 3.5U might not be low enough - especially if he doesn't eat. 3U would be easy to draw but might be tad low. Since it's only for 3 days it may be okay. You would start the vacation dose 3 days in advance so you have an idea of how low he is going on the dose.

Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko for vacation dose advice.
 
Another member here was also looking for a petsitter and @Bron and Sheba (GA) posted on our FB page and got some suggestions. Here's the thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ive-in-allston-ma-can-you-help-urgent.263877/

Are you part of our FB group? You could post there for petsitters in your area. Many petsitters cannot test. They only give insulin - which is also fine. Frankie might prefer to stay at home rather than be boarded.

As far as as vacation dose is concerned 3.5U might not be low enough - especially if he doesn't eat. 3U would be easy to draw but might be tad low. Since it's only for 3 days it may be okay. You would start the vacation dose 3 days in advance so you have an idea of how low he is going on the dose.

Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko for vacation dose advice.

Thanks, yes I posted on FB and most of the suggestions I had already tried. There was a new suggestion about a vet tech service that actually was in my area but when I emailed her she said she wasn’t available for any of the trips I have planned this summer. He definitely would be more comfortable at home, but so far that’s not an option.
 
Since only 3 days I think I’d have them give 2.75. I only see one time that 3.75 took Frankie into the 50’s. Have you asked if any techs at your vet’s office would like to earn a little extra money?
 
Since only 3 days I think I’d have them give 2.75. I only see one time that 3.75 took Frankie into the 50’s. Have you asked if any techs at your vet’s office would like to earn a little extra money?
Yes. My vet has this system where you just have to post dates that you need a pet sitter and if someone can do it they’ll call you. So I did that and of course no one called. It’s a frustrating system because I can’t actually speak to anyone. But in general, even when I had a dog and animals without medical conditions, I’ve never gotten a response from them for pet sitting. Thanks to both of you for the dosing advice.

Yeah, he’s pretty even-steven but when he did dip to the 50’s it was when my schedule changed and he ate less, so I thought it was relevant for a boarding situation.

The boarding place said if he’s not eating at all then they won’t give the insulin but I’m not sure about how to negotiate the in between…like if he’s eating 50% or 30%. Should I have them skip it or give a smaller dose?
 
Better a few days too high than worrying about too low. Maybe suggest a token dose if not eating well as that might be better than none. I don’t. know but perhaps 2.0 in that event.
 
I would drop the dose back to 3.25u if you have someone you are confident that can measure that dose. Otherwise, I'd go with 3.0u since it's on a line on the syringe.

Had you tried posting on your local Next Door app? It's a way to find neighbors who can recommend petsitter (or other) services that are in your area.
 
Back
Top