6/2 Brutus amps 117 +3 46 whoops !

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve and brutus

Active Member
Last night skinnied his .25 up a little bit , he stayed low blue with one green number.So this morning we went back to .25 and he went from 117 to 46 in three hours.Fed hc of course.I don't know if i can find an in between dose or not.Anyway , low better than high.

Would a non FD cats numbers be lower than an FD cat OTJ ?
 
steve and brutus said:
Would a non FD cats numbers be lower than an FD cat OTJ ?


Steve - I am not sure I understand your question but a non-diabetic kitty could run in the 50's.
 
Hi Paige,

I guess what I am alluding to is if we get Brutus otj and he hangs in the low blues,and high greens, will his pancreas keep him there, or do above 100 numbers mean not a fully functioning p ?
 
If he is not able to correct his numbers with foods, then he would not be OTJ.
During his trial, you go a couple weeks with no shots but all else the same - feeding and testing.
I think it depends on the cat - if you were to record the BG of a few non FD cats over time, you would see some fluctuations, and you would not see them at the same levels.
I think you would see some that are low and then you could see some that generally run closer to the upper range.

You will see soon enough with Brutus!
 
I remember a few testaholics who went around their houses testing everything in sight and as I remember some of the civies were in the 50s. You have to remember that there is a range of BG numbers which are within the norm.... and as you know the diet has a lot to do with it too.

Also... not to be the dose police, but either you reduce or you stay with the same dose.... best not to dose hop even between SK and regular... k?

Mr. Brutus is looking good!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Steve, what do you think about trying to hold this dose for a while longer?

Usually, the kitties who have returned from the Falls once have to work harder to get back there a second time. We really want him to go back to the Falls, and we want to try to make that remission as strong as possible so he will hopefully never come back again. I would put Brutus more into the category of needing to surf in green (with a little low blue) for 7 days for a reduction, unless he drops too far below 40. If you were having to feed a lot over the cycle to keep him up, that would be a little different. When you reduced last night, his numbers went right back to blue, and when you raised it back up, he went green again. Looks like he needs this dose for a while longer to make the green more firmly established.

Another thing, have you tried Low Carb food to bring up the lower numbers now that he is on such a small dose? I know with Lucy, I would HC everything low just like I always had. At some point, Jill or Jojo came along and pointed out that there was now a LOT less insulin to overcome, and that LC might do the trick. I tried it and was surprised that it worked! Once I knew Lucy could surf the 40's on LC, that made me comfortable to hold doses longer. I knew that even if she went to the 40's, she could easily bring herself up with the food that was already sitting out for her. I was able to relax a lot, test less, and just let her surf. Next time he's dropping, maybe try LC and see what happens. If it doesn't work, you can always pull out the HC next.
 
Hey libby, I like the lc idea, plus he is almost back to his 15lbs slightly chubby weight, mabe from to much hc.Yes we are going to hold the .25 dose, wev'e come this far and we don't want to back off to soon.

Thanks
 
hi steve. i was happy to see you went back to 0.25 unit. earlier today, i was telling libby how a drop to the mid-40s didn't necessarily signal the need for a dose reduction with former otj kitties. what you're looking to do is to keep him in green for as much as the cycle as possible and then maintain that green for around 7 days before attempting a dose reduction.

like libby mentioned, try a little lc before resorting to hc if you're home. if it doesn't work, pull out the hc. yesterday alex threw me a 37 at +5.5. she was due for one of her regular lc mini-meals. i fed her the mini-meal and she rose to 124 within thirty minutes. if i had just fed her a couple bites of lc, that little bit would have provided a nice little bump in the numbers, but it was mini-meal time, so i fed her the whole amount. it doesn't take much lc to counteract the effects of the insulin when you've reduced to such a tiny dose.

brutus is in the home stretch. we don't want to rush things now...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top