6/2 Bisse AMPS 304 Dose increase PMPS 268 +3 218

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bisse

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119518
So did my best to try and understand and follow the guidelines for doseincrease (avoiding coming off a bounce, have printed out hypo, has kit etc), got lots of strips and prepared to stay up ALL NIGHT.
And of course he doesn't do what I expect. Considering he reacted quite a lot last time I increased to 2.5 and 3 (too fast, I know) this was frustrating! cat(2)_steam
I suppose he has NDW and maybe also a bit a bouncing since I didn't wait for 6 cycles and he dropped very fast right after increase. ARGH! confused_cat
Still wondering if Mel is right and he's on way to much insulin and I should drop back to 0.5 and start over. :?: That maybe that is why he seems to nadir very quickly on levemir? But I don't want to give him high numbers if not necessary!

30/5 AMPS 290 2.5U PMPS 295 2.5U +3 212
31/5 AMPS 2.75U 349 +1 257 +2 191 +3 178 +4 191 + 6 257 PMPS 373 2.75U +2 281 +4 221 +5 216 +9 331
1/6 AMPS 355 2.7U +2 351 +5 361 +7 313 +10 284 PMPS 301 2.75U +3 248 +4 259
2/6 AMPS 304 2.75U PMPS 268 +3 218 +6 272

So will keep him at 2.75 for a while, (resigned) argh. Just want to find that magic wand and make him better.
I'll also have to get him to the vet NeXT week for his rabies shot. Since we are borderhopping (direct translation, probably doesn't exist in English) between Denmark and Sweden that's nonnegotiable.
 
Re: 6/2 Bisse AMPS 302 Dose increase

HI guys .. hmm, well I think we all know from experience around here, if a cat thinks you know their pattern, they'll throw you off! I don't have any dosing advice myself, but I am sure others will be along soon to help get it figured out .. have a great day!
 
Re: 6/2 Bisse AMPS 302 Dose increase

Good luck with dosing Helle - wish I could provide advice but I know that someone will be around soon to help you and Bisse. Enjoy the rest of your day!

Anne
 
Re: 6/2 Bisse AMPS 302 Dose increase

Hi Helle - good plan to stick with this dose for a bit. When we were going up the dosing scale, Neko usually waited until the 5th cycle or so to show movement - very frustrating! Learning patience is the hardest part of this dance. If Bisse doesn't get any greens, I'd go up after 8-10 cycles on this dose. It doesn't help to wait longer. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
As for why Bisse likes to nadir early on Levemir, it's because he's a cat and cats like to be different, just as Devon says. ;-) Take a look at KK's spreadsheet. He was a foster that Libby ended up adopting and as you can see, he really liked to nadir early, earlier than Bisse. Libby/Lucy is one of the most experienced advisers here.

Bisse's SS does not say overdose to me. I know some members are fond of suggesting going back to the beginning, but that seldom works and ends up with cats in higher numbers and glucose toxicity, requiring you to go even higher to hit the breakthrough dose.

BTW - I'm in Canada and I borderhop to the US to get cheaper test strips. :-D
 
Thanks Peter, Anne and Wendy

I really needed a pick me up. I have probably been focusing too much on his numbers and not so much on the progress we have made. But he has been sleeping a lot this weekend and not really seeking contact except for meals. So I am feeling a bit down.

Thanks Wendy. I really need to be told to hold my horses, every once in a while. I keep second guessing myself. It's really good to hear that you don't see any signs of overdosing, thats so reassuring and to see KK's ss whose numbers can kind of compare to Bisse's. Except he had a lot more blue and green. But it seem like the levemir also hit him hard and fast and he had good Progress.

So you do say borderhopping in English. I love it! I can get strips and perhaps syringes for half the Price in Sweden compared to Denmark. The best of both worlds :-D

By the way, is Neko 猫?
 
Hi Helle!

Bisse does love staying in those pinks and yellows readings, doesn't he? I hope that you find very soon a dose that brings his numbers safely down.

The test strips in Denmark are incredibly expensive (as everything else :lol:)!!!! The box with 50 strips is almost three times more expensive as in Portugal :o. I got to know that in Portugal with a physician prescription, they can be sold for less than 4 euros, but I don't thing vets are included in that group :roll:.

Have a nice evening!
Cristina
 
Hi Helle!

This is a discouraging disease for everyone at times. Hang in there! when Bisse gets to the right dose, his numbers will come down. You're not there yet, but you will get there!

i agree with Wendy about his dose - i don't see anything at all that says Bisse has too much insulin. It is very typical to have to go up in dose until you get to the "right" dose, or at least in the ballpark - that means seeing a lot of green. I would not hold a dose longer than the protocol suggests.

Someone told me early on that the numbers that matter are the blood sugar numbers, not the size of the dose. I have remembered that and it helped me not care as much about the size of the dose. Just keep following the protocol increases and you will see better blood sugar! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top