6/19 Willy AMPS~154 another PJ party!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie&Willy

Member Since 2011
Last Condo

ARG!!!! I am so totally and incredibly exhausted. I haven't gotten more than 4 or 5hrs of sleep in the last 3 nights!!! First night was a PJ party with Willy (and then I tried to go btb but couldn't fall asleep), the night after my DH wanted to hang out so I muscled it out and stayed up a bit late, and then another PJ party last night! I usually need 8-10hrs to really feel well so I'm dying!!! I should have taken out stock in coffee!! ~O) ~O) ~O) I would love to take a nap today but I wouldn't sleep well IF I ever get to go to bed on time!!

Summary of last night:
PMPS~ 82 ~ sk4.75
+1 ~ 53 ~ few dry treats to slow his roll
+2.5 ~ 38 2tsp HC 12%, karo, 4 dry treats
+3 ~ 50 (61 retest) 1tsp HC 12% and karo
+3.5 ~ 44 1tsp HC 12%, 4-5 pieces of Evo dry cat food
+3.75 ~ 40 (51 retest) 2tsp HC 18% and karo,
+4 ~ 48 ~ 1tsp HC 18%
+4.5 ~80 ~ (retests 85 and 82) 1tsp HC 12%
+5 ~ 68 1tsp HC 18%, 8 pieces Evo dry
~6 ~70 ~ (retests 81 and 76) 1tsp HC 18%

I would say poor Willy (kept getting food stuffed down his throat right after eating dinner) but he LOVED it. He was going Mike Tyson on the spoon quite a bit (fortunately he was missing my hand), knocking food ALL OVER the kitchen. One time he grabbed the spoon with both paws (almost like he was praying) and HELD it while eating off of it (sitting up like a meercat almost). We didn't want to over carb him (sparing use of karo) but I always assumed the lowest meter reading was the "right one" for the purposes of being safe.

I reduced his dose to 4.5 because I cannot (physically lol) do this again tonight! Hopefully the 4.5 holds.

I hope everyone is having a great Sunday!!! I will try to stop by condos a little later (once I've had several more cups of coffee) but we are thinking of you all.
 
Goodness, I sure hope you catch up on your sleep!!! I'm so used to only getting 4-5 hours a night and then taking a couple 30 minute naps during the day. I've tried to stay in bed for longer than 6 hours and my back just starts to ache!!! I remember the days when I used to be able to stay in bed for a full ten hours and love every minute of it!!!

I hope the decrease works, but lets him stay in the high greens!!! Have a great day!!
 
Holy cow!!! What numbers and you even gave him some dry food!!! Probably a very good idea to reduce. Maybe you should take a nappus today....you might still conk out tonight. Good job managing his curve last night!!!
 
I reduced his dose to 4.5 because I cannot (physically lol) do this again tonight! Hopefully the 4.5 holds.

Congrats on the dosecrease! He earned the decrease with the 38...that is an automatic reduction, you do not want to hold the dose when he is seeing 30s on this dose.

I see a lot of talk lately about holding the dose instead of taking an earned reduction....please, take the earned reductions unless your cat has a problem with holding reductions. If you are working this hard to keep Willy up, he needs the reduction.

I would suggest using wet HC food, not dry food or treats, to bump him up. Dry food/treats take too long to work, and stick around too long.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I reduced his dose to 4.5 because I cannot (physically lol) do this again tonight! Hopefully the 4.5 holds.

Congrats on the dosecrease! He earned the decrease with the 38...that is an automatic reduction, you do not want to hold the dose when he is seeing 30s on this dose.

I see a lot of talk lately about holding the dose instead of taking an earned reduction....please, take the earned reductions unless your cat has a problem with holding reductions. If you are working this hard to keep Willy up, he needs the reduction.

I would suggest using wet HC food, not dry food or treats, to bump him up. Dry food/treats take too long to work, and stick around too long.

The 30s came out of nowhere. -_-;; he does this on purpose I think!! The last time we had a very similar pattern he earned 2 decreases in under a week and he was holding the the 5.00u (which was decreased from 5.50u) so nicely for such a long time. These numbers really took us off guard, we really thought he was going to stay at 5u indefinitely.

I didn't know if I should take *both* reductions or not since they are back to back but I was planning to decrease to 4.50 (or more depending on numbers) because I REALLY need to get some sleep and I can't sleep when I'm worried about him. Once I catch up on sleep in a day or 2 I was going to evaluate if I need to add some fat, etc. (unless he needs me to shave some off or drops again). I appreciate your input because there's tons of information out there but it seems like reductions is still very different for each person and it provides me with some clarity and backs up what I was going to do and have done in the past.

As far as the HC-- I was giving him wet HC (gravy). I started with a 12% (he is carb sensitive) but when I noticed we were still having a hard time getting him back up I switched to an 18%. I was adding in some dry treats and dry food (about 6 dry treats and maybe 15 pieces of dry food spaced out over 4hrs) for the long haul specifically, since his nadirs tend to be late (7 or 7.5)-- I wasn't relying on them to bring him up quickly or immediately. I was hoping they would kick in around +5 and keep him good until +8 or longer. Was this not right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top