6/19 Toeby - PMPS 95, +1 130, +2 108, +3 77, +4 86, +5 95.

Nice start to your day. Susie is a little higher today. Probably because I gave her some m/c food last night as I wanted to sleep. Toeby is looking really good. All blues and greens. Have a nice Saturday, Laura.
 
Nice start to your day. Susie is a little higher today. Probably because I gave her some m/c food last night as I wanted to sleep. Toeby is looking really good. All blues and greens. Have a nice Saturday, Laura.

Thanks, Summer.
Sleep is important - I was exhausted last night so I was glad my guy was pretty stable.
I wish you a good Saturday too!
 
PMPS 95
This is my first green preshot... I am going to refresh my memory on shooting on green before I give him his insulin.
I think I proceed... but I better be sure first.

Thanks, @Wendy&Neko , for the kind words of encouragement.
 
Toeby's PMPS is 95 - it's the first time we've had a green preshot

His nadir is normally +4...
Lately, his BG's are not much higher at +2, especially in the evening.

He has eaten some low carb supper.
I am tempted to give him his insulin and follow it with some higher carb food right away, or, I can monitor him and give him some higher carb later if he drops a lot.

If I could get some input on this I'd appreciate it.
Thanks, Laura for Toeby

Edited to un-tag some people that I tagged, as Katherine has helped me out, so no need to bug other people, and to add the link to my original thread for today:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-4-58-5-67-6-67-pmps-95.248791/#post-2806342

I am probably breaking the guidelines by having 2 posts today but I wanted to catch some attention so I posted a second thread. Sorry if that was wrong.
 
Last edited:
Hi Laura, 95 is a safe number to shoot, and given how steady Toeby's been, you don't need to give him anything high carb, just LC will do to help him surf. Test again in an hour to see what the effect of the food is but I suspect he will be fine. Remember, shoot low to stay low! :):bighug:
 
Hi Laura, 95 is a safe number to shoot, and given how steady Toeby's been, you don't need to give him anything high carb, just LC will do to help him surf. Test again in an hour to see what the effect of the food is but I suspect he will be fine. Remember, shoot low to stay low! :):bighug:

Thanks Katherine!
I just needed someone with more experience to tell me that - now pulling up my big girl pants and will go give him his insulin.
Thanks for the speedy response!
 
Thanks Katherine!
I just needed someone with more experience to tell me that - now pulling up my big girl pants and will go give him his insulin.
Thanks for the speedy response!
Anytime! Let us know if you need any guidance on when to test and what to feed, though I think you know pretty well how to handle Toeby. :)
 
Laura, our cats brain waves are on the same frequency. I just got an 89 at PMPS which was only the 2nd time I have ever been this low at PMPS. Went ahead and shot and gave 1.5 oz of low carb. Will test again at +1 and give about a tsp more of l/c unless she is dropping and then I will supplement with m/c. Certainly, the +2 is critical but not to be relied on. I have lots of m/c food on hand. Susie's nadir has changed too. It is getting later so it looks like it might be a late night for me too. Hope Toeby stays safe and I'm sure he will with you at his side.
 
Laura, our cats brain waves are on the same frequency. I just got an 89 at PMPS which was only the 2nd time I have ever been this low at PMPS. Went ahead and shot and gave 1.5 oz of low carb. Will test again at +1 and give about a tsp more of l/c unless she is dropping and then I will supplement with m/c. Certainly, the +2 is critical but not to be relied on. I have lots of m/c food on hand. Susie's nadir has changed too. It is getting later so it looks like it might be a late night for me too. Hope Toeby stays safe and I'm sure he will with you at his side.

Summer, I hope you're wrong on the long night part, no offense. haha
I just needed a little reassurance that I was doing things right... tonight was the first time for me to give insulin on a green preshot.
 
I'm glad you shot. Shoot low to stay low. Get a +1 and a +2 when you shoot your lowest yet, to give you an idea how the cycle will shape up.
 
Summer, I hope you're wrong on the long night part, no offense. haha
I just needed a little reassurance that I was doing things right... tonight was the first time for me to give insulin on a green preshot.
Giving a shot at a preshot green is always scary and it means you need to be prepared to monitor tonight. Looks like Toeby is nadiring around +3 or +4. Be prepared to set your alarm. I fed Susie about 1.5 oz of l/c at PMPS and she is now up to 123 at +1. I feel pretty good about that but know that her nadir is several hours away. You can always give some medium carb food if you can't stay up. Just see if you can get the +2 to see if it is higher, lower or even with the PMPS. I never take that for granted though. I will check again before I go to bed in about an hour, and I am leaving more food for her at +4 (about .75 oz of l/c) in her auto feeder. I will also make sure that I set my alarm for +5 (11:00 pm) just to make sure she is in safe numbers.
 
Well done Laura shooting your first green Preshot. Get a +1 and a +2 as you don’t have any data with low Preshots yet to see how he goes

Hey! Nice to hear from you, Bron!
I hope all is well down under!

His +1 is 130 so it looks like he got a bump from his supper and perhaps from the Budesonide chewy I gave him tonight instead of a tablet.
I will keep an eye on him.
 
+2 108

Giving him some Blue Buffalo Wilderness duck - 3% carb and a few Temptations with tests tonight.
He's also still grazing on Stella & Chewy's Tummy Tickling Turkey which is medium carb, and a Weruva packet of low carb - this is a typical supper for my two boys.
Toeby's brother eats most of the Stella & Chewy.
 
It looks to me that you just shot your first first green earlier, which earns a special award. The coveted BOS. Well done!

upload_2017-6-1_18-35-57.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2017-6-1_18-35-57.png
    upload_2017-6-1_18-35-57.png
    31.4 KB · Views: 211
:D
Bahahahaha!!!!
The big ol' BOS award!
I thought some women carried their DH's around, but maybe I had my own all along! LOL!

Well, +4 is 86 and I think I will do one more test and hit the hay.
We were watching the US Open (golf) (which is on late because it's being played in California) and then I tackled some laundry.
So I kept busy and didn't fret too much.
He has gone low once before (that I caught) at +5 so I will test and post, and if he is good, toddle off to bed.

Thanks everyone for your support tonight - it's really, really nice.
:-)
Laura
 
+5 = 95

He had a good night.
Was getting a little touchy about me testing him towards the end, but I poked his poor ears 11+ times today (the + for the times he didn't bleed enough, or shook his head and launched the drop elsewhere).
I have to say, he has been a good boy.
Night all.
 
Back
Top