6/19 Simon | AMPS 552 +4 381 PMPS 236 +6.75 119

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
Previous

Simon's car trip today went alright. The gabapentin had him a little wonky this afternoon.

His numbers are all over the place now, I have no idea what his dose should be. The 4 units was going well for a while, but now I'm getting low numbers and my schedule is difficult to accommodate delays right now. Going from 552 to 236 makes me nervous to give him 4 units again tonight. Maybe a token dose until I get a flat day?
 
Just wanted to add that continually changing doses or skipping makes it very difficult to figure out what his dose should be. I expect it is somewhat closer to 4. Reminder, we determine how to dose based on nadirs, not the preshots.
 
Maybe try a half dose, so he has some insulin in him. Is he eating?
That's what I ended up doing. He did eat the small meals I left for him in the afternoon. With dinner he's eating slow again, I had to coax him to eat some. He's really thirsty though, and still seems a little out of it from the gaba. I'll get a +2 reading tonight

The vet said his fructosamine levels are still high, but I wonder if that's because I've been skipping and giving lower doses this week. The vet mentioned the possibility of the Somogyi Effect as well.
 
Somogyi is not a thing. Sort of an "old vets myth". It was based on the results of a non peer reviewed study, on a small number of humans, with fast acting insulins no longer used, and maybe 100 years ago. For some reason, this is one of those myths that won't go away. There has been research to show it's not a thing in cats, especially those using modern insulins where the caregiver is home testing. Paper is here if you wish to take a look.

Fructosamine tests levels over a couple weeks, but only gives an average. Going low and resulting bouncing high might average out the same as moderate high average numbers. As you saw on the 14th, I suspect he's been doing a bit of bouncing cause he was mostly on 4.5 units during the last couple weeks. The skips have definitely depleted the depot and not helped the numbers. I'm hoping you can get to a dose soon where you can consistently shoot twice a day.
 
Wow, that is an eye-opener. Thank you so much Wendy, you’re really helping me wrap my head around this disease.

We’re on a short trip to a place Simon has been many times, but I think he’s a little off from the drive and it will be a hard weekend for me to track his numbers closely. We’ll be back home within 48 hours, so I’m hoping he can relax the best he can and his numbers don’t bounce too bad tomorrow
 
Back
Top