? 6/19 Phoebe Squeak -- Vacation Dose Advice, Please.

J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

Member Since 2019
Happy Hump Day!
I’d like your words of wisdom about a vacation dose for Phoebe Squeak next week. She will be boarding at a vet hospital and she will be getting BG tests before each shot. She will be there for a total of 4 cycles starting Wednesday night and ending with Friday morning.

I have 3 questions:

1. I am following TR protocol and it looks like she may be headed for a dose increase in the next few days. Does it make sense to do it before we leave, knowing that she will be on a reduced vacation dose while we are gone?

2. Am I supposed to cut her normal dose down to the vacation dose a couple days before we leave or just stay at her normal dose and the first reduced dose will be at the vet?

3. I am on the search for a new vet, but our current vet said we can only ask them to give doses in whole or half units. They will not do .25 measurements. So, I was thinking if she’s eating well, to ask them to give 1 unit and if she’s on a hunger strike to go with .5 as long as her BG is above 150.

All advice and suggestions welcome. Thank you very much!
 
Hi there. It does look like she needs an increase but if leaving tomorrow, I would hold this dose as it wouldn’t make sense to raise her if the vet office will only be testing her pre shots. Since she is running higher now I would consider by not giving her the increase , that is her vacation dose. But that said, you’ll have to consider if she is a kitty that won’t eat at the vet office then you might want to reduce.

Usually, prior to going away to prepare for the vacation dose, the reduction is taking about 4 cycles before you leave to give the depot a chance to drain.



Are you back to using the AT2 meter?

Let’s see what other’s think.
 
Hi there. It does look like she needs an increase but if leaving tomorrow, I would hold this dose as it wouldn’t make sense to raise her if the vet office will only be testing her pre shots. Since she is running higher now I would consider by not giving her the increase , that is her vacation dose. But that said, you’ll have to consider if she is a kitty that won’t eat at the vet office then you might want to reduce.

Usually, prior to going away to prepare for the vacation dose, the reduction is taking about 4 cycles before you leave to give the depot a chance to drain.



Are you back to using the AT2 meter?

Let’s see what other’s think.
Hi,
Thanks so much for your reply. We are not leaving till next week. Her first shot at the vet will be the PM shot next Weds June 26. I don't totally get the reduction 4 cycles before the vacation dose. Wouldn't less time at the lower dose be better for her?
Yes, we are back on AT meter.
Thanks again!
 
Oh next Wednesday! Then I would give the increase her next cycle as long as you can monitor.

The reasoning for the reduction to be given 4 cycles before is because that’s what it takes to deplete the depot.

A lot can happen in one week as far as handling her vacation dose. Post again on Monday with a ? for vacation dose advice.

Are you the person going to see Aerosmith?
 
I don't totally get the reduction 4 cycles before the vacation dose. Wouldn't less time at the lower dose be better for her?
I think this comes down to the fact that even though you reduce, you still have residual insulin left over from the previously higher depot, it can take a couple of cycles to regulate the depot into the lower dose.

I think I have a good example of this in Mowgli's sheet from April 28-30th: I did 3 reductions from 1.25-0.75u back to back when actually I should probably have stuck with the first reduction to 1u.

While on 1u Mowgli got a green number that to me signified a reduction while following SLGS, I didn't realize that in most cases we don't do back to back reductions because you have to give the higher dose depot a chance to drain. In this case, the lower numbers that I had gotten on 1u on April 29th were probably created partly by the remaining 1.25u depot. In essence I could have missed his ideal dose because I was fooled by the 1.25u depot :confused:

Make sense?
 
Oh next Wednesday! Then I would give the increase her next cycle as long as you can monitor.

The reasoning for the reduction to be given 4 cycles before is because that’s what it takes to deplete the depot.

A lot can happen in one week as far as handling her vacation dose. Post again on Monday with a ? for vacation dose advice.

Are you the person going to see Aerosmith?
Thanks again for your help. I am not the person going to see Aerosmith, but that sounds like fun!
 
Back
Top