6/19 Mandarin AMPS 309, PMPS 189 / Walter AMPS 259, PMPS 210 - back home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

After a week in Canada, I made it back home last night... just in time to give the boys their shots, prep my class for today and go to bed. It's been an exhausting week, but we also had lots of fun. The most exciting part is that I was able to buy Insulin in Montreal without a problem. I told the pharmacist that the Insulin was for my cat and he didn't even ask to see a script. 112 Canadian Dollars for 5 Lantus pens - even cheaper than Mark's.

I was also able to buy a small cooler and an ice pack. The security guards at the airport wanted to see the ice pack, but they didn't care about the Insulin at all. So it all worked out great! ...and now I don't have to worry about ordering Insulin in the summer.

Mandarin did great without Insulin. Very glad that that's the option I went with. I was surprised to see his number last night - I expected him to be much higher after a week without juice. I decided to take him back to 1 unit to see how that goes.... not sure if that makes sense though. What do other folks think?

Walter tried to give my poor cat sitter a heart attack on numerous occasions and ended up with 2 skipped shots (and some pretty dramatic bounces). I don't know what happened and how he could have possibly dropped low on the reduced dose, but I am a little concerned that my cat sitter might have given him a bit more than the 0.5 units. Luckily, he's fine and will hopefully flatten out again on the 1 unit.

Alright, I better get ready for class... I'll be back to visit some condos later.
 
Welcome back. Nice that you were able to get the insulin in Canada. I'm glad the kitties were okay while you were gone. Usually we suggest going back to the last good dose before a vacation.
 
Welcome home! That is so great that you got the insulin without any issues. Wow, Mandarin's numbers are very interesting for not having any insulin!
 
Welcome home - I am glad buying insulin and getting it home was so easy for you. When I had Neko on the plane, they didn't care about the insulin, buprenorphine or other meds I was carrying either.

Normally after vacation, you would go back to the last good dose. Which could be argued was 1.25 units for Mandarin, cause that's the one that saw some greens. Last night's blue might have been just a strong reaction to restarting insulin.
 
Normally after vacation, you would go back to the last good dose. Which could be argued was 1.25 units for Mandarin, cause that's the one that saw some greens. Last night's blue might have been just a strong reaction to restarting insulin.
I actually had the 1.25 units drawn, but chickened out when I saw his number last night. So far, I'm happy that I stuck with the reduced dose - especially now that he dropped late in the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top