6/19 Lucian +11.10/87,PMPS 199,+1/283,+4/264,+6/269

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390

good morning, debbie!
yep. better start than yesterday. let's see if lantus alone can bring him down on it's own.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+6/200

:lol: I'm not gonna sneak in the R. :lol: I may not completely understand what we're doing, but I'm following direction. :-D
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+6/200

the reason i asked you to withhold R temporarily is to get an idea of what he's able to do on lantus alone. kind of like getting a baseline again... you could even call it a reality check. R is generally in and out of kitty's system in 4 - 5 hours, but it changes what would have happened on lantus alone for the next few cycles.

lucian was beginning to clear his bounces very quickly. was it solely because of the R? withholding R for a few cycles will provide the answer. with R out of the picture and on the reduced dose of 1.75u i would expect him to return to greens tomorrow... probably the AM cycle. if he drops to greens before that i'll be thrilled. if not, it'll be very clear that the lantus dose isn't enough to take care of things on it's own. the choice will then be to either bring R back and/or increase the lantus dose.

having said that, lucian is your kitty. i'll understand if you want to return to using R at any time. i know it can be almost painful to see high numbers...
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+6/200

Painful to me and painful to others, isn't the same. When he's showing black, that's painful to me. When I get 'greeted' by the meter, that's painful. If you look back into Lucian's SS, you'll see he has spent a lot of time in the black. I don't care if he ever sees green, if he would stay below renal threshold, I'm happy. At that point he isn't continuing to do damage to his organs. Sure, those numbers will never get him OTJ, I couldn't care less. I want him happy and healthy and for that I feel he needs to be below renal threshold.

I'm guessing that you think using the R for a short time has somehow changed the way he responds to the Lantus? Is that how it works? All I knew was that using the R I might be able to stabilize him, keep him from jumping to 500+ and in doing so, help him to not bounce so high. Kind of getting him used to NOT going over 300, then work it down to keeping him from going over 200 until he got used to it. I may not understand exactly what I'm supposed to be doing, but every one kept telling me that the goal is to keep them on a gentle curve, no spikes and hypos. So I used the R for the spikes and food for the lows to see if I could keep him a little more even. Is that not good? Understand, we've only been in this for a little over 6 months with very little improvement. I can't count how many cats have come in since we got here and are OTJ now. No, I don't expect Lucian to ever do that. I brought him home with no info, BG's over 700 and instructions to give him 3U twice a day. That's it. If not for the community here, I would have probably killed my cat. But it does get confusing for us with no experience.

I am open to trying whatever you think best, you've been doing this for a long time. Please don't ever think I am arguing with you if I question, it is only because I don't understand, not that I think I know better, that couldn't be further from the truth. Sometimes, it seems the longer I go, the more confused I get. :?
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200

I'm not sure the dose reduction is going to hold. It has been 3 days and the nadirs are higher.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+6/200

nckitties3 said:
I'm guessing that you think using the R for a short time has somehow changed the way he responds to the Lantus? Is that how it works? All I knew was that using the R I might be able to stabilize him, keep him from jumping to 500+ and in doing so, help him to not bounce so high. Kind of getting him used to NOT going over 300, then work it down to keeping him from going over 200 until he got used to it. I may not understand exactly what I'm supposed to be doing, but every one kept telling me that the goal is to keep them on a gentle curve, no spikes and hypos. So I used the R for the spikes and food for the lows to see if I could keep him a little more even. Is that not good? Understand, we've only been in this for a little over 6 months with very little improvement.
you've been doing everything right and definitely have the right idea as far as trying to keep him steady.

yes, i wanted to check to see if using the R to keep him steady had changed anything. when he clears bounces so fast it's worth checking every once in awhile to see exactly where he's at because the one thing you don't want to do is give R as a bounce is clearing. i've seen too many caregivers really struggle (scary struggle) with trying to keep numbers up when that happens.

nckitties3 said:
I am open to trying whatever you think best, you've been doing this for a long time. Please don't ever think I am arguing with you if I question, it is only because I don't understand, not that I think I know better, that couldn't be further from the truth. Sometimes, it seems the longer I go, the more confused I get. :?
heck no, i don't feel that way at all! this kind of dialog is great.

it's easy to get confused while doing this sugar dance. once we think we have kitty figured out they do something different. years ago, my vet said it best, "as soon as you think alex will zig... she'll zag!" i didn't realize the full meaning of his statement until sometime later. :lol:

things change. all we can do is try to keep an open mind to change and try not to become married to what we think we know about kitty.

BJM said:
I'm not sure the dose reduction is going to hold. It has been 3 days and the nadirs are higher.
i agree. usually, we'd want to reduce or withhold the R before taking a reduction with the basal insulin. i wasn't confident he'd hold the lantus reduction, but it was worth trying for the reasons discussed in prior threads.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

90 at +10? Thoughts?

I should have tested more, but thought I had a +6, then realized I hadn't.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

lol! talk about zigging and zagging!
i'd get a +11. the +11 will let you know the rate of the rise or the drop going into shot time.

"if" he ends up with a ps # above 50, but lower than you're used to shooting...
are you prepared to steer a possible low curve tonight? got strips? hc, etc?
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

Usually, +10 is when he's zooming up. Interesting.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

debbie, you're in the eastern time zone. what time is PMPS?
i'm going into feeding time for both kitties and humans and have a couple of appointments tonight, but i want to try to juggle things so i can be around at your shot time.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

my shot time is 8pm, a little less than an hour. I can test now, he just had some tuna, but I doubt he'll be low. He has surprised me though. :o
He's at 87 now, with 50 mins till shot time. SURPRISE!! :o
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

OH, I think 86 is the lowest I've shot, but I have everything I need. I do think he'll bounce.


WTH is he doin'?
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

it's up to you if/how low you want to shoot.
if you're prepared, go for it.

however, you know i'm a firm believer in TR through and through. i'd shoot anything over 50 with lantus, but i don't want to push my habits on you. :lol:

i will be available to help and on the board after 10pm your time if you have any questions or want some company.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

I'm not scared to shoot, shoot low to stay low I understand. And he responds well to food. Rarely do I use HC, MC is all he needs to hold him stable at 50-60 for a couple hours, so I know he responds well when he would have gone much lower. Lord knows, I have no problem getting him to eat it! He jumps on any opportunity to eat the 'good stuff'. :lol:

Plus, I just put on a pot of coffee figuring it may be a long night. I can handle that, but it's nice to have someone to chat with while waiting to test. I have almost fallen asleep at my pc! :lol: If you look, you'll see, this ain't the THIRD time I've had to do this! :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

alrighty then, it's a date. :-D

however, "if" he happens to fall below 50 at PMPS time, i would stall if i were you. retest every 20 - 30 minutes until he's at a number you feel comfortable shooting (over 50).

i'll be back in approximately 30 minutes for shot time in case you have any questions. my next appointment is at that time, but i can stall the client for a few minutes. she'll understand.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90

I would definitely stall at 50! :o 75 or more, I'm on it. below 70, I'll give it some thought. :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87

doo dee doo dee doo (singing to self) 5 mins till pmps nailbite_smile :lol: NOT! I don't bite my nails for nuthin'! I have long natural nails and Lucian ain't gonna get 'em! :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199

BOING!!! Although a really great PMPS number for him, he'll probably be over 350 by the time the Lantus kicks in, as fast as he's bouncing.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199

there's the kitty we know and love! :lol:
i'll check in with you later in case he zigs instead of zags. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS 390.+4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199

Yup, that's my boy! Either sky rocket or deep sea diving!

Of course, I have half a pot of coffee in me now................... :o I should have known better, he's so unpredictable. Then again, it may have an earlier onset and he be low come +6, who knows with him??
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS +4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199,+1/283

+1/283 not bad since we ARE talking about Lucian. I figured he'd be higher by now. Maybe he won't go too high this time.
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS +4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199,+1/283

Curioser and curioser!
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS +4/200,+10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199,+1/283

:lol: BJM - Predictably Unpredictable! You've been watching him long enough to know! :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS +10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199,+1/283,+4/264

Not much going on, but I will test him once or twice during the night. Heck, I'm not tired now, shouldn't have had that coffee. ohmygod_smile Hopefully it'll wear off in another hour or 2. :o
 
Re: 6/19 Lucian AMPS +10/90,+11.10/87,PMPS 199,+1/283,+4/264

Nite Jill and thank you for spending the time to help us. :YMHUG:
 
acckkkk! It's 4:05 am and I've been laying in bed for over an hour and 45 mins..........nothing! :-x I'm gonna shave Lucian and paint his toenails pink to get even! :lol:

Guess I'll try to find an old '40's horror flick, there are tons of them on Roku, I love it! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top