6/19 Klinger; 6/24 PMPS 89!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hello,

We've been holding steady with skinny 2u's until we woke up to an 89 AMPS. I reduced the dose to 1.75 and he's surfed the blues all day. He even had a little 2nd drop from +10 to PMPS. Hopefully the 1.75 units will hold onto the blues...

AMPS 89 1.75
+3 136
+4 136
+6 111
+8 158
+10 187
PMPS 156

All p's in place. :-D

Hope everyone has a nice night.
 
Re: 6/19 Klinger

Thanks ladies!

Not so great this morning.
AMPS 326

Don't know if this is a bounce or if I shouldn't have reduced...

Have a great day!
Vacations are never long enough!
 
Re: 6/19 Klinger

Marcy & Klinger said:
Thanks ladies!

Not so great this morning.
AMPS 326

Don't know if this is a bounce or if I shouldn't have reduced...

Have a great day!
Vacations are never long enough!

Tell me about it. Oh, you reduced? Well, the 326 could be from that. Not necessarily because it wasn't enough, but because it's a change. Probably best to stick with the reduction until you see the pattern it produces. If you change it again, it could just make things more confusing.
 
Re: 6/19 Klinger

Just popping in while I'm on lunch...I was having withdrawls. :lol:
The reduction from 2 units to the 1.75 units was based on waking up to the 85 on Sunday - I shot 1.75 units for both shots on Sunday and this morning.

Hopefully he comes back down soon!

Chat with you later...
 
Re: 6/19 Klinger

We had a weird +3 on 6/22nd:
PMPS 176; 1.75 u's
+2 206
+3 94 - should have tested again but didn't
+4 276
AMPS 321; 1.75 (6/23)
When I looked at his ss, I thought that maybe he might be having a little rebound, so I reduced his dose to 1.5 that night.
PMPS 152; 1.50 u's
+3 180
AMPS 100; 1.50 :-D (6/24)
+2 163
+4 134

So far I'm liking this blue surf. I hope the late dose tomorrow night doesn't mess him up too much. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/19 Klinger

Holy moly Marcy!!

Sometimes when you have moved up the dosing ladder and hit that magic dose, they come down off that dose real fast. That's what the Klinger mad is doing! You did it exactly right by dropping to 1.5U and staying there.

Now you have to watch for those low preshots like on Sunday because that can be an indicator of a dose reduction needed especially after that rebound cycle the day before.

The 94 was not a fluke. We see that sometimes on Lev. That Gentle Giant phenom. We have also called it previous dose sign-off. I am not very good with the technicalities of how Lev is absorbed, but sometimes it's like a tiny bit is waiting in the wings and all of a sudden it jumps on stage. It was a sudden drop, so his pancreas and liver said uh oh and they threw the 94 off the stage. I think you see this when the dose is about right but maybe a little too much so the "shed" is close to overflowing, also a good analogy.

So going to 1.5U was spot on!! Great job!!
 
Re: 6/19 Klinger

Thanks, Vicky!! In the past I would seen those yellows and pink and thought that he needed MORE insulin. Whew! So glad I reduced his dose.

+6 99
+7 85 :mrgreen:
ETA: +8 78
+ 9 74
+10 87
 

Attachments

  • imagesCAYV66HC.jpg
    imagesCAYV66HC.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 1,371
Way to go Marcy and Klinger! :mrgreen: Have you shot yet?

Gosh, I'm kind of a chicken S&^%$ doser. I see on 6/15 you shot a skinny 2u on an 89 and he continued to surf. Do you feel comfortable shooting 1.5? Or maybe reducing to 1.4 or 1.3 if the gut feels better about that instead?

I'm guessing you'll need to get some shut-eye tonite so you can get on the road to get Musette tomorrow. How late do you feel like staying up to test?
 
Because he remained pretty flat today and they were all very safe numbers, I stuck with 1.50 units.

I'm sorry to say that the raw food turned out to be a miss. He stopped eating it and would go for the food he had left over from the morning. :roll: Maybe he'll like raw rabbit better - not this weekend.

I ran to the pet store to get a few things for our road trip tomorrow and I also picked up Beefr, Chicken, and Salmon Merrick's Before Grain 96% canned food. He ate the Salmon for dinner without hesitation. I have no idea what the carbs are for this brand. I think it's newer than Janet and Binky's food list. Does anyone know?

He's now resting comfortably in the bedroom with the ac running while I'm in my 85 degree living room. :lol: Something's wrong with this picture.
 
You rock - so calm cool and collected. I think I'd have a nervous breakdown the first time I have to shoot a green. :-)

The Merrick Before Grain beef, turkey, chicken and quail, chicken, salmon, and tuna are all below 2% carbs. I'd done some searching on foods for Harley awhile back and found that out but don't have the link to the info. Hopefully someone else does.

Sorry the raw food didn't work out, and after all the work too. If only our fur babies could be guilt-tripped into cleaning their plates the way our mothers did to us: "Honestly Klinger, there are starting cats in China who'd give their first unborn litter to eat that food. After all that work I did making it for you? Now you finish up before the food magically transports itself to China."

Can you tell I need another drink? "Hic"
 
Hey Laura, I totally missed your post about shaving his dose. I started panicking about a half hour ago. The good thing is, since Musette's flight lands at 1:05 p.m. I can always go back to bed after AMPS if I need to.

Thanks for the carb info on Before Grain. I wish I could guilt Klinger into eating the raw food I slaved over for hours making...nope, that didn't work! :lol: He's not listening to me. :lol: We're not done yet...I'll give it another try in a few weeks.

I'd better slow down on the drinks if I need to stay up and test tonight. Notice I didn't say stop! :lol:
 
No worries Marcy, I was just trying to take a stab at lending a paw, knowing full well that we'd be up drinking together.

Slow down? Heck we're just getting started. Maybe we should check out PZI and see if Kim & Kitty are throwing a party. :cool:
 
Hmmm, maybe we'll have a different kind of party in a few weeks!

Fingers crossed, anti-jinx and all that :shock:

This is excellent progress. Thank Klinger for being a poster kitty for Levemir!!

On the Merrick Before Grain, I wonder if that's not a supplemental feeding only food, meaning it does not have supplements like taurine in it? But it should be very low carb. Do you remember you can figure out carb percent form the as fed values on the label.

let me see if I can find that formula again. Add up the "guaranteed analysis" percentages on the label for protein, fat, fiber and moisture. Subtract that number from 100 to get the percent of carbs on a wet matter basis. Divide that by .25 to get the kcal % or dry matter basis of carbs.

So you get Musette this weekend? How long are you going to be gone? I forget what your arrangement is regarding Klinger, but you might want to lower his dose a tad if someone else will be giving him shots or anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top