? 6/19 King AMPS 66, +2 62, +4 58, +5 57 PMPS 101

If you can monitor, you can feed and give him the shot. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further.
Do you have enough test strips and high carb food and/or honey/syrup?
 
If you can monitor, you can feed and give him the shot. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further.
Do you have enough test strips and high carb food and/or honey/syrup?

Yes I have..
my problem is that he has a urinary tract infection. he needs an antibiotic (baytril) for 6 days and he doesn't have much appetite for food
 
What do you feel comfortable doing? It looks like he is zooming down the dosing ladder - that can happen with some cats who suddenly flip the switch to regulation. Are you comfortable giving say 0.5U or would you rather skip?
 
What do you feel comfortable doing? It looks like he is zooming down the dosing ladder - that can happen with some cats who suddenly flip the switch to regulation. Are you comfortable giving say 0.5U or would you rather skip?


I give him 0.25 because I have a problem with my baby and I don't know if I can be with him every minute. Is such a small dose very bad? :-(
 
What do you feel comfortable doing? It looks like he is zooming down the dosing ladder - that can happen with some cats who suddenly flip the switch to regulation. Are you comfortable giving say 0.5U or would you rather skip?

Do you think my King will go into recession? my english is not very good .I understood well?
 
today I gave my cat 0.25 units because he had low sugar in the morning. taking antibiotics for a urinary tract infection. he eats all day and his sugar drops instead of rising. I normally give him 0.75 units. should I reduce the dose? if I had given him 0.75 today, how much would the sugar be
 
You're doing great! Did you feed a teaspoon of his regular low carb food at that +5? Can you get another test at +6?

of course!!! I am always with him
upload_2023-6-19_14-48-13.png




Feedback
Web result with site links
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-19_14-48-13.png
    upload_2023-6-19_14-48-13.png
    312 bytes · Views: 175
How many more doses will he be on the antibiotic?
Is he eating better?
He is having a very flat :D cycle. And probably influenced from the 1 unit and .75 depot.Greens are scary but exactly what you want to see in a Tightly Regulated Cat.
With TR, you hold the dose unless a newly diagnosed kitty drops under 50. I would personally go back to 0.75.
Let's see what others say about tonight's dose. @Bandit's Mom
 
How many more doses will he be on the antibiotic?
Is he eating better?
He is having a very flat :D cycle. And probably influenced from the 1 unit and .75 depot.Greens are scary but exactly what you want to see in a Tightly Regulated Cat.
With TR, you hold the dose unless a newly diagnosed kitty drops under 50. I would personally go back to 0.75.
Let's see what others say about tonight's dose. @Bandit's Mom

tomorrow is the seventh injection for the urinary tract infection. she is the last one. today she eats all day with appetite. I'm scared with the numbers and I'm afraid if at any moment I sleep or do some work and fall into hypoglycemia
 
You are correct that hypoglycemia is scary :bighug:.
You are in control because you are testing and can feed the numbers with higher carbohydrate food. If you need to, you can feed higher carbs.
King is doing a great job too of reading the feline diabetes regulation handbook :cat:. Getting rid of that UTI is also helping with regulation.
Have you looked at the spreadsheets of the cats (especially newly diagnosed) that have gone into remission? I can gather some for you.
 
You are correct that hypoglycemia is scary :bighug:.
You are in control because you are testing and can feed the numbers with higher carbohydrate food. If you need to, you can feed higher carbs.
King is doing a great job too of reading the feline diabetes regulation handbook :cat:. Getting rid of that UTI is also helping with regulation.
Have you looked at the spreadsheets of the cats (especially newly diagnosed) that have gone into remission? I can gather some for you.

do you think it can go into remission? with such low sugar he just wants someone to watch him all day and all night every hour. I can't leave him at all.
 
It's still early to say but it is possible. :cat:
You'll find that Lantus gives flat green cycles. Today for a example I would have stopped testing ever hour after the +6 maybe even after the +5 since the numbers were so close together. He was 'surfing the greens'.
It gets easier when you can see the patterns over time. You can always post and ask for help in looking at the patterns :)
 
It's still early to say but it is possible. :cat:
You'll find that Lantus gives flat green cycles. Today for a example I would have stopped testing ever hour after the +6 maybe even after the +5 since the numbers were so close together. He was 'surfing the greens'.
It gets easier when you can see the patterns over time. You can always post and ask for help in looking at the patterns :)

if in the evening the sugar numbers are so low, could I skip it and rest both of us?
 
if in the evening the sugar numbers are so low, could I skip it and rest both of us?
I see you have a problem with your baby. I'm so sorry to hear that. You must certainly need to rest so you can be able to take care of all your babies ( human and fur). Why not wait until PMPS to decide? Can you stay up tonight and test until +3? I think you can shoot if he's 90 at PMPS. But let's wait and see how you're feeling then. :bighug:
 
I see you have a problem with your baby. I'm so sorry to hear that. You must certainly need to rest so you can be able to take care of all your babies ( human and fur). Why not wait until PMPS to decide? Can you stay up tonight and test until +3? I think you can shoot if he's 90 at PMPS. But let's wait and see how you're feeling then. :bighug:
O st
I see you have a problem with your baby. I'm so sorry to hear that. You must certainly need to rest so you can be able to take care of all your babies ( human and fur). Why not wait until PMPS to decide? Can you stay up tonight and test until +3? I think you can shoot if he's 90 at PMPS. But let's wait and see how you're feeling then. :bighug:

I stay with him every night from fear until +6, +7. tonight I would like to sleep if possible for 2 hours
 
Maria --

King's spreadsheet is looking great! You've noticed the trade-off. Your cat's in great numbers and you're terrified!! Let me make a suggestion. Take a look at some of the spreadsheets of other cats. There are likely several kitties who are moving in the direction of remission. (Usually, seeing double digit numbers in the subject line can help you to identify those cats.) While it's entirely counterintuitive, in many cases, shooting lower numbers yields a flat cycle. The mantra here is, "Shoot low to stay low."

All of. that said, all newer members need to get comfortable with shooting low numbers and that doesn't happen over night. While I totally support your being there for King, you have to get some sleep, too. Just like with your baby, you've got to take care of yourself in order to take care of the kids with 2 feet that the one with 4 feet.
 
Maria --

King's spreadsheet is looking great! You've noticed the trade-off. Your cat's in great numbers and you're terrified!! Let me make a suggestion. Take a look at some of the spreadsheets of other cats. There are likely several kitties who are moving in the direction of remission. (Usually, seeing double digit numbers in the subject line can help you to identify those cats.) While it's entirely counterintuitive, in many cases, shooting lower numbers yields a flat cycle. The mantra here is, "Shoot low to stay low."

All of. that said, all newer members need to get comfortable with shooting low numbers and that doesn't happen over night. While I totally support your being there for King, you have to get some sleep, too. Just like with your baby, you've got to take care of yourself in order to take care of the kids with 2 feet that the one with 4 feet.

you are right but when I see these low numbers I am afraid to leave him alone. I'm afraid he'll get hypoglycemia and I won't be with him. was diagnosed with diabetes in early May. I was absent for 5 days at the maternity hospital to give birth and I had him at his vet. all the rest of the days we sit all night together. I leave him only to feed my baby. I don't know how to overcome the fear of hypoglycemia
 
One thing to consider is that there is a difference between low blood glucose (BG) numbers and a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode. If you look at my spreadsheet, both the numbers and the comments, you'll see that Gabby was notorious for diving into quite low numbers. She never experienced pronounced symptoms of hypoglycemia. When her numbers trended low, I'd intervene. Part of my comfort level was that I knew how she responded to insulin. One of the reasons we encourage testing is so that you understand how your cat responds to insulin. Not all cats read the instructions on feline diabetes or Lantus. Rather than have their nadir at +6, they decide to have their low point in the cycle at some other time. Gabby's nadir was typically early -- at +3 or +4 (except when it wasn't). It gave me greater confidence in how I scheduled my day especially since I worked full time. She would also sit and stare at me if her numbers were dropping because she wanted food. Becoming familiar with your cat's response takes a bit of time and perseverance. Knowing how your cat responds to high carb food if numbers drop, also takes experience. It all helps to build your confidence.
 
One thing to consider is that there is a difference between low blood glucose (BG) numbers and a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode. If you look at my spreadsheet, both the numbers and the comments, you'll see that Gabby was notorious for diving into quite low numbers. She never experienced pronounced symptoms of hypoglycemia. When her numbers trended low, I'd intervene. Part of my comfort level was that I knew how she responded to insulin. One of the reasons we encourage testing is so that you understand how your cat responds to insulin. Not all cats read the instructions on feline diabetes or Lantus. Rather than have their nadir at +6, they decide to have their low point in the cycle at some other time. Gabby's nadir was typically early -- at +3 or +4 (except when it wasn't). It gave me greater confidence in how I scheduled my day especially since I worked full time. She would also sit and stare at me if her numbers were dropping because she wanted food. Becoming familiar with your cat's response takes a bit of time and perseverance. Knowing how your cat responds to high carb food if numbers drop, also takes experience. It all helps to build your confidence.

I still can't understand King's ss.. but I'm trying! the truth is that I'm doing TR and I'm panicking.. but I want it to go into remission
 
I still can't understand King's ss.. but I'm trying! the truth is that I'm doing TR and I'm panicking.. but I want it to go into remission
Don't panic. He has really come down in dose very fast, but some lucky cats do that and even go into remission. Let's see what King decides to do :-)

PMPS 101
I did 0.25 units
Try and get some sleep after +4 if he doesn't drop hard. That seems to be his nadir. Going to tag @Angela & Cleo to watch out for you.
 
Don't panic. He has really come down in dose very fast, but some lucky cats do that and even go into remission. Let's see what King decides to do :)


Try and get some sleep after +4 if he doesn't drop hard. That seems to be his nadir. Going to tag @Angela & Cleo to watch out for you.
Ty ❤❤❤
 
Back
Top