6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97 +3/126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97947&p=1047669#p1047669

Wow these numbers are AWESOME!!! My baby boy Jupe is still in these blues and greens - and even more importantly - he really acted like he was feeling good today!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D Now I have just got to learn to worry and test a little less.

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-181
Shot 2.75u @ 9:01am
+1.5-163
+2.5-198
+4.5-169
+6.25-146
+9.25-108
+10-103
+11-85
PMPS-105
Shot 2.75u @ 9:03pm
+2-97
+3-126
+6-116
+7.5-130

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-289
Shot 2.75u @ 9:04am
+2.25-239
+5-215
+7.25-182
+8-224
+11-129
+11.5-127
PMPS-154
Shot 2.75u @ 9:03pm
+2-81
+2.5-69
+3-68
+4-65
+5-77
+6-75
+6.75-81
+8-87
+9.5-111
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105

Bluetiful! :-D :-D On New Year's Eve 2011, Zener told me "more petting, less worry". So that's our mantra now. Great that Jupie is feeling good today. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105

I really need to cut back on testing... I just cant figure out at what times its good to test and what times its okay to wait longer to test... if anyone has any suggestions - I would appreciate them
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

We are trying to cut back on testing a bit too. We always get a +2, to get an idea of what kind of cycle it's going to be. If that's higher than preshot, we just get a midcycle test to we what the nadir is. If it's lower, then we test more often. Our main goal is to keep him safe so that guides how often we test. Once we see him rising and in safe numbers, we stop testing. We rarely test in the last half of the cycle, unless he is going low and staying low and we need to monitor.

So our general approach is to test to either keep him safe or see the nadir. If the test won't help with those, then we try not to test. True confessions of testing addicts. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

Pre-shot AM
+2 to see which direction he's headed
+5 to +7 to see nadir in AM
Pre-shot PM
Before bed test.

Then it depends on how low he's going. Generalizations on testing are hard to do.

I notice that it took Jupe 10 days to settle into this dose. You haven't often held a dose this long. It may be, Jupe needs the extra time to settle in. After all, ECID.

Haven't looked back through your condos to see if someone advised you to hold the dose longer. Did someone suggest this?
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

he usually goes his lowest in the later part of the cycle... and thats what worries me... like i tried looking at yesterday and tried to decide what times I couldve skipped a test... and i just cant figure it out because i am so nervous about not testing and him dropping. i am thinking today i could have gone without the +10 test but not sure which others i could have skipped a test.

and tonight, i am feeling like i should test at +3 because i am not so sure he is eating well today.
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

hmm I dont think anyone suggested anything about the dose. I just thought I was supposed to keep him at this dose since it seems to be working for him and plus his nadirs are lower? I get confused though
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

With the last couple of cycles, I think we can say this is a good dose for Jupe.

There are some circumstances where you have to leave out some food for Jupe to feed himself if he is going low.

You can't keep staying up all night, to test. You need to get some sleep. I can't stay up to be with you and guide you. I need some sleep. Already several hours past normal bedtime for me.
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

There is always food left out. All the cats free feed. When he is going low, he normally will get up to eat... but once hes below like 75... he doesnt get up at all... he acts extremely tired... to get him to eat I have to put the plate right infront of him...
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

I think you could have gotten the 3 tests in the morning cycle (PS, +2 and +5) and seen that he was safe and stopped testing. The evening cycle, you needed to test more, which you saw from the +2, which was lower. You could have stopped at the 81. Here, hindsight is 20/20. :roll: The evening cycle of the 16th was a strange one. He seemed to wobble. Did you feed him that influence the numbers?

Today, the PS, +2 and +6 were enough.

Some cycles, you are going to need to test more. But there are some cycles where the additional tests don't really add any information for safety or the nadir.

I think the dose looks fines for now.
Liz
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

Deb, dont let me keep ya up... hope you have a goodnight and get some good rest :-D

I am working on trying to test less and trying to get more sleep.. on the 17th I wanted to wake up once in middle of night to check him... but I knew I needed sleep and I knew I couldnt stay up worrying all night since his numbers were high
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

The night of the 16th.... hmm he only ate LC.... he free feeds so probably ate at random times..
 
Re: 6/19 Jupiter AMPS/181 PMPS/105 +2/97

+3 was 126... I just dont know if thats due to food or not.... so I worry a little.... maybe go to sleep for a few hours and test again at +6?
 
He free feeds with the other cats so I dont know how much he ate. He ate the LC FF.... I think 5%? I saw him at his plate maybe around 15 mins after +2.... and he just walked over to his plate now too
 
Yay for a good appy! :-D :-D But it does make it a little more difficult to interpret his numbers. I think some of that wobbling must be due to eating just before the test.
Liz
 
Jupiter has been looking fabulous the last few days.

Neko also has a later nadir too (sometimes) and along with it a later onset (sometimes). My view on testing is that I want to keep her safe but not to focus so much on how low she goes in any given cycle. I do look at the current cycle and the previous cycle and see if I can see similar patterns in previous cycles. With a PS and a +4 (before bed test), I have a rough idea of what the cycle will look like. But that's because I've collected enough data to look at. The spreadsheet is your friend. There's been many times at night when I've said "I can go to bed, she might hit green, but she'll be in safe greens". I do occasionally do spot checks to verify but I don't test after +6 much at night.

Last night, Jupiter was surfing. Neko will do the same and eventually come up. Once she starts to come up, she won't go back down below where she was surfing so I can go to sleep. As soon as Jupiter started to come up last night, you could have gone to sleep. The general rule is two consecutive rising numbers are good to go. I've also used HC in the night. If she is surfing low numbers, I know that HC will give me two hours of higher numbers. The latest she has gone below 50 is at +9 so if I give HC at +7, I can sleep.
 
This testing thread is fascinating and educational!! Looking at other's SS really helps you understand the whole thing better. thanks for starting it Jamie! We can really become addicted to testing! :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top