it's possible the Neosporin will give the licking-kitty a little diarrhea if he gets enough. what a sweetie - trying to clean up and heal Charlie's ear owie! i'd probably just use a smaller amount and rub it in well. If you see diarrhea, then you can think it may be from that. i don't think it's a problem otherwise.
The +3 could even be a bounce from the 200's last night. That's what i'd guess is going on. A cat can bounce from any number range that is lower than their body has gotten used to - and since Charlie has been spending a lot of time in the higher numbers, he's very likely to bounce from the 200's.
I do see a sweet little blue 141 smack dab in the middle of 6/16. The guidelines suggest holding a dose for 8-10 cycles after blue starts appearing.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I think since you've gone up to 2.0 and had 3 shots there already, i wouldn't reduce back to 1.5u, but i'd give the 2.0 a full 10 cycles to see if you're going to get to blue again. Charlie may be very bouncy - some cats will just barely touch down on a lower number and immediately take back off into the high numbers.
You're doing a super job of testing - usually we don't suggest testing less! :lol: but if you want to, you could go to testing every other hour while Charlie's mostly high, instead of every hour for several hours straight. Instead of +2 and +3, for example, maybe get a +2, +4, +6 and +8 just in case we can catch any more dips into lower ranges. i should add, there's nothing wrong with testing that much, i'm just thinking of the cost of strips. When he's high you can test a little less.
You're off to a great start! After 2 weeks on lantus, do you have any questions? Have you watched the video on how to draw up the Lantus from a pen/vial in order to preserve it and help it last? If not, it's on the
Info, Proper Handling & Storage. It's expensive enough we try to pass on the info so you can make it last as long as possible.