6/19 charlie 390 +3 409

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
I'm thinking the +3 is food spike. I applied some Noesporin to Charles ears and one of my other cats start liking his ears is there any risk I should worry about?
 
it's possible the Neosporin will give the licking-kitty a little diarrhea if he gets enough. what a sweetie - trying to clean up and heal Charlie's ear owie! i'd probably just use a smaller amount and rub it in well. If you see diarrhea, then you can think it may be from that. i don't think it's a problem otherwise.

The +3 could even be a bounce from the 200's last night. That's what i'd guess is going on. A cat can bounce from any number range that is lower than their body has gotten used to - and since Charlie has been spending a lot of time in the higher numbers, he's very likely to bounce from the 200's.

I do see a sweet little blue 141 smack dab in the middle of 6/16. The guidelines suggest holding a dose for 8-10 cycles after blue starts appearing.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I think since you've gone up to 2.0 and had 3 shots there already, i wouldn't reduce back to 1.5u, but i'd give the 2.0 a full 10 cycles to see if you're going to get to blue again. Charlie may be very bouncy - some cats will just barely touch down on a lower number and immediately take back off into the high numbers.

You're doing a super job of testing - usually we don't suggest testing less! :lol: but if you want to, you could go to testing every other hour while Charlie's mostly high, instead of every hour for several hours straight. Instead of +2 and +3, for example, maybe get a +2, +4, +6 and +8 just in case we can catch any more dips into lower ranges. i should add, there's nothing wrong with testing that much, i'm just thinking of the cost of strips. When he's high you can test a little less.

You're off to a great start! After 2 weeks on lantus, do you have any questions? Have you watched the video on how to draw up the Lantus from a pen/vial in order to preserve it and help it last? If not, it's on the Info, Proper Handling & Storage. It's expensive enough we try to pass on the info so you can make it last as long as possible.
 
Hey Darin, I just noticed in your signature line, it says that Charlie was 10.8lbs at diagnosis and is now 16lbs. Had he lost weight before his diagnosis? What I'm asking is, was his normal weight 11lbs, or was his normal weight 16lbs and he's just now returned to it?

oh - and welcome to Lantus/Lev Land! I'm glad you're here! we'll do our best to teach you what you need to know to get Charlie controlled and back to feeling healthy. Just ask as many questions as you have!
 
That 141 I think was a wacky number. I was so excited to see blue that I did not retest. Like at +3 today the first test was 209 and thought it was really low for +3 1st retest was 405 then 423.
 
what meter are you using? Some are more reliable than others. Even reliable ones can give wonky test results if you have too much or too little blood in the test. it's not super delicate, but if it's obviously a weird amount, it could cause wonky results.

with your previous dose of 4.0 Vetsulin getting Charlie into green numbers, i'd think you might have to get to a larger dose of Lantus. But . . . some cats do what i mentioned, just touch on a lower number and immediately bounce.
 
I would say his normal weight was around 14, in sept I moved from South Dakota to California. My cats had been staying at my moms for about a month prior to my move. A few days before moving my girlfriend thought he looked thinner. I thought the weight loss was due to staying in a strange place. So I had my mom start to weigh him 9/27 was 12.4 10/14 was same. So she waited till 11/24 was down to 10.8 took him to vet and was DX BG 549. By 12/27 was up to 12.4.
And his currant is 16 trying to slowly get back to around 14.
I use the relion micro
 
you want his weight to stabilize. it isn't safe for a cat to lose weight quickly, but he might need to lose a tad to get back down to the 14 you think is about right. it's important that their weight loss be very slow, though, so they don't develop a fatty (fat-clogged) liver. Just getting his weight to stop gaining would be a good first step.

looks from your sig line that he's getting a can of FF at each preshot and another at noon. What + time is that, ie, how many hours after his shot is noon? Does he have another can at midnight at well?

i'm running out for a while but will check back in with you to see your answers/questions. i'm sure others will be by as well.
 
Vet visit 6/4 he weighed 15.8 then 6/18 vet visit 15.7. I have changed his feeding but not updated sig. Currently 3oz am\pmps +6 1.5
 
My scale was 16, Vet visit 6/4 he weighed 15.8 then 6/18 vet visit 15.7. I have changed his feeding but not updated sig. Currently 3oz am\pmps +6 1.5. My
 
Welcome to the TR Forum!! Happy to see you over here!

Here's Charlie's 6/18 condo from the Relaxed forum. We want you to go ahead and add the link to the prior day's condo (what we call our posts) to the new one each day so it makes it easier for people to quickly go back and read what's been going on with Charlie

After seeing them on the Relaxed forum and how much they're testing, I invited Darin and Charlie over here! We're so much more active here!

You're getting some good feedback already from Julie...she's one of the best!

I agree that you could ease up on your testing some. I was astounded at how often you test, and like Julie said, while we love lots of data, it would be just as good if you got tests every other hour..and sometimes even every 3 hours and let Charlie's ears have a break when you can.

Sounds like he's going in the right direction, weight wise! Slowly losing that extra weight will help stabilize him in the future. To verify...he's getting 3oz at Pre-shot and 1.5oz at +6 (on both the AM and PM cycles?) Is that correct?

Again, welcome over here! We hope you'll enjoy this forum too
 
All the testing is cause I'm a worrier. I am still in the vetsulin quick drop state of mind.. And yes on the 3oz am/pmps and am/pm +6. Will drop testing to every 2-3hr... Charlie will appreciate that and testing that much I'm burning through test strips.
 
when he starts getting into better numbers, which he will, then you'll need to test more. I love all the data, i just know how expensive the strips are and sometimes it gets hard on the little ears. So test when you want. :-D
 
am cycle was high and flat, is that what happens after a bounce
My meter is kicking out some wacky numbers not sure which is correct... or what to do in this situation.
and when you retest do you repoke or test with original blood sample.
with past wacky numbers it the 2nd and 3rd test are very close.
+11 was 341
the first pmps said lo which i figured could not be right due to his +11
next poke was 76
next poke was 290
use same blood from the 290 test and it was 51
next poke 288
same blood as 288 was 333
when wacky numbers show up do they tend to be high or low
i went with the average of the 333,290, and the 288 which is 303 gave 2u.
in an hour i think i am going to buy another relion/micro meter.
 
i'm wondering if your meter battery is dying. i had wacky numbers that were cured by a new battery, but they typically last a year or so. Charlie hasn't been diagnosed that long, but it might be something to try before you buy a whole new meter. Those are some wonky numbers.

typically when i retested, i'd repoke. by the time i knew the number was weird, i'd have already staunched the poke.

high and flat can still be part of a bounce. bounces don't always just go up and stay there. sometimes they bobble around high before they finally come down.

i'm thinking with your meter issues you probably can't trust the numbers you're getting, though.
 
Actually, those are basically the same number if you factor in the 20% variance (and at high numbers, I've heard it can be even more than 20%)

293 + 20% =351

422 - 20% = 337

I'd probably just average them and call it 357
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top