6/19 Bronx AMPS 332 vet visit today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bronx's dad (GA)

Member Since 2016
Hope everyone is well. Bringing Bronx in for full bloodwork and get his teeth checked. His numbers have been going the wrong way but seems something else is bothering him. Just looks at me and meows trying to tell me something even when he's not hungry. Stays under the bed way more than he ever did and also sleeps in dark corners of closets and things like that. Appetite isn't an issue and he is actually eating too much again like he was when we were stuck in the 300s-400s. What is the check they do for potassium levels? I plan on t4 and SpecfPL tests. What else should I ask for? Thanks!
 
The full senior panel (also called geri panel) will have the T4 included. The SpecfPL is an add on. If you think there might be a GI problem, the Texas GI panel includes the SpecfPL and a couple of other things (cobalamin, folate) that can be interesting. sending vines for a good visit.
 
Not much to report, we will just wait to see what the results are from the senior panel & urinalysis. Vet said teeth were fine. Next step will be an ultrasound if the test results warrant that. Thanks for the vetty vines from everyone!!!
 
Last edited:
How is Bronx's mobility? Neko got to a point where her arthritis (or possibly just the growing pains) got to her enough that she got quite withdrawn. She didn't hide, but didn't interact or play. That's when I started the buprenorphine - which was a game changer. Is Bronx on anything for pain? I'm not a huge fan of meds for meds sake, but the bupe made a big difference in Neko's QOL.
 
How is Bronx's mobility? Neko got to a point where her arthritis (or possibly just the growing pains) got to her enough that she got quite withdrawn. She didn't hide, but didn't interact or play. That's when I started the buprenorphine - which was a game changer. Is Bronx on anything for pain? I'm not a huge fan of meds for meds sake, but the bupe made a big difference in Neko's QOL.

Bronx hardly plays at all and doesn't walk far without laying or sitting down. I did ask about bupe and the vet did say she would prescribe it if I wanted. She mentioned 2 ways to administer, injection or under the tongue. She said he would even be more sedated that the gaba which I did try but stopped since it seemed to just make him tired all the time. How did you administer bupe? Did it make Neko tired? Currently, Bronx is just on natural stuff like yucca, fish oil & turmeric paste.
 
Last edited:
She mentioned 2 ways to administer, injection or under the tongue. How did you administer bupe?
I did sublingually, which is into the cheek pouch, though you could also do under the tongue. The 2015 AAHA/AAFP Pain Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats does not recommend via subq injection.

Neko was a lot less sedated on bupe than she was when we tried the gabapentin. It's a balance getting the right amount - too much can get them stoned/tired. Neko became a lot more interactive and playful on bupe.
 
I did sublingually, which is into the cheek pouch, though you could also do under the tongue. The 2015 AAHA/AAFP Pain Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats does not recommend via subq injection.

Neko was a lot less sedated on bupe than she was when we tried the gabapentin. It's a balance getting the right amount - too much can get them stoned/tired. Neko became a lot more interactive and playful on bupe.
Yeah, vet said if he just swallows it, it isn't effective. Was it easy to do in the cheek pouch? Bronx hates when I try to open his mouth and have given up on giving anything orally because of this.
 
Glad vet visit was uneventful. Hope you get some answers in the bw. My vet gave me Torbogisic vs. Bupe. She said it was less $$ (this was after a $2,500 hospital stay :banghead:). I don't like the way it makes him feel but have reduced the dose down to about 1/3 of the prescribed when I do give it.

@Wendy&Neko what about Adequan for Bronx? I was going to ask about it for Gizmo but I am not sure about him having arthritis. Especially the way he has been running up/down the stairs lately.
 
Yeah, vet said if he just swallows it, it isn't effective. Was it easy to do in the cheek pouch? Bronx hates when I try to open his mouth and have given up on giving anything orally because of this.
The bupe syringe is fairly thin and you can slip it in the side of the mouth into the cheek pouch without having to pry his mouth open. I've done it and it's easy.
 
Glad vet visit was uneventful. Hope you get some answers in the bw. My vet gave me Torbogisic vs. Bupe. She said it was less $$ (this was after a $2,500 hospital stay :banghead:). I don't like the way it makes him feel but have reduced the dose down to about 1/3 of the prescribed when I do give it.

@Wendy&Neko what about Adequan for Bronx? I was going to ask about it for Gizmo but I am not sure about him having arthritis. Especially the way he has been running up/down the stairs lately.
OMG! Torbugesic is what my horse vet uses before filing down my horse's teeth!
 
Kris said what I was going to. I used to have trouble giving Bupe, but I was overcomplicating it. Don't try to pry the mouth open - it's easier if it's relaxed. You can just slip the syringe in the corner of the mouth, into the cheek and squirt. Once I figured that out, it was a breeze, even on Harvey, who hated to be restrained or have his mouth opened.

Sending vines for good results and some answers.
 
Not much to report, we will just wait to see what the results are from the senior panel & urinalysis. Vet said teeth were fine. Next step will be an ultrasound if the test results warrant that. Thanks for the vetty vines from everyone!!!

I have to ask, is Bronx eating fine? Showing no signs of pain or troubles eating?
I ask because when my two stomatitis kitties have flare ups, they stay under the bed a whole lot and sleep in dark corners lol and that because they are in so much pain.
But that can be for anything a kitty has going on. I just had to ask bout the eating.
 
Last edited:
You can by bupe on line for cheaper. I think it's Diamondback I have heard is the cheaper price. I got mine at a local compounding pharmacy, chicken flavour. :cool:

@LizzieInTexas Adequan is also a good idea, for the arthritis pain.

@Cherryl & Mouzer Also a good question. What did vetty say about the mouth? If not stomatitis, Neko had both soft tissue and bony growths in her mouth that caused difficulty eating, though it sound like Bronx has no appy issues. More like pain since he's hiding.
 
I have to ask, is Bronx eating fine? Showing no signs of pain or troubles eating?
I ask because when my two stomatitis kitties have flare ups, they stay under the bed a whole lot and sleep in dark corners lol and that because they are in so much pain.
But that can be for anything a kitty has going on. I just had to ask bout the eating.

Bronx is eating fine, actually a little too much currently. I think the pain is mostly from his joints from the bony growth caused by his acromegaly. I may try the bupe but am still hopeful my natural remedies will help
 
I can get Diamondback in the US?
Only in the US.:(

I used both Cartrophen (Canadian equivalent to Adequan) to help the joints themselves, and bupe for the pain of the arthritis and whatever other pain she might have had. I had read that there was some theory they could get headaches too, but that might be bony growth again. I also tried hyaluronic acid (Hyaflex) and Duralactin. Hyaflex was only so-so, I think the Duralactin helped.
Yeah, vet said if he just swallows it, it isn't effective. Was it easy to do in the cheek pouch?
Not as effective, the timing is different, but it still works. Cheek pouch was pretty easy - especially the chicken flavour. I found it easier to be behind her head with the syringe pointed back towards me.
 
I will have to discuss what I should try when the vet calls with the test results. Vet did say the bupe was expensive so this is great there are other options
 
Forgot to mention, I also went back to using Canna Companion on a daily basis and just rec'd CBD oil which I will try next after the canna runs out. Vet had no problem with me trying cannabis based products.
 
Bupe cost me about $100 for a three month supply from the compounders. It is dosed as a range, based on weight of cat so your mileage may vary. Getting individually filled syringes from the vet is horribly expensive!
 
Bronx hardly plays at all and doesn't walk far without laying or sitting down. I did ask about bupe and the vet did say she would prescribe it if I wanted. She mentioned 2 ways to administer, injection or under the tongue. She said he would even be more sedated that the gaba which I did try but stopped since it seemed to just make him tired all the time. How did you administer bupe? Did it make Neko tired? Currently, Bronx is just on natural stuff like yucca, fish oil & turmeric paste.
I give Phoebe bupe, took to an apothecary and made into a gel rub into her ear. Could not give her lingual, it was too exspensive to waste. Good luck with your tests!! Head bumps
 
Bronx is eating fine, actually a little too much currently. I think the pain is mostly from his joints from the bony growth caused by his acromegaly. I may try the bupe but am still hopeful my natural remedies will help

The bupe you speak of, is that the buprenorphine that people have mentioned to me?
Would you mind telling me what natural remedies you are using? Any for inflammation? And pain?
I am glad Bronx is eating and no pain there!!!!

I have read so much, in the past three years, on things for pain and inflammation - for cats -
NSaids often are not good for kitties, so I keep reading, because I need to avoid steroids. I saw one mentioned that is ok for cats and prescribed by a vet and I cant think of it right off but if I see it in my reading again, I will recognize the word haha But I had read in another area that is was with real bad side effects, so that one is out. I was reading that you use it with tramadol and that tramadol doesnt work well by itself. But I also read that tramadol is often not strong enough for the cats. I was going to buy products online without prescription - but the dose for cats is way smaller than what I can find at the places where I can buy such things without prescription. I dont want to kill my cat trying to avoid the vet who could very well kill my cat. Anyhow, I have read about many natural remedies and I have tried many that have not helped but I am always hopeful there is a natural way and I just havent found it yet.
 
The bupe you speak of, is that the buprenorphine that people have mentioned to me?
Would you mind telling me what natural remedies you are using? Any for inflammation? And pain?
I am glad Bronx is eating and no pain there!!!!

Yes, bupe is buprenorphine. If nothing else works, I will go this route for his joint pain/arthritis.

Natural stuff I have been trying is wild caught fish oil, yucca drops & turmeric "golden" paste which I will increase a little bit now that he has been on it for a few weeks now. I also have some cannabis based products and will be a little more aggressive on the use of these since I was only using once in a while, but will start a daily routine.
 
Yes, bupe is buprenorphine. If nothing else works, I will go this route for his joint pain/arthritis.

Natural stuff I have been trying is wild caught fish oil, yucca drops & turmeric "golden" paste which I will increase a little bit now that he has been on it for a few weeks now. I also have some cannabis based products and will be a little more aggressive on the use of these since I was only using once in a while, but will start a daily routine.

I have read turmeric to help stomatitis and a multitude of issues. I bought some trumeric powder but these cats detect the smallest amount in their food and they wont eat the darn food with it in it. How do you use these products? In food or straight to mouth or? And where did you fnd cannabis based products, because I am pretty sure they would help here. LOL If anything, if I could partake, they will help my nerves heehee And I am just kidding but not kidding hahaha

Edit: I am reading and I just found this about Yucca - can you tell me how much and how often you do use the products you use, so I can know 'safe' haha

I found this and if this means Yucca is a steroid, I cant use it, unless natural steroids are ok and not the same as steroid the vet gives? I have a product I am going to try but is states warning using with steroids. Would Yucca be considered a steroid this cant be used with? Do you know?
Yucca Schizandra contains steroidal saponins, which are nature's most powerful anti-inflammatory agents.
And I found this one...
Yucca Yucca - Natural Anti-inflammatory for Pets
Yucca
If used in large doses or over an extended period of time, yucca can irritate the stomach lining and intestinal mucosa, which may cause vomiting and bloating.
If used in small doses, yucca is safe. Therefore, avoid giving yucca to your pets more than 4-5 times per week, more than a month or two at a time, or during pregnancy.

LOL Have you ever seen this :D
http://turmericlife.com.au/turmeric-for-cats-how-to-syringe-feed-golden-paste-to-a-cat/
 
Last edited:
I have read turmeric to help stomatitis and a multitude of issues. I bought some trumeric powder but these cats detect the smallest amount in their food and they wont eat the darn food with it in it. How do you use these products? In food or straight to mouth or? And where did you fnd cannabis based products, because I am pretty sure they would help here. LOL If anything, if I could partake, they will help my nerves heehee And I am just kidding but not kidding hahaha

Edit: I am reading and I just found this about Yucca - can you tell me how much and how often you do use the products you use, so I can know 'safe' haha

I found this and if this means Yucca is a steroid, I cant use it, unless natural steroids are ok and not the same as steroid the vet gives? I have a product I am going to try but is states warning using with steroids. Would Yucca be considered a steroid this cant be used with? Do you know?
Yucca Schizandra contains steroidal saponins, which are nature's most powerful anti-inflammatory agents.
And I found this one...
Yucca Yucca - Natural Anti-inflammatory for Pets
Yucca
If used in large doses or over an extended period of time, yucca can irritate the stomach lining and intestinal mucosa, which may cause vomiting and bloating.
If used in small doses, yucca is safe. Therefore, avoid giving yucca to your pets more than 4-5 times per week, more than a month or two at a time, or during pregnancy.

LOL Have you ever seen this :D
http://turmericlife.com.au/turmeric-for-cats-how-to-syringe-feed-golden-paste-to-a-cat/

No I haven't seen that, thanks! I did not know that Yucca should not be given for long periods of time so will have to research further.

Turmeric must be mixed with pepper and needs fats from an oil to be absorbed properly. I didn't know that at first and tried just the powder in his food and he wasn't a fan. He eats the paste 1/8tsp 2x/day to increase to 3x/day. Paste is made with black pepper & coconut oil and I also put a squirt of the fish oil in that feeding as well. He licks it up but have heard some cats and many dogs hate it.

All mixed in with his wet food:

Fish oil, I give 1 squirt twice a day: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N0SM3OF/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Yucca, 2 drops twice a day: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000CZ2NM6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Golden paste 1/8 tsp 2-3x/day: I joined the "tumeric user group" on facebook which has the recipe and the great benefits (I started taking it myself too!): https://www.facebook.com/groups/415313751866609/?fref=nf

As far as cannabis is concerned, I have Canna Companion which I get on eBay but is expensive, it is a capsule and I empty the contents in his food: https://cannacompanionusa.com/about/#cc-benefits

Just got CBD oil which I bought directly from the company and have yet to try it but it says 20 drops in his food so I hope that he likes it since it isn't only a few drops. But it says 20 drops for a dog or a cat and no size of pet amounts so I will have to research further before using: https://www.buycbdoilonline.com/product/pure-pet-cbd-tinctures
 
No I haven't seen that, thanks! I did not know that Yucca should not be given for long periods of time so will have to research further.

Turmeric must be mixed with pepper and needs fats from an oil to be absorbed properly. I didn't know that at first and tried just the powder in his food and he wasn't a fan. He eats the paste 1/8tsp 2x/day to increase to 3x/day. Paste is made with black pepper & coconut oil and I also put a squirt of the fish oil in that feeding as well. He licks it up but have heard some cats and many dogs hate it.

All mixed in with his wet food:

Fish oil, I give 1 squirt twice a day: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N0SM3OF/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Yucca, 2 drops twice a day: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000CZ2NM6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Golden paste 1/8 tsp 2-3x/day: I joined the "tumeric user group" on facebook which has the recipe and the great benefits (I started taking it myself too!): https://www.facebook.com/groups/415313751866609/?fref=nf

As far as cannabis is concerned, I have Canna Companion which I get on eBay but is expensive, it is a capsule and I empty the contents in his food: https://cannacompanionusa.com/about/#cc-benefits

Just got CBD oil which I bought directly from the company and have yet to try it but it says 20 drops in his food so I hope that he likes it since it isn't only a few drops. But it says 20 drops for a dog or a cat and no size of pet amounts so I will have to research further before using: https://www.buycbdoilonline.com/product/pure-pet-cbd-tinctures

heehee I thought the syringe feed the cat thing was so funny, I just read it all over again :D
I was going to come back and ask you - wild fish oil - do you mean you catch your own fish and get oil some how lolol But ok thanks for clearing that up with this link hahahaha I need to re-read about the Yucca too. I dont know what they mean by long term and I cant remember if they gave an idea on that or not. I just happened to see it when I was searching for yucca drops. I did buy the Dr. Mercola curcumin for pets, I found on Amazon. I hope that it would work the same as what you have. I couldnt find turmeric gold paste stuff. I forget what all I read in all of this searching but I think I got it that curumin is whatever somethin about turmeric that is good, so I figured it might be on same order. My son got bad boils for a while and he used turmeric and they finally went away and havent come back. I will get to these links and hopefully something of this will help these stomatitis kitties. Thank you for taking time to place all those links here!
 
I dont mean to bug you but are you planning the CBD Oil to replace what you are using as cannabis, or using in addition to?
I am going to replace it to see if I get more of money's worth. Canna Companion is over $1/capsule for the stronger concentration. Just have to find out how many drops I should use, says 20 drops for any size pet? I also hopes he eats it, 2o drops is a lot. If the bottle lasts less than 3o days, it will be a wash as far as cost goes and then decide from there what's next.
 
I am going to replace it to see if I get more of money's worth. Canna Companion is over $1/capsule for the stronger concentration. Just have to find out how many drops I should use, says 20 drops for any size pet? I also hopes he eats it, 2o drops is a lot. If the bottle lasts less than 3o days, it will be a wash as far as cost goes and then decide from there what's next.

Well, if you think about it, let me know which is what you think is best you will go from there for what's next haha
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top