? 6/19 Boris AMPS 121, +2 142, +4 113, +6 89, +8 109, +10 135

learjetta

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's condo here.

AMPS 121?!? Yes please! Good job Bobiwan Kenobe! :woot:

I was a little concerned when he slept in this morning instead of following me to the kitchen, but with a BG like that, I shouldn't be surprised.
 
I really thought we were going to have to increase Boris's dose this week... looks like we will hold steady where we are for now, at least based on the curve so far!
 
I'm starting to question whether shooting 2u per normal was the right thing to do this morning. Over the course of the day Boris is trending down. Maybe it's okay, maybe not. Either way I'll keep going with his curve to see what happens.

If he is under 150 PMPS tonight, I shouldn't shoot, right? That's the protocol?
 
Boris just earned a reducie with that 89. The next shot will be 1.75 units. It's a good idea to get a +10 test and post for advice on shooting.
 
That's the protocol! since Boris went under 90 at his +6 he earns a reduction for SLGS! Tonight his dose should be lowered to 1.75u, congrats!

If you're a little stressed about how his BG levels are trending downward, try feeding him a few tsps of his typical LC food. Don't worry, he is still in the safe zone :) Don't stress about shooting the full 2u this morning! he is doing really well on it, these numbers are great!

I think as I was writing this Carla just gave you some good advice about testing later and then asking for advice before shot time :)
 
It's a good idea to get a +10 test and post for advice on shooting.

We are doing a curve today, so I'll have a +8 and a +10. :)

If you're a little stressed about how his BG levels are trending downward, try feeding him a few tsps of his typical LC food. Don't worry, he is still in the safe zone :) Don't stress about shooting the full 2u this morning! he is doing really well on it, these numbers are great!

Thanks! Our 3 boys eat every 6 hours, so he just had 1/3 of a can of wet food. I'm just getting anxious since I'm not used to such low numbers!
 
That's the protocol! since Boris went under 90 at his +6 he earns a reduction for SLGS! Tonight his dose should be lowered to 1.75u, congrats!
Minor correction, SLGS is not a protocol, but rather a dosing method developed on FDMB over many years.

That said, Boris is giving lovely and safe numbers today. To answer the question on what to dose, it depends on where he is tonight. He might bounce in which case his new dose will be a good idea. There are two parts to the SLGS dosing method on shooting lower numbers than usual, the part that starts "in the beginning" and the part that starts "with experience". Experienced SLGS peeps can shoot above 90, provided they have the data to do so and ability to monitor. Since you don't have much data on shooting low, I wouldn't recommend shooting that low just yet. Work your way down to it.
 
Thanks! Our 3 boys eat every 6 hours, so he just had 1/3 of a can of wet food. I'm just getting anxious since I'm not used to such low numbers!

It's so scary when you get those first low numbers! it happened just a couple short months ago for me and I was so surprised! I reacted in exactly the same way! You'll grow to really enjoy seeing these lower numbers :)
 
Well, Boris had a pretty awesome day! His +10 is 135. Looking for suggestions for is PM shot... what would be recommended? A .25 reduction? A lower dose? No dose?

Thanks!
 
Back
Top