6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322 +7 186 PMPS 110 & eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/17 Condo

Good morning all,

I went to pick up the appy stimulant last night, they apparently gave him Mirtazapine on Sunday, and you only give this once every third day. I'll have to ask our vet for something else... I know you guys have given me some suggestions so I'll go back and look at those. As I was talking with the tech, she asked how Zeus was doing, she said she took care of him Sunday, I mentioned that he wasn't overly thrilled with the w/d food, and she said that he loved it there and gobbled it up... Then she said that she gave him the DRY food, well no wonder. ohmygod_smile It's weird though that his BG was still so low with the dry food, he was only 62 immediately after I brought him home. I ordered the Iams max cal the other day, so that should come soon. I hope he likes it. Smokey could use some extra calories too so hopefully she will like it as well.

Mr. Zeus was only 160 at our normal PS time last night (+16). He ate a little bit of that w/d wet food. I had to microwave it a couple of times, but he didn't finish it, so I ended up giving him BF again. He ate 2 jars. I tested at +1 and he spiked to
310. He came down slowly, he was 276 at +5 but then back up to 300 at +8. Strange. Zeus slept with me for a lot of the night, mostly at my feet but when the alarm went off he was at my side.

Still doesn't want that w/d, so he is getting a FF appetizer (only ate about half) and baby food (only a couple of licks so far). No pee or poo overnight. Not sure what all the pink numbers are from, except to say that I know he doesn't feel great. I don't know what I should do about his shot, I don't think he's eaten enough, but he is pink. I have o go see if he will eat more.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310

Morning Kathie,

Glad Zeus is home this morning! Hope you find a food that he will eat for you. I know how frustrating that is. They fed him dry? Wonder if you can fall back to that if it hits the point he won't eat anything else? Not the best... but. Good luck on the appy stimulant. I know there always seems to be a few different kinds mentioned. Happy Tuesday! Eat you fuds Zeus! Does Smokey think he smells right yet? :-D
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310

I forget, did they say it was Pancreatitis? or something else?
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310

Yes, he does have pancreatitis. They also said he has inflamed intestines, and possible inflammatory bowel disease and/or lymphoma. And stage II heart murmur.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310

Test again, and if he's still in the 300s, then I think it's safe to shoot, IF you are going to be home to monitor him, and can get some food down him, syringe feeding gravy if necessary. I hope he eats for you, today. I am chasing J.D. with food this morning, too.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310

I have to go, because I'm late getting ready for work, but what's new? Did they give you Ondansetron or some anti nausea medicine for him? You don't want to give him an appetite stimulant unless the nausea has been addressed first.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310

+1 322. I did shoot, he ate almost a full jar of BF turkey. I'm not going to be here to monitor, but I may be able to sneak out for a quick test sometime this morning... And lunch at +7. It is great to live so close to where I work. :smile:
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

They gave him Mirtazapine for appy and cerenia for nausea.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

Well, Zeus. Sorry your appetite is off and you don't want to eat much now. Hope things make a turn soon.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

Right now, it's not important what Zeus eats -- it's just important that he does eat. (The other appetite stimulant is cyproheptadine.) You may be seeing the response to the WD. It's way high in carbs -- 25%. You can always adjust the insulin dose.

Getting insulin in is important. You don't want to risk ketones developing. In fact, I'd encourage you to get a ketone test whenever you can just as a precaution.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

Hi Kathie, and good morning! ~O) ~O) ~O)

I am with Sienne, what he eats isn't as important as it is that he eats - whatever it is. Mannie did almost a week on the BF and the Mc/HC fuds. It did take a while to get him back on track with the eating. I did initially shoot a reduced dose too, as I just never knew how much he'd eat and when he would refuse. I also made sure to do the ketone testing too. Mannie ate alot of gravy foods back then, as I knew he'd eat them when he wouldn't the LC, until he got better. I eventually upp'd the dose to compensate for the higher numbers, while I was feeding the HC foods. Hang in there - I know for us the improvement did not happen over night, it took time. once I started seeing the blues and greens again I knew we were getting through the P'titis aspect of things. we were on the Mirtz and the cerenia too. FWIW: my IM vet handles the mirtz a little differently than the every three days. She halves the dose and gives it every other day. in her opinion it works better that way. That I can't confirm or deny, but maybe something to consider, should your vet agree.

Have a good one today. Feel better Zeus!
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

((Kathie))
I'm sending tons of no nausea and then good appy vines and prayers to Zeus. Maybe you could crush some that dry that he gobbled up and use that on top?
Lots of vines that the P'titus is over really fast.
Munch please Zeus!!

lots of hugs and scritches from us.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

Katie,
I'm glad Zeus is at home, but sorry to hear his appetite is not so good.
When Lucy wasn't eating, I tried both cyproheptadine and the other one that is supposed to work for 3 days (I think it's the same one Zeus got). Her appetite didn't improve much on the 3 days one, but she really improved on cyproheptadine.
The vet said they work differently, so it depends on the cat which one works better.
In Lucy's case, after 30min of cyproheptadine, she even started begging for food :smile:
I hope Zeus will start eating and he will feel better soon.
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322

Good thought for Zeus,glad he is home,have a good day ad give lots of head bonks :smile:
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322 +7 186

We had a poo this morning, haven't been able to get a ketone test yet. He had his cerenia, then a couple of bites of FF and about a half of a jar of BF for lunch. His BG has come down to high blue from pink this morning, so that's good. He's sleeping on the porch now. I will ask the vet for something else for nausea and the Cypro tomorrow when we see him. Have to go back to TBP.

Have a good afternoon,
Kathie
 
Re: 6/18 Zeus AMPS 310 +1 322 +7 186

Zeus ate 2/3 of a can of FF tonight, woo how. Chunky turkey.... He doesn't really like the chunks so I picked that up and gave him 1/2 can of kitten tender turkey feast, he had a few licks and changed locations, he is having a few more licks there. :-D so good to see him eat. Ok, another change of location, a bit more water, another 5seconds in the microwave, and he is licking at it again. He probably had 1/2 of it, so 1/4 can. We go back to our vet in the morning, I hope he has a plan for us.
 
Yay for eating on his own! Go Zeus. :-D :-D Pretty nice numbers tonight too. Continuing to send healing vines his way.
 
FYI - cypro and mirtazapine counteract one another. You'll need to wait until the mirtazapine is out of Zeus' system before you start cypro. If he's doing OK on the mirtazapine, there may not be a reason to switch him to cypro.

That's a great PMPS and great news that he's eating!
 
Hi, Kathie, I'm so glad Zeus is eating.
I hope all goes well at the vet tomorrow ~ good luck with the meds!
Scritches to Mr. Zeus!
I hope you guys have a good night!
 
Woo hoo, Zeus just ate almost a whole FF appetizer (+3). And I guess not too bad, his BG was 240.... Better than pink.

Sienne... Zeus is due for the Mirtazapine in the morning... And we have the vet appt first thing in the AM as well. I may hold off to see what the dr wants to do, and I can give it when we get home if he decides to keep Zeus on it.

Thanks everyone for the continued vines :-D
 
WOO HOO! We have fuds down the hatch. I am so glad that he is eating again, YAY!, and on the road to recovery. Sounds great. :-D :-D Good luck too at the vet tomorrow. I hope you will come home with a plan that you are happy with. I am sure you will.

Have a great evening Kathie.
 
Thanks Michelle, I sure hope so. :-D

Zeus just came and asked for more fuds, he didn't eat much of what I put down though... Will try another flavor after the next test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top