6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3" 70 PMPS 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I screwed up Trix's med schedule yesterday. I am usually so meticulous about keeping her SS up-to-the-minute so I don't forget what I've done and what is due next, but apparently I was behind in updating it by half a day - although lately, sometimes Google craps out on me and says it can't save my recent update...maybe that's what happened. Anyway, because the info was a day behind in her SS, when I did a quick glance at the "notes" section (not paying attention to the "date"), I thought last night was a "skip night" for her cerenia. It wasn't....but since I read it wrong, I did not give her cerenia last night. I realized the error a couple hours later and should have given it then, but I didn't...

On top of that, I was attempting to cut her Pepcid back a little from 5mg BID to 5mg AM/2.5mg PM. I was slowly trying to migrate her to a lower dose. So, on top of no cerenia, she also got a reduced dose of Pepcid.

This morning, right before I did her pokey test, she spit up foamy fluid for the first time in weeks. So obviously that little boo boo with her meds wasn't good. The last time she spit up like that, she was on reduced doses of her meds. She did eat a little bit right after the incident this morning, so she wasn't feeling TOO bad, but she was obviously off a bit. I got her pills into ASAP (BP meds, 4mg cerenia, 5mg Pepcid), and within 40 minutes she was definitely feeling better. I waited a little longer than usual before doing her first syringe feeding of the day, just to be sure the meds had kicked in. She did fine with that feeding, and has actually also eaten a decent amount from the plate (presented my MamaBean of course!) as well.

It was not at all my intention to make two changes at once. I always like to make one change, see how it affects things, then make another. My intention was to reduce the Pepcid, see how that goes for a while (several weeks) and then reduce the cerenia. So big UGH to MamaBean.

And, as much as I would love to ultimately reduce her Pepcid to 2.5mg BID, I just don't think it works for her. Any time I try to do it, she gets into foamy spit up mode. Maybe some day, months down the road, we can do it, but I obviously just can't do it at this point. Her vetty is fine with the 5mg BID...it's a high dose, but it IS in the range for her weight. I know its harder on the kidneys, but at the same time, the stomach acid is probably overall more damaging. It's one of those unpleasant trade-offs/lesser of two evils deals. Consistency definitely is the key to keeping her feeling good and on an even keel.

So, a little more excitement than usual this morning...unfortunately, not the kind of excitement I like, but we got through it.

I'm too wiped out to squeeze in my morning workout today :sad: ...I hate skipping, but the energy just isn't there. I'm off again tomorrow, so I'll make it up then.

Sending tons of prayers out to J.D., and to Tricia and her civvies Sasha and Harvey. We've always got Melissa's drooler Charlie on our list, too. Be well, everyone!!

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3 70

Sorry about the med mix up. It happens. You have a lot on your plate. At least you know that Trixie needs that to keep the foam away for now. Tarragon gets the pepcid as well since he is on steroids. I hate having to give him yet one more pill, but it is totally worth it. Trixie is still looking so good without insulin. I sense OTJ in your near future. That is incredible after 3+ years. Have a great day Amy!!
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3" 70

I'm still sifting through 10 years/thousands of pictures for her OTJ video. The party will be soon!!! Personally, it is still very surreal/unreal to me that she is OTJ. Ironically, after her ultrasound in March, vetty and I both agreed that she'd probably never go OTJ. Granted we've gone through hell from the p-titis, but how ironic is it that THAT is what made her go OTJ???
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3 70

Hi Amy,

You are absolutely doing a fantastic job with Trixie - you're a wonderful mama bean! Mistakes happen especially when you're juggling so much. Considering all you've been dealing with, forgetting a dose of Cerenia is understandable. It's so nice that you have found the right balance of meds, food and syringe feeding that's keeping Trixie healthy and happy. A happy, healthy kittie equates to a happy, stress-free mama bean. Keep up the good work, Amy and have a good day! How many more days before the staycation?

Anne
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3" 70

It is surreal. We have been together for so long that I will miss you, but am so happy for you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: It just goes to show that it can happen. The circumstances are crazy though.
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3 70

caringcdn said:
How many more days before the staycation?

Anne

Staycation begins on Saturday, June 28...although I actually do have to work June 29 (my two business partners have a bridal shower to go to), but after that, I am off until Monday July 7. At this point, I am counting the minutes till it starts!!
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3" 70

Hi guys .. try not to be too hard on yourself with the meds mix up .. You are juggling a lot with trixie and for 99.9% of the time you're right on top of it all! Sounds like you got her meds in her today and she's feeling much better .. I hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3" 70

Aha, so you are human, after all! I was beginning to think you were some kind of superbean, with all the meds you were juggling and the figuring and calculating about what to give when. I feel so much better. I can't tell you how many times I've forgotten to give a med or thought I'd done it. A couple of times I've even put Minka's thyroid pill on the wrong plate (early in the a.m.). Fortunately, it's bright pink and my DH caught it. ohmygod_smile That's why I have handwritten checklists in addition to anything on the computer. We even have a little notebook in which we write Cinco's test and shot info each time. Then I take that to the computer and enter it in his spreadsheet and condo. But if the computer blows up, or the internet goes down, I still have my data. Call me old fashioned (or obsessive).

I'm glad Trixie made a quick recovery from the foam episode. At least now you know for sure how much is too little!

I can relate to the skipped workout. I haven't gotten one in yet this week. I just couldn't get motivated yesterday, although I was in my workout clothes, and then Harvey had his issue and the vet said to come right away, so no workout. I am trying to get myself to go put those clothes on right now and get started!

Thanks for the prayers. Sasha is doing okay, according to the vet student watching over her, and Harvey just got a clean bill of health from the vet (no UTI).

Have a great day, Amy.
 
Re: 6/18 Trixie AMBG 126 "+3" 70

Don't be too hard on yourself. With everything you're juggling, it is easy to make a mistake. You got Trixie's meds in her and she's feeling better. You're doing great with her. :YMHUG:
 
Oh my goodness, I feel so NON-superbean...most of the time I feel like I'm scrambling. However, I do have to admit, when it comes to the kitties, I tend to USUALLY have a working memory. Don't ask me what I had for lunch yesterday, though, but if it's related to one of the furbabies, I can most likely pull it from the recesses of my mind.

We've had a very nice start to the evening...much, much better than this morning! When I got home from work, Trix was bright-eyed and social. She wanted dinner...until she saw what I was serving. But she was THERE. After meds, fluids, and a syringe feeding, she was ready to go...my second "plate offering" was very well-received. One of these days I will convince her to walk up to the plate on her own, rather than having to present it...but I think we are s-l-o-w-l-y getting there.

Speaking of slow...time to sort through more pictures for her OTJ video. There are not enough hours in the day!!
 
Hi Amy,
It is so great that the evening is off to a good start! Makes up for the stresses of the day. Enjoy it!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. You know you don't have to "disappear" after Trixie's "official" party!! :lol:
 
Amy, you are amazing with all the care you give Trixie. I am amazed how you juggle it all and coordinate the amounts and timings of the medicine. It looks like Trixie is doing better this evening so that's good. Your vacation is coming soon!
 
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
p.s. You know you don't have to "disappear" after Trixie's "official" party!! :lol:

I can't imagine disappearing...the thought of not being here makes me want to cry......I think you're stuck with me!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top