6/18 Tashie ***DOSING ADVISE PLEASE ***PMPS=587+2=420

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

Okay then! It's me, the one that has to experience EVERY possible pickle out there! So, here's the story:

REALLY tired last night - tested her a hundred times yesterday and she saw Mr. :mrgreen: for a while.

Her PMPS number was 341 (okay, that is sort of good for Tash, better than HIGH
Her PM+2 was 437 ....... was she BOUNCING?

Did a bedtime test and poked her FIVE times! This is what we got: ***Keep in mind these tests were a MINUTE apart with one E-7 in the middle:
1.296
2.591
3.321
4.398

I knew she was highish so I went to bed but of course didn't sleep well because I was worrying! We bought a SECOND meter just the other day to have as a back up - opened it this morning - labeled which meter was which and tested her with each one. See below:

NEW METER = 553
OLD METER = 536

Now, I know that is only "17" off but it's off! 17 could be a huge difference in certain ranges. I am so miffed by this - any explanations? BTW, BOTH meters are the ReliOn Confirm.

Thanks,
Bern
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

Keep in mind that there's a 20% variance between any 2 tests so those 17 points are really about 5% different. When numbers are in double digits, that amount is much smaller (e.g., 20% of 60 = 12 points or if, like today, it's 5%, then it would be 3 points.

As far as the back to back tests last night, I don't know what to tell you. There have been times that I've re-tested when a number seems out of context and then gotten a 3rd test to confirm. I don't think I've seen the kind of disparity you found. The only thing I'd suggest is to try the same thing with your other meter.
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

Thanks Sienne, it was mostly last nights tests that slapped me - they were SO off! I know she's a bouncer but to bounce 300 between a minute twice was mind blowing! :-D Now I have meter phobia! Do I trust the new or the old one? DO I start testing with BOTH but then, if I do, which to believe? And no clue as to what to put on her SS :!: :?: :?:
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

I don't really know why but I have found with my meter that if I test again using the same meter within five minutes, I get a hugely different number. If I need to retest, I use my backup meter which is the same type and then I usually go with that one. If I have any reason to doubt that number, I use my second backup which is a contour. It usually does give me a different number but at high numbers, it's always been within 30 and low numbers within 10.

I just never retest immediately using the same meter.
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

BorisV said:
...Now I have meter phobia! Do I trust the new or the old one? DO I start testing with BOTH but then, if I do, which to believe? And no clue as to what to put on her SS :!: :?: :?:
I would just go ahead and put either on: pick one--they are both basically the same number....As to meters: At first I used a TrueResult--nothing true about it--read much, much lower vs. the vet's meter using the same drop of blood....Gobbles numbers at the beginning of his dx look pretty good--but I truly believe they were not. I bought a ReliOn Prime in January, and had both meters run against the vet's meter (and I do realize the AlphaTrac has a LITTLE difference): the ReliOn Prime was much, much closer to his BG reading than the TrueResult (read way higher than vets did). I kept the TrueResult though. In low numbers (100 & under) it read pretty close to my ReliOn, but in higher numbers, sometimes there was 100+ difference. I kept the TrueResult as a back up and only used it with BG's probably about under 55. The Arkray meters can only be purchased online. The link at the top of the page: ADW/American Diabetes Wholesale will take you there, and by shopping through that link, FDMB gets a small portion of the sale. (I also purchased half-unit syringes, lancets and ketostix there cheaper than anywhere else). So then I had three meters: Arkray, Prime and Vital....I hope this helps :-D
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

Okay then. It was just SO strange - what made us do that was she was PMPS = 341 then skyrocketed to +2=437 - thought we gave fur shot but then 2 hours later she had dropped to 296 on that 1st reading - we thought it was odd that she went high and then dropped (relieved that is wasn't a fur shot but perplexed at the same time)

SO, what number(s) would you like on the SS?

Should I stick with the OLD meter as today I have been using BOTH just to see and this is what I got so far:

AMPS old=536 / new 553
+4.5 old 204 / new 212

About to run and test again but it SEEMS like they are running similar - should I just go with the older meter's numbers to keep the SS consistent? And, what would you like me to enter for her + 4 last night? Wanna keep that SS looking nice :-)
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

With regard to the 20% meter variance, for example:

AMPS 536
with 20% meter variance higher: 643 (+107 which is 20% of 536 + 536)
with 20$ meter variance lower: 429 (-107) which is 20% of 536 - 536)

Understand?
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

BorisV said:
...Should I stick with the OLD meter as today I have been using BOTH just to see and this is what I got so far:

AMPS old=536 / new 553
+4.5 old 204 / new 212

About to run and test again but it SEEMS like they are running similar - should I just go with the older meter's numbers to keep the SS consistent?
I would highly suggest picking one of those meters and using it exclusively :-D Only use the other for a backup OR if low...

Another thing: test the meters on yourself....I think a normal BG for humans is something like 70-120 (lower if you haven't eaten for a while and higher after meals--just like a kitty!!!)
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

BorisV said:
...should I just go with the older meter's numbers to keep the SS consistent? And, what would you like me to enter for her + 4 last night? Wanna keep that SS looking nice :-)
Again, just pick one....refresh my memory: what were the readings you got for +4 last night :)
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

Marje & Kat just to make things MORE interesting - but I'm not going to continue to do this but - just came to test her - used BOTH again - SAME blood from SAME poke on ALL of these readings -


BUT THERE ARE NO CONSISTENCIES because:

TODAY BOTH METERS:

AMPS Old = 536 New = 553 (new read higher)
+4.5 Old = 204 New =212 (new read higher)
+5.5 Old = 209 New = 136 (new read lower)

I think I should stick with the OLD one as it will keep the SS consistent (?) and use the "new" one as a back up. I called ReliOn and they are sending me out some "testing solution"

Kat, as far as poking myself - it's really not going to tell me anything as I only poked myself once and got a like 97 or something. There is no "data" on me....... Don't even suggest that I start a SS on myself! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
And,Kat, as far as that "meter variance" - I thought that pertained to the PET meter vs. the HUMAN meter - and, I think it's actually more like 25-28%? But, hey, what do I know but I've been doing my lessons :-D
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie AMPS Either 553 or 536 take your pick!?????

The meter variance applies to all human meters....I don't know if it applies to pet meters, but have a sneaking suspicion it does.

As for those numbers--again, could be the same number :lol: :lol: :lol: except for the +5: if it makes you feel better, pick the meter that gave you the blue number....and stick to it...put the other one up and use it as a backup...
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

I have updated Tashie's SS using the readings from the meter I've been using all along but have noted variances in sidebar. I also see that she has now had 11 doses of sk.5U - although I strongly feel she did go under 50 on the 13th but I didn't catch her. Not sure how to calculate her BOUNCING in the dosing cycle. If I do increase her (upon your advisement) I would only like to go to a full .5U and keep it very SLOW with her - teeny girl and I think she easily OD's. ;-)

Also IF we do increase, isn't it better to do AM rather than PM?

Thanks!
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

Just stopping by to say hi! :-D

For all the meter hoopla, BJM created a fantastic spreadsheet showing the +/-20% variance (column "range width") that might give you an idea what is "normal" meter variance and what is far off, out of left field. There's also a currently active Think Tank thread on this very topic.

To get scientific on you, there are also a lot of variables regarding the same drop of blood. I learned from one of my human diabetic friends a few years ago when I was watching him test that he always squeezes out and wipes away the first two to three drops and then tests the third drop because the first two drops can become either "concentrated" from squeezing the blood up or "watered down" from pooling in the tip of his finger for a while. He found he got a much more accurate read off of testing the third or fourth batch of blood.** I don't go to that much trouble because it's a lot harder to do that to a cat, but I keep that in mind when I get "off" numbers. What I do when I'm in doubt is re-test. When I'm still in doubt, I re-test again. Then, I take the two numbers that are closest together, add them, and divide by 2 to get the average and that's my "test number."

**I also later discovered they do the same thing when testing your blood for iron levels (like when you go to give blood).
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

KPassa, (sorry, don't know your name :-D ) Thanks so much for this - I have printed the Spreadsheet and now it makes more sense to me. It was just the first time that I've run into anything like this (in my whole one month's experience) and when you are tired and really want to go to bed, it was sort of a jolt! Needless to say, I worried about it all night! Thank you for taking the time to reply to my post - REALLY appreciate it! As a newbie, I seem to be running into every possible wall - maybe it's good to have these things happen early so going forward, I won't wig so much?!!! Think that is possible?

I'm just trying to do the absolute best for her! She is such a little lovely and, if it's even possible, I love her more than ever right now. I have a vet that tells me to "not test her for a week and see how she does......" Now that I am "understanding" more - how could I possibly do that! Now really?

thank you,
Bern
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

Remember seeing this chart awhile back thank you. Good Tashie come on down now.
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

BorisV said:
As a newbie, I seem to be running into every possible wall - maybe it's good to have these things happen early so going forward, I won't wig so much?!!! Think that is possible?

:lol: That's all part of being a n00b! :lol: You're going to encounter things you've never experienced before and that's why this wonderful place exists! Someone somewhere on this board has been through something similar!

Yes, as time goes by, things get easier. You've been going through a crash course in feline diabetes so be proud of how much you've already learned in the last few weeks! The more you learn, the less likely the chance of "unknowns" popping up and throwing you for a loop since they've now become "knowns." :thumbup

BorisV said:
I'm just trying to do the absolute best for her! She is such a little lovely and, if it's even possible, I love her more than ever right now. I have a vet that tells me to "not test her for a week and see how she does......" Now that I am "understanding" more - how could I possibly do that! Now really?

And now you know why we were so insistent about home-testing when you first started out. haha_smiley (I thought it'd be a nice reminder to link to your post about your first (failed) test. ;-) )

~Kay
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

OH! That's not fair! Well, lady - I'll tell you that I get her with one prick and have found that "sweet spot" ........ if I could just learn to inject the insulin! Yeah, yeah, yeah, I'm being a baby! It will happen but I do EVERYTHING else ...... like has daddy EVER done the litter boxes? And now I am doing them daily!
Gess I have to be more careful of my posts as you guys can throw them back at me :-D Yikes!

xx
 
Re: 6/18 TashieAMPS=536/+4.5=204/+6.5=209 DOSING ADVICE

BorisV said:
...if I could just learn to inject the insulin!
How about shaving a small area of her and use that spot for a short while? (you don't want to use the same spot for a long time) Very much easier, I would think, with a long-haired cat. You would probably find there would be little or no fur shots, being as there'd be no fur there :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie PMPS = 587 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Well Kat! Probably as you were typing that to me you were sending me "mental messages" ......... JUST GAVE HER AN INSULIN SHOT!!! ME!!! SO THERE :lol:

Wish she wasn't so darn HIGH again! But she is feeling quite prissy! And Purred for her Daddy - which is huge as she isn't a big Purrrer!
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie PMPS = 587 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Well hey neighbor....you just read my mind....I am blown away :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie PMPS = 587 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Now, the question is ........can I do it AGAIN? :cool: :cool: :cool:
 
Re: 6/18 Tashie PMPS = 587 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

BorisV said:
Now, the question is ........can I do it AGAIN? :cool: :cool: :cool:

Yes, because you're SUPERWOMAN! :-D \M/

What size needles are you using to give shots? I've noticed with Michelangelo (also long-haired), I have an easier time giving him shots with the long needles (12.75 mm) and give him fur shots about 50% of the time with the short needles (8mm). It's actually reverse for my brother (he gives fur shots more often when he uses the long needles). It might help if you bought some of the other needles and tried those out to find out which length might be easiest for you to use.
 
I have updated Tashie's SS using the readings from the meter I've been using all along but have noted variances in sidebar. I also see that she has now had 11 doses of sk.5U - although I strongly feel she did go under 50 on the 13th but I didn't catch her. Not sure how to calculate her BOUNCING in the dosing cycle. If I do increase her (upon your advisement) I would only like to go to a full .5U and keep it very SLOW with her - teeny girl and I think she easily OD's. ;-)

Also IF we do increase, isn't it better to do AM rather than PM?

Thanks!
 
Congrats on giving a shot!!!!

Ok...on the meters....pick one, stick to it. use a backup if you get a really wonky number that you don't expect. For example...she was 100 and the next hour she was 30. I'd definitely recheck that one. I get more concerned over wonky low numbers than when they go up fast. That happens...alot.

I wouldn't increase yet unless you are really wanting to do alot more spot checks. I think she's still really bouncing. I'd let the bounce clear and see what she comes down to; if it clears and she ends up in blue, I might think about a dose increase to .5u since you are concerned about large increases. If she clears and comes down into green again....I'd let it ride and just go with the flow on the bounces.

:-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Bern --

I couldn't figure out what your question was or if it had been answered. When there's a lot of dialogue, it can be hard to dig out the question. If this happens again, can you repeat the question in your last post?

There really isn't a "best" time to raise the dose. In some cases, you don't see the effect of an increase in the same cycle. There can be a delay since you have to wait for the depot to fill.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top