6/18 Simmy AMPS 101; +4=54; +7=73

Meesta Simmy

Member Since 2019
Good morning, y'alls!

Simmy missed the blues by 2 points this morning! Argh, but yay! Might as well consider it a green, but I think that if I retested immediately, it'd be 110 or so. Second reading is always higher it seems.

I think I'm gonna keep him at 1.5 even if it is just short of regulation. He already drops pretty low during the day and evening. What is everyone's thoughts on this?
 
I will respond to some questions here so that I'm not bumping my old threads:

@Tracey&Jones (GA)

No need to apologize and you didn't hijack my thread. In fact, you never have to apologize at all for anything! I am extremely grateful for your support and interest in my fight to give Simmy a good life. This goes for everyone who visits my threads. :bighug:

I am located in Boston, MA USA. I was a Sales Executive for an education company up until March, but I was terminated after I hired someone I reconnected with from high school, whom I didn't really know, and she committed fraudulent sales activities and I reported it. No good deed goes unpunished as they say. The messed up thing is that they kept her! It was a salary dump, most likely. But you know, I'm looking at it as a blessing because I finally got around to home testing and now have the time to really look after Simmy. I'd been giving him the doctor recommended 1 unit and have always been told that his diabetes is well-managed by the vet. :arghh: I've been working nonstop since I was 16, and I'm 39 now, so it's also been a good mental break for me. My plan is to go back to work in September. :D How about you? And @AmandaE , what do you do for work?

@Amy47 Welcome! I'm a newbie myself, but just a little more experienced than you. Are you increasing Mr. T's dosage soon?

@carfurby I see that there was an OTJ party for Furball—How long did it last before he was back on the juice? :(
 
@Meesta Simmy -most likely Friday or Saturday. Will now have to see because we've run into a little pancreatitis flare & had to use cerenia & now mirtazapine so all of it will throw the #s off from what he is normally.
 
@Meesta Simmy -most likely Friday or Saturday. Will now have to see because we've run into a little pancreatitis flare & had to use cerenia & now mirtazapine so all of it will throw the #s off from what he is normally.

I'm sorry to hear that... What are some signs of pancreatitis in cats? I should keep a look out...
 
Nice morning so far! Simmy is getting a little low, time for a little LC snack!? He looks great in green :D

I'm a Geologist, I work in a mine predicting problem areas for mine operations and extraction, It's a good job and I'm happy to have it, thanks for asking :)

Salary dumps are a real thing, it would be unfortunate if you were right and they dumped you for someone who is unethical. Timing is everything and for you and Simmy it kind of worked out! I hope you are able to find a job you'll like in September... in the mean time... definitely enjoy your summer :)
 
Nice morning so far! Simmy is getting a little low, time for a little LC snack!? He looks great in green :D

I'm a Geologist, I work in a mine predicting problem areas for mine operations and extraction, It's a good job and I'm happy to have it, thanks for asking :)

Salary dumps are a real thing, it would be unfortunate if you were right and they dumped you for someone who is unethical. Timing is everything and for you and Simmy it kind of worked out! I hope you are able to find a job you'll like in September... in the mean time... definitely enjoy your summer :)

Yep, gave him a snackity snack! That sounds like a very intense job! Glad you love it, though.
 
I am an accountant in the Oil & Gas sector! Pretty boring for the most part, I put all the financials together for management. I have been working constant since I was about 16 as well, except for a 8 month medical leave. I know the feeling! Time off is good to readjust your perspective a bit.

Yes, salary dumps are a real thing but I am shocked that the unethical person is still working. :eek: And you are right, taking your silver linings where you can.

You know if you squint that AMPS is green :D. Simmy - you keep up the good work! Scritches for the good boy.

I am interested to see when he will earn that reduction!
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry to hear that... What are some signs of pancreatitis in cats? I should keep a look out...

I'm sorry to hear about your job situation :( but happy to hear you see the silver lining! You can get Simmy all taken care of AND enjoy the beautiful summer in MA :)!

There are 2 types, chronic & acute. Most commonly, there is vomiting & abdominal pain, but there can also be lethargy, lack of appetite & diarrhea. It then is either acute or chronic based on whether the testing, including Spec fPL returns to normal or remains elevated. The Spec fPL was developed at Texas A&M & they continue to be a leader in the research & investigation of GI issues. They have a cool website with info & studies going on. I emailed one investigator because they are studying the use of cyclosporine in combo with prednisolone for chronic pancreatitis. In humans it has helped with cases where there is an immune mediated issue going on. They have a really nice website with all kinds of helpful info.

With T's current flare, he started to increase time in a crouching/meatloaf position after eating (preparing for pain) & then he started to look like he was nauseated which included droplets on his nose (kind of like we start to get increased saliva when we get nauseated). By the next day, he would eat less & then today when he approached his bowl, he would smell it & immediately back away because it nauseated him. He gets a distinct nauseated look on his little face. Next would come aversion to his food so I tried Cerenia for nausea first for a few days & that helped but still wasn't allowing him to eat an appropriate amount, so I gave him mirtazapine (will help with nausea but also is an appetite stimulant) so that he will eat. I'm hoping to pull him out before it worsens. When he's had bad episodes (he's only had 2-including when diagnosed) he got to the point where he would just sleep. We needed subQ fluids & multiple meds to get him back to feeling well. He's actually been completely stable since August 2015. The first episode came on quickly & there weren't the subtle issues like nausea. He just became very ill & was actually vomiting & in pain. He is not cat like in that he doesn't go hide when he's sick. He becomes extremely vocal & act more like a dog with pancreatitis. I took him for labs & they do whats called a Spec fPL & sent everything to Texas A&M. They are one of the leading research centers for GI issues. He then was taken to a large U. vet & had an ultrasound & needle aspirate of his pancreas as well as some other testing done. Some vets will immediately do exploratory surgery to examine the entire GI system. My one friend's emergency vet clinic did that & told her the cat either had pancreatitis, IBD, triaditis or cancer. Turns out after the surgery & testing that the cat had triaditis (inflammation of pancreas, intestines & liver) which is not uncommon since the organs are so close in proximity & function.

Thank you for your concern. Keep up the amazing work :D:D!!
 
I am an accounting in the Oil & Gas sector! Pretty boring for the most part, I put all the financials together for management. I have been working constant since I was about 16 as well, except for a 8 month medical leave. I know the feeling! Time off is good to readjust your perspective a bit.

Yes, salary dumps are a real thing but I am shocked that the unethical person is still working. :eek: And you are right, taking your silver linings where you can.

You know if you squint that AMPS is green :D. Simmy - you keep up the good work! Scritches for the good boy.

I am interested to see when he will earn that reduction!

Ah, accounting. That's cool. :D

To be fair, I trained her really well and she did do very well in sales (aside from the fraudulent activity). In fact, she was the best out of the six salespeople on my team. My salary was double hers, so I don't know. Still really crappy though since I have NEVER been fired before... Oh well. :banghead:
 
I'm sorry to hear about your job situation :( but happy to hear you see the silver lining! You can get Simmy all taken care of AND enjoy the beautiful summer in MA :)!

There are 2 types, chronic & acute. Most commonly, there is vomiting & abdominal pain, but there can also be lethargy, lack of appetite & diarrhea. It then is either acute or chronic based on whether the testing, including Spec fPL returns to normal or remains elevated. The Spec fPL was developed at Texas A&M & they continue to be a leader in the research & investigation of GI issues. They have a cool website with info & studies going on. I emailed one investigator because they are studying the use of cyclosporine in combo with prednisolone for chronic pancreatitis. In humans it has helped with cases where there is an immune mediated issue going on. They have a really nice website with all kinds of helpful info.

With T's current flare, he started to increase time in a crouching/meatloaf position after eating (preparing for pain) & then he started to look like he was nauseated which included droplets on his nose (kind of like we start to get increased saliva when we get nauseated). By the next day, he would eat less & then today when he approached his bowl, he would smell it & immediately back away because it nauseated him. He gets a distinct nauseated look on his little face. Next would come aversion to his food so I tried Cerenia for nausea first for a few days & that helped but still wasn't allowing him to eat an appropriate amount, so I gave him mirtazapine (will help with nausea but also is an appetite stimulant) so that he will eat. I'm hoping to pull him out before it worsens. When he's had bad episodes (he's only had 2-including when diagnosed) he got to the point where he would just sleep. We needed subQ fluids & multiple meds to get him back to feeling well. He's actually been completely stable since August 2015. The first episode came on quickly & there weren't the subtle issues like nausea. He just became very ill & was actually vomiting & in pain. He is not cat like in that he doesn't go hide when he's sick. He becomes extremely vocal & act more like a dog with pancreatitis. I took him for labs & they do whats called a Spec fPL & sent everything to Texas A&M. They are one of the leading research centers for GI issues. He then was taken to a large U. vet & had an ultrasound & needle aspirate of his pancreas as well as some other testing done. Some vets will immediately do exploratory surgery to examine the entire GI system. My one friend's emergency vet clinic did that & told her the cat either had pancreatitis, IBD, triaditis or cancer. Turns out after the surgery & testing that the cat had triaditis (inflammation of pancreas, intestines & liver) which is not uncommon since the organs are so close in proximity & function.

Thank you for your concern. Keep up the amazing work :D:D!!

Thank you. I'm still really pissed about the entire situation because I invested my heart and soul into the company and was instrumental in the creation and launch of our sister company and then just like that, I was unceremoniously dismissed for discovering and reporting an issue. What do you do for work? Do you have someone helping you with kitty?

Damn, that's crazy!!! But I am very happy that Mr. T has such a devoted mommy like you to take care of him and that there are top labs and research centers near you. It's so tough to identify signs because cats are so relaxed and sleep so much to begin with—it's like how do you identify lethargy? Simmy is especially melty so whenever I put him on my lap, he just sort of melts into position and I wonder if he's feeling sick or he's just ultra chill.
 
Thank you. I'm still really pissed about the entire situation because I invested my heart and soul into the company and was instrumental in the creation and launch of our sister company and then just like that, I was unceremoniously dismissed for discovering and reporting an issue. What do you do for work? Do you have someone helping you with kitty?

Damn, that's crazy!!! But I am very happy that Mr. T has such a devoted mommy like you to take care of him and that there are top labs and research centers near you. It's so tough to identify signs because cats are so relaxed and sleep so much to begin with—it's like how do you identify lethargy? Simmy is especially melty so whenever I put him on my lap, he just sort of melts into position and I wonder if he's feeling sick or he's just ultra chill.

:( Sorry to hear that! I'm sure with your experience you will find something better!! I do independent consulting work now & my husband helps with T as well so that makes it a bit easier. .

Your Simmy is a lucky man as well!

As far as lethargy is concerned, I will make some noise near him & if he's just sleepy he responds vs if he's lethargic he won't respond, or its a very slow or delayed response. When he gets like this it reminds me of someone who's had a concussion & the protocol is you keep checking on them to make sure they are ok.....I feel bad, but I want to make sure he's responsive but sleepy vs lethargic.
 
Back
Top