6/18 Ruby AMPS 114/+3 72/+5 157/+8 127/PMPS 85/+2 116

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on Ruby the Tiger. :cat:

Jumped onto the narrow edge of the bathroom sink yesterday to drink from the faucet. Have not seen Ruby do this since she was very young! ✅
Good eating yesterday, nibbles this morning but that's ok. ✅
Low blue start this morning. ✅

Today is Ruby's 8th day on prednisolone.

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties, especially Mr. Darcy, Miss Minnie, Miss Butters and Miss Dolly. It's Friday! :woot::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, Katherine. A relief to hear that your girl is eating and acting well. I probably missed this earlier but how many days do you have to have Ruby on the prednisolone and what specific medical issue is this for? I assume it is what is keeping her numbers up a little (steroid).
 
Good morning, Katherine. A relief to hear that your girl is eating and acting well. I probably missed this earlier but how many days do you have to have Ruby on the prednisolone and what specific medical issue is this for? I assume it is what is keeping her numbers up a little (steroid).
Hi Summer, prednisolone is a steroid used to quell the inflammation causing her small cell lymphoma, a cancer of the small intestines. One of its side effects is diabetes. Not all cats get diabetes while on steroids, but it can exacerbate existing diabetes (Ruby's issue right now) or push a pre-diabetic cat into full on diabetes. Many cats arrive here on the FDMB due to steroid induced diabetes. We're waiting on a consult with an oncologist in a few weeks, and it's then that we will be starting her chemotherapy with a pill called chlorambucil. I don't know how long Ruby will be on the steroids, as it really depends on whether or not we can achieve remission from the cancer (fingers crossed!). Once we can see through ultrasound that the inflammation in the intestines has diminished from the treatment, we can probably taper down the dose of steroids but she'll be on the chemo pill for probably the rest of her life to keep the cancer at bay. Hopefully I can maintain control of the effect of the steroids on her BGs with insulin, but diabetic remission may not be a possibility anymore. We shall see how her little pancreas does through all of this.
 
Last edited:
Hi Summer, prednisolone is a steroid used to quell the inflammation causing her small cell lymphoma, a cancer of the small intestines. One of its side effects is diabetes. Not all cats get diabetes while on steroids, but it can exacerbate existing diabetes (Ruby's issue right now) or push a pre-diabetic cat into full on diabetes. Many cats arrive here on the FDMB due to steroid induced diabetes. We're waiting on a consult with an oncologist in a few weeks, and it's then that we will be starting her chemo therapy with is a pill called chlorambucil. I don't know how long Ruby will be on the steroids, as it really depends on whether or not we can achieve remission from the cancer (fingers crossed!). Once we can see through ultrasound that the inflammation in the intestines has diminished from the treatment, we can probably taper down the dose of steroids but she'll be on the chemo pill for probably the rest of her life to keep the cancer at bay. Hopefully I can maintain control of the effect of the steroids on her BGs with insulin, but diabetic remission may not be a possibility anymore. We shall see how her little pancreas does through all of this.
Good morning Katherine, so happy Ruby gave you a blue. Hope you got that well deserved sleep. Thinking of you both and sending loving prayers. Have a good day. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Katherine, so happy Ruby gave you a blue. Hope you got that well deserved sleep. Thinking of you both and sending loving prayers. Have a good day. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Adrienne, I think about you and Dolly every day as we struggle with the pred as I know that Dolly's diabetes is steroid induced as well. I can only hope that I can get Ruby to have good numbers like Dolly's once the steroid treatment is done. Hugs to you and your pretty pretty girl. :bighug:
 
Adrienne, I think about you and Dolly every day as we struggle with the pred as I know that Dolly's diabetes is steroid induced as well. I can only hope that I can get Ruby to have good numbers like Dolly's once the steroid treatment is done. Hugs to you and your pretty pretty girl. :bighug:
Thanks Katherine. I know this may sound premature and wishful thinking but I have such positive feelings about Ruby making it through the steroids and chemotherapy and eventual remission. That’s what I believe and pray for. Sweet Ruby-do surf safely, listen to your amazing mom. Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Katherine. I know this may sound premature and wishful thinking but I have such positive feelings about Ruby making it through the steroids and chemotherapy and eventual remission. That’s what I believe and pray for. Sweet Ruby-do surf safely, listen to your amazing mom. Hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
You are the sweetest, Adrienne. Ruby-do sends you a gentle headbutt as thanks. :bighug:
 
Hey Katherine, Ruby is looking good!!!!
Me and Tyler just did a dance seeing those greens, Staying in some blues is still good , you are doing a great job staying on top of that

I'm happy to hear that Ruby has jumped up on the bathroom sink
Maybe she wanted you to brush her teeth :p
Have a good day and kisses for Ruby ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Summer, prednisolone is a steroid used to quell the inflammation causing her small cell lymphoma, a cancer of the small intestines. One of its side effects is diabetes. Not all cats get diabetes while on steroids, but it can exacerbate existing diabetes (Ruby's issue right now) or push a pre-diabetic cat into full on diabetes. Many cats arrive here on the FDMB due to steroid induced diabetes. We're waiting on a consult with an oncologist in a few weeks, and it's then that we will be starting her chemotherapy with a pill called chlorambucil. I don't know how long Ruby will be on the steroids, as it really depends on whether or not we can achieve remission from the cancer (fingers crossed!). Once we can see through ultrasound that the inflammation in the intestines has diminished from the treatment, we can probably taper down the dose of steroids but she'll be on the chemo pill for probably the rest of her life to keep the cancer at bay. Hopefully I can maintain control of the effect of the steroids on her BGs with insulin, but diabetic remission may not be a possibility anymore. We shall see how her little pancreas does through all of this.
I'm sorry that I had forgotten she was recently diagnosed with SCL. Sometimes, I get lost in all of the medical conditions so many cats on this site have. I need to start taking notes. One whammy after another for you. Her glucose looks very good considering she is on a steroid. My apologies for forgetting. I do remember saying that my Mom was recently diagnosed with lymphoma too but lost track that it was your Ruby. Always, prayers for your girl and you. I have another question I want to ask you but will send it in a private message.
 
I'm sorry that I had forgotten she was recently diagnosed with SCL. Sometimes, I get lost in all of the medical conditions so many cats on this site have. I need to start taking notes. One whammy after another for you. Her glucose looks very good considering she is on a steroid. My apologies for forgetting. I do remember saying that my Mom was recently diagnosed with lymphoma too but lost track that it was your Ruby. Always, prayers for your girl and you. I have another question I want to ask you but will send it in a private message.
No worries, I don't expect everyone to remember everything. Susie's given you quite the day!
 
Doses with green nadirs get 10 cycles with TR. 65 of last night is a pretty good nadir. How about doing the pred timing experiment tomorrow, then think about that increase. One change at a time.
 
Doses with green nadirs get 10 cycles with TR. 65 of last night is a pretty good nadir. How about doing the pred timing experiment tomorrow, then think about that increase. One change at a time.
I get so worried so can't see the forest for the trees. Thank you for the sensible advice as always. :)
 
Oh brother don't even tell me. She needs a dental at some point for her raw meat breath! :facepalm:
Lol too funny raw meat breath.Tyler will not let me use a toothbrush at all. So after he had his dental someone here suggested a toothpaste that you can just let them lick it and it will still help
I has never effected his BG
So now I just let him lick it first and then my vet said to just put some on a gauze pad and rub it along his gum line and teeth.
He's not crazy about it but too bad :cat: I do it everyday now the best I can
I get my finger and lift up on his upper lip and rub with the gauze pad and then get my finger and try and push down on his lower lip to get in there
If you ever want the name of it just ask me, it comes in all different flavors
 
Lol too funny raw meat breath.Tyler will not let me use a toothbrush at all. So after he had his dental someone here suggested a toothpaste that you can just let them lick it and it will still help
I has never effected his BG
So now I just let him lick it first and then my vet said to just put some on a gauze pad and rub it along his gum line and teeth.
He's not crazy about it but too bad :cat: I do it everyday now the best I can
I get my finger and lift up on his upper lip and rub with the gauze pad and then get my finger and try and push down on his lower lip to get in there
If you ever want the name of it just ask me, it comes in all different flavors
You sent the name of it to me before, I looked at a lot of them. I do occasionally rub the outsides of her teeth with a piece of wet gauze. I know her vets have said she has mild gingivitis but nothing else concerning.
 
Lol too funny raw meat breath.Tyler will not let me use a toothbrush at all. So after he had his dental someone here suggested a toothpaste that you can just let them lick it and it will still help
I has never effected his BG
So now I just let him lick it first and then my vet said to just put some on a gauze pad and rub it along his gum line and teeth.
He's not crazy about it but too bad :cat: I do it everyday now the best I can
I get my finger and lift up on his upper lip and rub with the gauze pad and then get my finger and try and push down on his lower lip to get in there
If you ever want the name of it just ask me, it comes in all different flavors
I use an additive in Dolly’s water. I have been using it for the last 4-5 years and Dolly’s dental checks, not too many teeth left, have been perfect. No gingivitis or receding of her gums. Her teeth stay clean gums have stayed in great shape for the last 4 years.

upload_2021-6-19_15-44-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-19_15-44-46.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-19_15-44-46.jpeg
    64.2 KB · Views: 179
I use an additive in Dolly’s water. I have been using it for the last 4-5 years and Dolly’s dental checks, not too many teeth left, have been perfect. No gingivitis or receding of her gums. Her teeth stay clean gums have stayed in great shape for the last 4 years.

View attachment 61312
I'll have to try this also thanks Adrienne, I wonder if you can mix it in with food and add water to the food which I always do
 
I'll have to try this also thanks Adrienne, I wonder if you can mix it in with food and add water to the food which I always do
You put ABOUT 4 tsp in a gallon jug. I don’t think putting it in food would work. I got it at Amazon. Before using it Dolly had a few major dentals where she lost a lot of teeth. She hasn’t had a regular cleaning in four years and every vet that sees her says her mouth looks great and doesn’t need one.
Hope you and Ashley are managing and you “both” hopefully got to see your dad this week, hopefully tomorrow as well. Take care Diane. Tyler give lots of snuggles. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top