6/18 Peyton PMPS 132,+2.5 86,+7 64,+9.5 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
Oh no! I believe I just shot my first fur shot :(
I assume I shouldn't shoot again in case he did get some of it?
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146 FUR SHOT???

Hi guys .. oh bummer on the furshot! But yes you are right, no extra shot just in case some did get in .. That sure is a nice start! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146 FUR SHOT???

I was trying to move around the injection site a little so I don't shoot the same spot all the time. I know where NOT to shoot now :(
Thank you
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146 FUR SHOT???

Elise, we did get a much better nights rest. I waited until 1:00 to go to bed so I could test a couple time and then only had to get up at 3:00 and 6:00. I'm ready to take on the day! Lol
I just hate that I shot a fur shot this morning. Hopefully that won't mess us up too bad.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146 FUR SHOT???

I've had fur shots twice for sure. Many times I'm just not sure and then the numbers show that I was wrong. Peyton is doing really well.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146 FUR SHOT???

everybody has the dreaded fur shot now and then. ya just keep on marching - peyton will recover from it before long.

enjoy your day! I'd get a test maybe +4-5ish and if it still looks like the insulin didn't get in, ie, the numbers haven't gone down in a nice curve, i'd pass on the rest of the cycle tests until pmps. no point in poking if he didn't get his insulin this morning. you can save a strip and go out while you can! do you have another gymnastics meet for your niece? ;-)
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64

He's going down quick today! I have to leave to go back to work in 15 minutes so after the last test I gave him some of his regular 4% food. I will test him again before I leave and give him some more food or leave some out for him. Hopefully I can run back by about 1:00 to make sure he is ok. Time to hunt all my other kitties so Peyton can have the room to himself :)
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54 HELP!!!

I have him LC food after the 64 reading and he's still going down. I have to leave for work. Should I leave out a higher card food under 10%?
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54 HELP!!!

You can leave out some MC or some LC with some HC mixed in. I would try to see if you can be a little late to work today and try to get him up into the 70s maybe, before you leave. Is there anyone else who can check in on him and hopefully test him?
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54 HELP!!!

You can always leave higher carb food down if you are leaving and can't test. I'd leave medium-high carb down

It's safer to leave some HC food down and deal with the possible high numbers later than it is to have them go too low.

Remember our motto...Better too high for a day than too low for a minute!

Looks like you have your answer to whether you gave a furshot this morning too! I can't tell you how many times we've seen someone say they gave a furshot and then their cat went low!
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54 HELP!!!

Dis you leave out the higher carb food? It's is always safer to bump them up than let them go too low. Always have on hand something that he really loves that higher carb so you know he will eat when you go out. For Tess it's the MaxCat in savory sauce w/ venison or duck, 8%.

Did you think you gave a furshot because of the smell? When you adjust the dose a drop can run down on the barrel and then get on the fur. I always put a tiny (1/4") square of paper towel over the needle to catch any drips as I dial in the dose. Toss it before you shoot and no insulin smell on the fur.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55

...and this is the perfect example of why we never reshoot when we do a fur shot (or think we've done a fur shot). You just never know how much juice actually does make it in!

I see it looks like Peyton is surfing....stay safe, little guy!!
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55

I'm so sorry to leave everyone waiting! I ran out the door so fast to work that I forgot my phone. I just made it back and he's at 55. Now I have to leave again! Heart attack!!! I have to take my soon to be step son to meet his Mom an hour away. Should I just take Peyton along for the ride???

Here's what I did:
AMPS 146
+2.5 64 fed him his regular 4% food
+3 54 fed him 8% food and left out another bowl
+4.75 55 fed 8% food
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55

How would Peyton do with the ride....would he be really stressed?

You could give him a decent sized serving of HC to boost him up if you think the ride would be too stressful.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55

He would probably be fine but I don't want him to think he's headed to the vet. I would be the stressed one. Lol
I have him 8% and am about to test him. I will leave food out with him again
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55

Some cats ride well..others don't so taking him with you is an option if you don't think he'll be too upset with it. Most cats go higher when they're stressed (China goes lower..she has to be "different")

You could leave out some high carb food for him too....he seemed to do OK for almost 2 hours on the 8%, so that's something to think about too.

You can always carb him up and deal with the higher numbers later (leave out the gravy food)
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55

If you have anything higher carb, that would definitely bump his numbers up. He does seem to be surfing nicely with the 8%, higher carb would just give you a little more "security".
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55,+5.25 73

He went up to 73 with the 8% carb so I left him some more out. He's probably already eaten it. I decided I didn't wNt to stress him out just in case. He was so comfy in his new bed. This is giving me experience in how I will deal with this when my other job starts back in august.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55,+5.25 73

Looking good Julie. I think you can take your 911 off from the first post of the day. You are becoming quite good at managing low numbers. :cool:
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton AMPS 146,+2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55,+5.25 73

before you go back to work, i'd get a timed feeder and practice with it. You can either do that, or freeze catsicles that could be left out. We had the PetSafe 5 Compartment feeder and i didn't have any trouble with it at all. The complaints online were about it not always rotating properly, but we found that if you made certain it was fully seated in the base unit and did one rotation (press a button) it always turned and opened completely. I bought ours at our local PetCo.

With that particular feeder, you can set times for 4 openings after you've left. We decided by punkin's preshot number what we would expect for that cycle, and leave food and set times for when it needed to open. Sometimes one of us would drive back home, test him, reset the times and refilled the compartments. That got us past his nadir, opening every 1/2 hr or so. It's what you would do if you were home. You decide what combination of low carb or high carb food to put in the compartments.

There is a small compartment under the tray for a blue ice, but one didn't come with it and i'm honestly not certain what would fit in it. it's pretty small. i just put the food in the tray compartments and put one ice cube on top of each compartment - figured it would keep the food cold and also keep it from getting crusty when it sat out. People assured me that it wouldn't hurt for the food to be sitting out all day.

The catsicles are frozen cubes of food that you've mixed with water. You can use ice cube trays or muffin tins, and also do various carb combos.

With both of these, you want to try them out while you're home and not rushed so you can be confident they will be eaten about when you hope for. The autofeeders are noisy when they rotate. punkin knew when ours was going to go off (at pm +3 every night) and would sit about 10 feet away and wait for the noise. As soon as it went, he'd leap for the feeder.

If Peyton will eat a solid frozen ice cube immediately when it's left out, that's not going to be helpful if you want him to be eating it in 2 hrs! The muffins thaw more slowly than the cubes, just because they are bigger, so some people leave a combination of the two. One of my cats won't eat cold food at all, so if she'd been diabetic it wouldn't have worked for her.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton +2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55,+5.25 73,+9.25 119

Wow! What a day!!! I left Peyton at home with 8% carb food while I was gone. While out of town to take my "stepson" to his mom I stopped at a gas station for a snack and when I got back in my car it wouldn't crank! Ugh!! Luckily some people helped me and we finally got it started. Then I was headed back into town to the auto store but needed gas. Doe doe brain me forgets and turns the car off...won't crank again...errr! Luckily another kind person helped me. I made it to the auto store and they said I needed new terminals for my battery and sent me across the street. While across the street they say they don't have time to do it and to come back at 7:30 in the morning :(
During the ordeal I got my sister to come by and check on Peyton and she said it didn't look like he had eaten much of the 8% food I left for him. Since I would be home to check him soon but worried about his sugar level I got her to feed him some of his 4% food. Thankful she could come by and make sure he was ok. I'm finally home and my boy made it just fine without me here.
Thank you Julie for the information on the electric feeder. I will definitely purchase it and make sure it's working. Peyton does not care for cold food either. I add hot water to all his refrigerated food. Helps his kidneys too :)
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton +2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55,+5.25 73,+9.25 119

If your battery terminals are corroded, you can pour Coke on them and it'll clean them up! Or baking soda and water will work too!

Once they're clean, make sure they're tight and you may save yourself some money

Good boy Peyton! Surfing safely for your mama while she was out fighting with the car! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton +2.5 64,+3 54,+4.75 55,+5.25 73,+9.25 119

Unfortunately one of the terminals is cracked. I'm just glad it isn't anything expensive :)
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton PMPS 132

Your great cycle is transitioning into a good night one. I hope it continues but not too low please so that you can get some well earned sleep.
 
Re: 6/18 Peyton PMPS 132

Thanks Elise! Today was the first day I have had since this journey began that I didn't feel like I was having an anxiety attack. I was telling my sister yesterday that I thought I may need medication. It's amazing what a difference a day makes. I have to learn to focus on the moment and not what may or may not happen in the future. My new motto is "WE GOT THIS!"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top