6/18 Neko AMPS 104 PMPS 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday, just a two colour day.

6/17 Recap:
AMPS 111 +4 164 +9 69 :mrgreen: +10 76 :mrgreen:
PMPS 90 :mrgreen: +3 130 +9 65 :mrgreen:

Neko seems to have taken up the habit of nadirs in the 60's on this dose. Not my favorite thing to see when I'm about to head out the door for rowing in the AM. I gave some Gravy Lovers which would keep her safe, but I think I'm going to have to get in some alternates to experiment with when Neko gives me a chance during the day like yesterday. It would be nice to find something better quality, maybe a higher MC. Next time in the fuds store I'll see what I can find.

As I mentioned last night, I have booked Neko for an acupuncture vetty appointment next Tuesday. It'll be interesting as the vets in that clinic are a lot more into also using alternative therapies. And the clinic owner is a rower. :cool: In the mean time, the gabapentin experiment continues, but we are trying a higher dose for a week starting today. The lower dose had minimal improvement, maybe in Neko's ease of movement, such as lying down and getting up. If I don't see more changes, I don't think we'll continue the gabapentin past the week.

Overall Neko doesn't seem too bad, but she's definitely not as mobile as she was just the end of last year and I'd like to try what I can to see if I can get that back. She still is a lot more interactive with us and more playful since she started the buprenorphine, so at least that is doing it's job.
 
Re: 6/18 Neko AMPS 104 +4 242

I hope it works but if not, my friend has had success with adequan for her cat. I'd exhaust the other possibilities first as well before bringing out the big guns. The vets I have asked say it is okay to use long term though.
 
Re: 6/18 Neko AMPS 104 +4 242

Elise - Neko is on fish oil, a glucosamine/chondroitin supplement, and cartrophen (Canadian equiv to Adequan which is a US product) already. I'm hoping the acupuncture can work as I'd rather do that than meds.
 
Re: 6/18 Neko AMPS 104 +4 242

I hope you'll be able to tell soon if the Gabapentin is helping Neko. Hopefully the acupuncture will help Neko.

By the way, your recap for yesterday says +4 14. :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 6/18 Neko AMPS 104 +4 242 +7.5 170

Hi Wendy,
I hope that the accupuncture will be successful and that it will really help Neko. We'll be staying tuned!

Hope you had a good row today. Our bike ride was through blackfly territory. Nothing like trying to eat lunch through your headnet!!

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
PMPS 114
Slow day winding down to blue. I spent part of the afternoon working in the solarium (with kitties) on a sewing project. Still got lots to do, under the gun to get it done tonight. I'm modifying a team uniform for DH. His "simple" rowing gear sewing projects always turn into more work than I originally planned for. :roll:

@Elise - I've had a cat before with really bad arthritis so I knew what to try, although I didn't try acupuncture with him. Neko's a much calmer kitty than he was. The side effects of acromegaly are not nice. :sad: She's also on daily bupe and I'll probably keep that up as it's made quite a difference.

@Carla - Fixed the recap. :oops: Me too on pain meds working soon.

@Ella - I'm hoping for acupuncture too. I've heard of it helping a number of kitties. Not a lot of options left if it doesn't. Row this morning was a bit shorter. Water was rough and I was in a double so we were banged around some. Plus most of the people are going to the regatta so they were tapering down this week to save it for the weekend. Ugh on your bugs!
 
Neko looks good in blues as well as greens! Hope that the new dose of gab will work better for her. And good luck with the accupuncture, it is very interesting how some vets are now getting more into the alternative healing methods as opposed to Rx scrips. I hope it all helps Neko feel better because it does hurt when we can see signs of aging in our kitties; heck, it hurts to see signs of me aging-what am I saying.. :roll:
 
:shock: on the nadirs in the 60s. They are nice to see once in a while, but as a steady diet, that could get a little wearing on the bean's blood pressure! Neko, mid 70s-80 are a much better place to hang out. The 60s are so last year! ;-)

I hope the acupuncture helps. It's so hard to see them in pain and not be able to do anything to alleviate it. I'm sure the fact that the owner is a rower gives you confidence in the establishment. If you share that passion, perhaps you think alike in other areas!

BTW, a two color day is just lovely, in my opinion - when the two colors are blue and green! ;-)
 
Hi Wendy!
Very nice blues and greens in Neko's ss. I hope the acupuncture helps. That would be something impossible to try on Juno :roll:. Today, while reading more carefully one of your comments, I realized that I should have bought the fish oil from anchovy or herring, and not the salmon one :roll:. Is there any particular reason why you are not fond of the salmon type?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top