His first test (little blood sample) this am was 565 so I poked and tested again and got a 445 (from a lot more blood sample). The couple of times that I had to test twice because of the first high number, the first test always had a very little amount of blood. The second time, I made sure that there was plenty of blood and always, always, the test with the most blood tested lower. Has this been your experience?
Anyway, I couldn't help myself giving him 1.2u this morning.
Sounds good, Cindi. I'd watch at nadir - the other cycle on 6/16 gave you a lowish nadir. I don't understand his amps numbers unless they are a delayed response from the low the am cycle the previous day. (he does seem big on delayed bounces or flat cycles later than we might expect)
Wow Merlin - you sure know how to keep us all guessing!
Cindi - I'm wondering if you might be seeing a pattern with Merlin of a "high before a break." I see this with Eddie. When he's having flat bounce cycles, sometimes he will have a high peak just before he decides to break a bounce and come back down into good numbers - sometimes at breakneck speed.
Hmmmm...interesting thought Jen. So if that is the case, then i should have stayed strong and gave him 1u this morning. I can't imagine that this huge of a drop is any good for him, right? Shall I try the 1u again no matter what?
Will test again in about 20 minutes. **Update - +6.5 - 54
I know I struggled with Eddie on ProZinc to put on the patience pants and not increase when he was flat (and usually failed at the patience game).
I do think it may be worth a try with Merlin to pull up those patience pants and hold the dose to see if he does need less insulin. I think a lot of the ho-hum cycles you're seeing on the decreased dose reflect those bouncy hormones at work. One thing might be to hold on to the dose for 6 cycles. The thought process behind 6 cycles is that some cats can take up to 72 hours to clear out the bouncy hormones before you can see what a dose "really" is capable of doing. Merlin doesn't really seem to bounce for 6 cycles, but he does sometimes seem to bounce for two or three. After holding for 6 cycles (unless you get a low number that tells you to reduce), you'd basically look at what Merlin's lowest nadirs were, and if they were good - that tells you the dose is good. If they are higher than you'd like, you go back up to 1.2. What do you think?
Yep - sounds good. Patience pants are now on and we will start with 1u tonight for 6 cycles. I am anxious to see how things go. Something does tell me that he should do better with a lower dose than 1.2u. Thanks for the explanation.