His first test (little blood sample) this am was 565 so I poked and tested again and got a 445 (from a lot more blood sample). The couple of times that I had to test twice because of the first high number, the first test always had a very little amount of blood. The second time, I made sure that there was plenty of blood and always, always, the test with the most blood tested lower. Has this been your experience?
Anyway, I couldn't help myself giving him 1.2u this morning.
Sounds good, Cindi. I'd watch at nadir - the other cycle on 6/16 gave you a lowish nadir. I don't understand his amps numbers unless they are a delayed response from the low the am cycle the previous day. (he does seem big on delayed bounces or flat cycles later than we might expect)
Wow Merlin - you sure know how to keep us all guessing!
Cindi - I'm wondering if you might be seeing a pattern with Merlin of a "high before a break." I see this with Eddie. When he's having flat bounce cycles, sometimes he will have a high peak just before he decides to break a bounce and come back down into good numbers - sometimes at breakneck speed.
Hmmmm...interesting thought Jen. So if that is the case, then i should have stayed strong and gave him 1u this morning. I can't imagine that this huge of a drop is any good for him, right? Shall I try the 1u again no matter what?
Will test again in about 20 minutes. **Update - +6.5 - 54
I know I struggled with Eddie on ProZinc to put on the patience pants and not increase when he was flat (and usually failed at the patience game).
I do think it may be worth a try with Merlin to pull up those patience pants and hold the dose to see if he does need less insulin. I think a lot of the ho-hum cycles you're seeing on the decreased dose reflect those bouncy hormones at work. One thing might be to hold on to the dose for 6 cycles. The thought process behind 6 cycles is that some cats can take up to 72 hours to clear out the bouncy hormones before you can see what a dose "really" is capable of doing. Merlin doesn't really seem to bounce for 6 cycles, but he does sometimes seem to bounce for two or three. After holding for 6 cycles (unless you get a low number that tells you to reduce), you'd basically look at what Merlin's lowest nadirs were, and if they were good - that tells you the dose is good. If they are higher than you'd like, you go back up to 1.2. What do you think?
Yep - sounds good. Patience pants are now on and we will start with 1u tonight for 6 cycles. I am anxious to see how things go. Something does tell me that he should do better with a lower dose than 1.2u. Thanks for the explanation.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.