6/18 Jessi AMPS 286 +1 219, +1.5 153 +2.25 82, 65 +3 60 +4.75 55, +5 155, fine dosing question

Stefania S

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-259-6-251-pmps-258-3-201-6-247-9-267.278646/

Hi all,

I have a feeling we'll be seeing some blues today, hopefully not greens yet, I'm not ready :eek::p

[edit: we're already into blues!! nose diving!]

I could use some support in case we do go down too low too quickly. I'm already feeding the curve at +1 will keep doing so to smooth it out. Nice and easy is what we need right now...

A question about dosing. I've been having trouble lately dosing such small amounts. It takes me like 10 minutes just to decide to leave that extra drop in or push it out, to have daylight above the line or not. The biggest issue for me is that upper guideline which is always slightly different with every syringe. If it weren't for that it wouldn't be as much of a problem.

The specific question is a little hard to explain, but I'll do my best. I use the Microfine BD 0.3ml syringes. At the top of the syringe just above or right at where the uppermost line is (because we know how variable this is), there is a transparent kind of inner lip, let's call it, that disappears when you hold it up to the light. I notice that often that uppermost line is lined up with that, not the top of the syringe. So it gets confusing if I need to be counting that as extra insulin or not.

When I hold it up to the light, it looks like a significant amount of extra insulin above the line, when I hold it down in front of me with light shining from in front, rather than from in back, it looks like that inner lip marks a space where there is either less or no extra insulin. Does this make sense? It's hard to describe this and I don't think I can capture this with a photo.

Because of this vanishing inner lip, I can't decide if to measure as if it isn't there or as if it is and the difference can be significant.

I have looked at the Syringe info page many times and it doesn't help me understand this particular detail. Let me know if what I'm saying doesn't read well and I'll try to explain better.

Thanks so much as always!:cat:
 
Last edited:
65

Feeding MC but it's not bringing her up fast enough. Libre reads lower, I know, so figuring that in.

Fed 4 or 5 teaspoons of cosmo soup 12% carb so far, maybe it's too low in carbs

might move on to a 16%
 
Last edited:
feeding 16% carb food

maybe these foods have too much liquid in them.

soon I'll have to move onto much higher carbs, trying to wait
 
65

Feeding MC but it's not bringing her up fast enough. Libre reads lower, I know, so figuring that in.

Fed 4 or 5 teaspoons of cosmo soup 12% carb so far, maybe it's too low in carbs

might move on to a 16%
Sorry, I was out. She is in normal numbers. The Libre does read much lower. Stacy & Ivy got a reading of 45 on the Libre but 100 points higher with a regular meter!

How long since the 12% carbs and whats the latest reading?
 
Last edited:
This stuff is very liquid, so I don't think it's filling her and she loves the taste. It wasn't making the numbers budge at all so I did give more. I have never used this one before.

I did give a little of the 16% which is also a soup so again very watery.

She is now at 63 on the Libre. It was 56 at + 3.5. I won't feed anymore unless it goes lower.

It's hard to know how much to give when it's a new food. :(
 
oh, sorry I forgot to say I fed MC at around +2.5 and kept giving her a spoon or two (of the soupy stuff) over the course of a half hour or 45 minutes. Then I gave her a spoon of HC 16% at about +3.25

we're almost at +4 and I'm getting a read of 75
 
back down at 55 again

wish I could do an ear prick, but if I try she'll run and hide and then I won't even be able to get a read with the sensor without terrorizing her

@Bandit's Mom
 
upload_2023-6-18_11-41-49.jpeg


Numbers are a bit bouncy. I guess this is probably a Libre thing. :rolleyes:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-18_11-41-49.jpeg
    upload_2023-6-18_11-41-49.jpeg
    22.1 KB · Views: 132
I was thinking that just now. ;) Maybe you were sending me telepathic thoughts...then again, you and others have been telling me that for a while. :p I'll take the plunge and follow TR. I don't want to reduce just yet.

I guess the carbs are kicking in, we're at 155 at +6.5 It took a while for them to have an effect though.

Hopefully I didn't give too many to make her go to high too soon.
 
I used the BD Ultrafine syringes, with the same type of problem with the zero lines sometimes having daylight between them and the top of the barrel. For a while, on badly marked syringes, Neko's dose was under the zero line. :rolleyes: I solved the problem by using digital calipers. You can push in the plunger to see how it lines up with with plastic ring at the top around the zero line. Where the plunger stops is the actual zero line. Dosing with calipers
 
I used the BD Ultrafine syringes, with the same type of problem with the zero lines sometimes having daylight between them and the top of the barrel. For a while, on badly marked syringes, Neko's dose was under the zero line. :rolleyes: I solved the problem by using digital calipers. You can push in the plunger to see how it lines up with with plastic ring at the top around the zero line. Where the plunger stops is the actual zero line. Dosing with calipers

I have two different types of pushes, the one I used to do was soft so the plunger would stop at that clear inner ring. Then I realized I probably wasn’t getting all the insulin out that way so I started pushing harder so the plunger squeezes past that inner ring, probably getting one or two drops extra out. Maybe I should go back to the gentler push because then I can dose based on that inner ring which is what the uppermost guideline seems to be more or less lining up with.

With the digital calipers how can you be sure you have the right measurement? And how can you see that against the monitor? I have a hard enough time seeing the lines against the day sky.
 
I used the BD Ultrafine syringes, with the same type of problem with the zero lines sometimes having daylight between them and the top of the barrel. For a while, on badly marked syringes, Neko's dose was under the zero line. :rolleyes: I solved the problem by using digital calipers. You can push in the plunger to see how it lines up with with plastic ring at the top around the zero line. Where the plunger stops is the actual zero line. Dosing with calipers

I too used calipers. Even the good syringes I used were often off and lines crooked .


I looked on Amazon.it (Italian Amazon) for Harbor Freight calipers but I don't find them. Any other recommendations for specific brands? There are a lot of them but I have no way of knowing how good they are. I guess I could order them from the US but sometimes the customs taxes can be hefty.

Are BD ultra fine the same as BD microfine? 0.3ml here in Italy
 
I don't think the BD Microfine and Ultrafine are exactly the same, but have the same issue.

Any other recommendations for specific brands?
I didn't use Harbour Freight either. Just look online for digital calipers, and look for one where the inner arms are fairly small so they can rest against the plastic ring at the zero line. Some brands have chunky inner arms. The inner arms are the smaller ones that measure the insides of things. The larger arms measure the outsides of things. I got my digital calipers from a local wood/metalworking tool store.
 
Back
Top