6/18 Jazzy AMPS 371 (and lesson learned)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby and Lucy

Member Since 2009
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16466&hilit=jazzy

I’m posting my lesson learned so everyone can benefit from it.

I almost didn’t do a before bed test last night. I had fallen asleep on the couch, woke up at almost 1am and got up to test, feed, and go to bed. I almost didn’t test Jazzy. She is so flaaaaaat, why take the extra time to poke a hissy growly kitty just to add another yellow or pink to the spreadsheet? But no, this is one of the most important tests of the day, and she did have one of her best PS numbers last night on an increased dose. Better check, it just takes a minute.

Good thing I did – my flat pink kitty dropped to 99!!!! But dangit, now I have to wake up the brain at 1am. I have Jazzy scheduled for acro/IAA testing next week. I think acro is a strong possibility for this cat. If she is acro, then LC food won’t stop the drop, and in fact can make her drop faster (acros have a functioning pancreas, so food can stimulate the pancreas and drop the numbers, much like in an OTJ kitty). But I don’t KNOW that she is acro. What to do? This would be so much easier when I’m awake. I fed her usual bedtime LC meal and tested in 30 minutes. Dropped to 80. It’s now almost 1:30, so I went the safe route and gave a little HC. Whew, she is carb sensitive, or else the bounce is starting, up to 120 after ½ hour. Decided to pretend she really is acro, for safety sake since I was not awake, gave more HC, tested in about 15 minutes and got 141, and went to bed at about 2:00. Of course she bounced this morning, but it’s not so bad. Was the HC overkill? Probably, but in my sleepy mind there were too many unknowns to risk it in the middle of the night. I don't recommend HC-ing most cats at 80 and 120! I don't even necessarily recommend HC-ing THIS cat at 80 and 120, but that's what I did.

Side note: Jazzy is using an AlphaTrak meter, which according to Dr. Rand earns a dose reduction at 80 instead of 50. She notes that the AlphaTrak runs about 30 points higher in this range than human meters. However, on the test Jazzy hit 80, I retested the same blood drop with my Freestyle meter and got 70. I’m not reducing Jazzy’s dose yet.

Lessons: DON’T skip the bedtime test, even if your kitty is boring. If I had, I would have seen the 371 this morning and thought she was just still being her normal yellow/pink self. Also, if you have reason to believe your kitty might be acro or IAA, get the testing done as soon as you reasonably can. I would have been a lot more comfortable last night if I had known for sure whether I was treating an acro, or just a high dose cat.

Note about Jazzy and acro: Normally I wouldn’t assume a cat at 6.5 units is acro. I might start thinking about it at that point, but wouldn’t be concerned enough to alter treatment patterns. We’ve seen other cats who have hit breakthroughs at this dose. The reason I am a bit more concerned about Jazzy is that she has been on insulin for almost a year, on several insulins and at doses up to 10 units BID, and has never come anywhere near regulation. Also, she does have some of the typical physical characteristics of an acro – she has a pot belly, she has a slightly protruding lower jaw, she has an unbelievable appetite, and she snores. On the other hand, some of her responses last night indicate that she might not be acro, so we’ll definitely do the test.

I hope she’ll pull this trick on me again this weekend, when I am awake and can run her on LC to see what happens.
 
Good lesson for sure Libby! Glad you explained it so thoroughly! :thumbup
Jazzy really has your on your toes....quite a challenge...
How is she getting along with everyone?
I want to just state here that I think it's terribly UNFAIR of SOME kitties to do these silly things during the PM cycle when their Beans are not at the top of their game. UNFAIR!! (are you reading this Shadow?) I wish I had a dime for every time I was groggy and and got a surprise with the meter reading! I guess all we know is that we don't know!

Hope you have a great day today...wishing you luck with the Acro testing...will be looking for the results....
Happy Friday Libby!
 
Very interesting about the before bedtime check, as I'm sometimes guilty of it (well, ummm very guilty) as Maggie is so flat. Thanks for reminding. I use the Alpha Trak, too, and also find there's about a 30 bg difference between the human and the pet meter. I think Jazzy is a lucky kitty to have you foster and care for her.
 
wow .. pretty crazy drop there jazzy! You are going to start keeping your momma bean on her toes with numbers like that ...
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I wish I had a dime for every time I was groggy and and got a surprise with the meter reading! I guess all we know is that we don't know!

I know!!! And I used to be used to this stuff with my lovely drama kitty Lucy, but I'm spoiled by almost 16 months OTJ. Now I guess I have to get my old (non) sleeping patterns back.
 
Yeah Libby...join the crowd. @-)
Non-sleeping patterns.
@-)
I scare myself cause I don't really know what I am doing when I stagger out for the mid PM cycle tests. A low numbers shocks me into action, but mostly I am on cruise control. I DO find that i sometimes EAT too at 4am which is NOT a good thing. I am still asleep and EATING with my kitties. UGH!!! :lol:
It's always a surprise when i see the numbers I jotted down during the night... :lol: Over my ~O) I am usually surprised at what he did during the night. I really don't like it so much myself and I am sorry to hear that you are going to have to get used to it again... :-|
Jazzy is a lucky kitty to have YOU for sure!! :mrgreen:
 
Thanks for posting that, Libby. I'm sometimes guilty of skipping that test, when she's been in yellow just a couple hours before and has been flat for a couple of cycles...This was a great reminder of why we shouldn't do that. :smile: Good handling of the situation, I'd say, especially considering you were practically a zombie. :lol:

Pat: Now in addition to the image of you dancing around the table in your green evening gown, I can add this one: You stumbling around the house, testing Shadow and getting cat food, then shuffling over to the fridge and beginning to eat with a blank expression on your face, muttering about numbers and cats, scribbling notes like a mad scientist. The only detail I'm missing is, what does your hair look like during these escapades? I'm picturing Albert Einstein (although not grey like that).
 
I hope the trip through RBC isn't too bad. Nice to know she can "get green".

For what it's worth (or not), when KB goes too low or drops too fast and I want to interrupt the cycle, I don't give him tons of HC, I just give him a little to see if I can stop further dropping without tipping the apple cart too heavily. (He's what most would consider high dose, though thankfully still in single digit doses.) Maybe it won't take a lot to bring her up at this point, especially if her body prefers the higher range and kicks in to save her.

I must say that all the help you've been providing over the last few months has prepared you well for Jazzy's care! You are well suited to the challenge.
 
wow Libby! great lesson to keep in mind - hope u can catch up on sleep too!

ALWAYS GET THAT BEFORE BEDTIME SPOTCHECK CUZ U NEVER KNOW WHAT UR GONNA GET


is that big enuff?

kinda like life is a like a box of chocolates :lol:
 
Wow - that 's so interesting. I don't know anything about acro cats, but it had never occurred to me that the LC could actually cause the BG to drop! I love when I learn something new...

Good luck with Jazzy!
 
Krys,
That's how it works, food will balance things off, so when a kitty is just recently OTJ or on trial, and you get a higher than what you like number, if you give a little foods, the number should come down as the pancreas is functioning and can use the foods to make what it needs to balance the blood sugars.

That's why acros are different; they have a functioning pancreas, so we don't aim for numbers under 100. When I see Shadoe, or worse Oliver, hit a green, I just go right to the HC. Oliver gets half a can; Shadoe gets heaping tsp and retested.

With regular FD, you want to help the kitty along till that pancreas is all patched up and working on its own, I think.

Now we all need to sleep, so the best we can do is to test just before turning out the lites for bed, and then test again when we get up in the morn. The time in between will always be unknown, but why tack on a couple extra hours to the unknown?

The best you can do is test before bed and leave foods out if you like. I do because it seems both Shadoe and Oliver eat when they feel the need to eat.

I sleep better knowing that I tested just before going to bed and they have numbers that don't worry me.
 
What a great reminder Libby and Jazzy!
Thanks for the post and the lesson. Beans sometimes think we keep them awake or tell them to get a bedtime spot check for the fun of it.... liquipoo is fun :lol: Spot checks are informative!
 
Helene & Tizon said:
What a great reminder Libby and Jazzy!
Thanks for the post and the lesson. Beans sometimes think we keep them awake or tell them to get a bedtime spot check for the fun of it.... liquipoo is fun :lol: Spot checks are informative!

Liquipoo is fun!?!?!?!? ROFL!
 
Helene & Tizon said:
What a great reminder Libby and Jazzy!
Thanks for the post and the lesson. Beans sometimes think we keep them awake or tell them to get a bedtime spot check for the fun of it.... liquipoo is fun :lol: Spot checks are informative!

Helene didn't Sarah make you stay awake all night just for the fun of it or was it just to keep her company. :lol:

Thank you Libby for sharing such an important lesson.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top