Re: 6/18 into 6/19 and I'm stuck. Mom-mom ***NEED ADVICE **
We're not criticizing how you post, Laura, but it does get confusing for us when there are multiple posts in one day, and that makes it very hard for us to help you. When there are multiples posts, you can be getting conflicting answers from different people, whereas when you have just one post going, we can see who has already said what, and then we can build further advice off that. All we want to do is help you and Mom-mom, and that is the only reason we keep harping on the format of your posts.
Yes, SIenne was suggesting that you get comfortable with shooting preshot numbers below 100. Many of us have done so as part of our routine. When you shoot low numbers, it can help prevent the big high bouncy numbers as well as the big steep dives. When you shoot low, the curve flattens out more, keeping the kitty in nice, healthy healing numbers for more hours per day.
I know logic dictates that if you shoot a low number, you'll see a huge drop just like you do when you shoot a high number. While shooting low numbers does require very close monitoring, chances are you will usually NOT see huge drops. Since you are home all day and can monitor closely, Mom-mom is a perfect candidate for "shoot low to stay low".
You can slowly work your way towards shooting low. When you have a PS number that is a little lower than anything you've shot before, go for it! When you do go for it, start testing at +1 and +2 to see how she responds. Over time, keep lowering that target PS number, and before you know it, you'll be shooting below 100 regularly!
BUT...you hold the needle and you do have to do what you are comfortable with. It sounds like Mom-mom is doing better just because she is getting insulin to begin with. But if you can shoot low and therefore not skip shots, you'll get even better results.
It's just something to consider.
Another suggestion I have - and it is just a suggestion - is that you not only ask questions, but really engage in conversations with us about shooting low and other issues you and Mom-mom have. Exchanging info back and forth like that would also really help us help you. We know you have a lot on your plate, but if you converse with us, we'll know that we are truly making sense for you, and that you are understanding what we are suggesting. Remember...our goal is to help you and Mom-mom!!!