6/18 into 6/19 and I'm stuck. Mom-mom ***NEED ADVICE ***

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
I think is on the way to being pretty low and its still 2 hours away from her scheduled med (which at this point would DEFINITELY be none). I get a little nervous, should I feed her now? She normally eats at 7:45 and then shot (If needed) at 8am. What are anyone's thoughts, suggestions, comments, ????? Need advice confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 6/18 Mom-mom PMPS 539.+5-266,+9-74 ***NEED ADVICE ***

Hi Laura-

Unfortunately I only have a few minutes right now, but that 74 is a very nice, safe number - although yes, Mom-mom did drop quite a bit! I would be inclined to re-test her in an hour without feeding her to see if she is still dropping or if she's surfing.

Personally, I didn't feed quite this late in the cycle unless she was below 50, but every cat is different and Trix wasn't a big dropper like Mom-mom is, so my experience is very different from yours. I'm sorry....I know that's not much help :roll: !!

If someone else tells you to do something differently, please do listen to them - there are others here who do have kitties that dive like Mom-mom does so their advice would be more solid than mine.
 
Re: 6/18 Mom-mom PMPS 539.+5-266,+9-74 ***NEED ADVICE ***

I posted to your other condo, so in order for you to be able to delete the other condo, I have deleted my post and copied to this one as Amy posted to this one, and you can not delete a post that has Replies to it.

"You only want one condo going, so please delete the other one as questions and answers could get all mixed up and things accidently missed if you have two separate threads going.

If it's +9, you can feed her a small bit of LC if you like. I would try to not feed from +10 until +12 so that you can see if she is rising or dropping or staying the same without the influencing of a food spike before giving her insulin."
 
Re: 6/18 Mom-mom PMPS 539.+5-266,+9-74 ***NEED ADVICE ***

I agree with what Dyana and Amy posted.

I also think you really need to start to wrap your head around the notion of shooting lower numbers. If you always skip when you see a lower pre-shot, Mom-mom's next pre-shot will be sky high. Take a look at 6/14. Your AMPS was 109 and by PMPS, your kitty was at "Hi". If you are home to monitor and have strips and HC food, it is worth considering shooting a lower number. You may not be comfortable yet with shooing numbers that are below 100, but in the next couple of hours, consider where you would be comfortable shooting.
 
Re: 6/18 Mom-mom PMPS 539.+5-266,+9-74 ***NEED ADVICE ***

This is a totally different post than yesterday, I was only referring to the 18th PM but mostly today the 19th. Sorry for any confusion I may have caused. I am starting to think that I get more criticism on how I posted what , where, and it's wrong. I did refrain from posting at all because of that, but I really did need assistance with this one.
I AM home all day with her (I work from home) but, still I am not, and don't think I will ever be comfortable shooting below 100. Was that the suggestion ? Or did I misunderstand ???
Mom-mom has been looking really good the last few weeks, and shes a lot more active. Her favorite thing to do FOR YEARS was hide under the bed, and never let anyone (except me) play with her. Now, she only goes under the bed if its thundering and lightening outside, as it was last night. I am so proud of my tiny little angel, she has been thru some really tough things in the last years and a half. She's a strong little girl. I call her the little bull LOL.
Seems like the food is working out for her pretty good too. It's called Champion, Salmon flavored. I recommend it highly. Especially if she gets no shot today. I am so grateful that someone "up there" watching over us and put in a good word for her.
God Bless you all. And Thanks again HUGS. Have a Blessed Day
 
Re: 6/18 into 6/19 and I'm stuck. Mom-mom ***NEED ADVICE **

We're not criticizing how you post, Laura, but it does get confusing for us when there are multiple posts in one day, and that makes it very hard for us to help you. When there are multiples posts, you can be getting conflicting answers from different people, whereas when you have just one post going, we can see who has already said what, and then we can build further advice off that. All we want to do is help you and Mom-mom, and that is the only reason we keep harping on the format of your posts.

Yes, SIenne was suggesting that you get comfortable with shooting preshot numbers below 100. Many of us have done so as part of our routine. When you shoot low numbers, it can help prevent the big high bouncy numbers as well as the big steep dives. When you shoot low, the curve flattens out more, keeping the kitty in nice, healthy healing numbers for more hours per day.

I know logic dictates that if you shoot a low number, you'll see a huge drop just like you do when you shoot a high number. While shooting low numbers does require very close monitoring, chances are you will usually NOT see huge drops. Since you are home all day and can monitor closely, Mom-mom is a perfect candidate for "shoot low to stay low".

You can slowly work your way towards shooting low. When you have a PS number that is a little lower than anything you've shot before, go for it! When you do go for it, start testing at +1 and +2 to see how she responds. Over time, keep lowering that target PS number, and before you know it, you'll be shooting below 100 regularly!

BUT...you hold the needle and you do have to do what you are comfortable with. It sounds like Mom-mom is doing better just because she is getting insulin to begin with. But if you can shoot low and therefore not skip shots, you'll get even better results.

It's just something to consider.

Another suggestion I have - and it is just a suggestion - is that you not only ask questions, but really engage in conversations with us about shooting low and other issues you and Mom-mom have. Exchanging info back and forth like that would also really help us help you. We know you have a lot on your plate, but if you converse with us, we'll know that we are truly making sense for you, and that you are understanding what we are suggesting. Remember...our goal is to help you and Mom-mom!!!
 
Re: 6/18 into 6/19 and I'm stuck. Mom-mom ***NEED ADVICE **

Laura, I see that Mom-mom kept on going down and went to 40 at your normal preshot time. That means she's earned a reduction down to 1.75U.

Next time Mom-mom comes down low at shot time, you have options other than skipping. What you could do is delay, without feeding, and test again 1/2 later to see if she is coming up. I see that at what would have been the +2 she had come up to 92. If your schedule allows it, that would have been a good time to shoot as she was coming up fast, as the +4 299 shows you. If you had shot 2 hours late, your next shot would be 12 hours after that, but you can get back to your usual schedule by shooting 1/2 hour earlier each day, or 15 minutes earlier each shot time.
 
Re: 6/18 into 6/19 and I'm stuck. Mom-mom ***NEED ADVICE **

What is your current no shot number?
Subtact 10 from it and use that as your no shot number for the next week or so. See how her nadirs and behavior are.
If all is going well after that change, drop another 10 if the folks here support it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top