6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511, PMPS 387-446

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561

hi there
I'm just posting here in todays condo with a couple thoughts

The reason I'm using the true track is because the strips are so much cheaper. I don't think we have the ReliOn here in Canada unfortunately.

I totally know that feeling - we began with the TT too, because of cheaper strip prices, I did up move to the Freestyle Lite meter, then settled with the One Touch as it's been a good recommended meter too, but strips of 50 for $55 and 100 for $75, dunno how we managed all that with all the testing we did @-) ,
I did use my Shoppers Drug Mart Optimum points for many of those strips, and it helped.

One of the problems I had with the TT is alot of errors cuz not enough blood - that was a drag.
The only thing I can suggest if you know someone in the states that you can arrange to have a Relion/strips sent to you - we almost did that til Luna was given the OTJ trial go-ahead...you can also get cheaper strips online too if you go with One Touch for example.

Maybe down the road, it might be an option to consider.

Now lets get Heart out of the blacks - eeek! and no more growling! cat(2)_steam

have a great day Sophia!
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561

I buy strips from Amazon for my Contour. I don't know if there are other mail order sources that you can find where strips are less expensive. I know if I were to buy strips from one of the pharmacy chain stores, they would be twice the price for half the number of strips.
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561

Amazon.ca in Canada really only sells books, DVDs, and CDs. They don't sell pretty much everything like they do in the states unfortunately. :(

Well, I'm actually almost considering a cross-border Wal-Mart shopping trip. The border is an hour's drive from me.
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561

One more option is to get strips from Ebay. I have a Contour meter and I get all of my strips on Ebay. I usually only pay about 30 cents per strip, but sometimes have to go up to 40 cents. You can get a free Contour meter from Cindy & Mousie with a newbie kit.
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561

What an adorable name....Heart...I love it! I am so happy to see you testing for ketones at these higher numbers...and great that they are negative!
Are you sure the ear is warm enough before you try pricking? has anyone mentioned the rice sock warmed in the micro to warm up the ear? You are doing a great job! hang in there! :razz:
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561

Hey there!

I use the One Touch Ultra Mini and get my strips from eBay (or sometimes from Amazon, cuz we get free 2 day shipping but the price varies a lot). Last purchase, I got 200 test strips expiring 10/2011 for less than $100 (around .47 per strip). I've paid less and I've paid more... but that's a good average.
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

I'm going to Costco now to see what other meter options I have there

His +7 was 511. Still black. Yesterday seemed so promising being in the red, but today .... :(
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

You've had 5 cycles on this dose and no real movement. The protocol allows us to increase dose after 4 cycles if the numbers are high and flat. You can increase to 2 units tonight if you want.

Did you shoot 2 units last night?
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

Yeah, I did 2 last night because I had to inject him an hour earlier, and the protocol said to increase the dose when you're injecting early? Still think I should go up to two tonight, or give it another day?

I bought a different glucometer today. Got the Freestyle light, which requires a third the blood. I waste too many strips on not enough blood. His ears just don't like to bleed! (and yes, I do the rice sock thing to answer an earlier question)
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

Hi. Walmart has online ordering. I ordered my Relion Ultima meter and strips directly from Walmart. They came very quickly and the postage was very reasonable (I live too far from a Walmart to be able to make regular trips there). Is there a reason why Canadians can't order online from Walmart? If not, check it out. Good luck!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

OK I have to say that those are hugely horrible numbers you are getting from Heart, but please know that it DOES get better.

One very important thing to know is that you will see changes in Heart before you see changes in the numbers. Look for Heart to act less distressed and start to perk up, bit by bit.

I was looking at Heart's ss and it seems there has been alot of changing the doses; last pm shows at 2u but today's am shows as 1.5u. It's very important to keep the dose solid, steady with no jumping up and down. Every time you make a change, the shed is disrupted in some ways. With such high numbers, you still need to hold the same dose for 4 cycles, 4 shots. By then, the shed should be topped up and you can increase the dose.
I am not sure what you mean by saying that you need to increase the dose if shooting early? I think what it means is that if you shoot early, the same dose, it's like an increase because you are shooting before you need to shoot.

It's really hard in the beginning, but it settles and gets better. After going through the high numbers and working up the doses slowly, twice, I have seen it work and work well for both Shadoe and Oliver.

Good luck on the 2u dose with Heart.
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

You're right Gayle, now that I think of it, your interpretation of that part of the protocol makes more sense than mine! I thought you needed to shoot more if you shoot early so that it lasts for the longer interval until your next shot. This part here:

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.

I obviously misunderstood that... :oops:

Okay, I'll do 2 units tonight. I unfortunately have to give it to him a half hour early since I have a meeting back at my office. But, it'll be as if I increased that 1.5 units this morning to 2 units, so he'll have been consistent at two units for three cycles then ;) (okay okay, I know that's a stretch ha ha)
 
Tried both meters on him today PMPS, got the following results:

TrueTrack: 24.8 (446)
Freestyle: 21.5 (387)

Very different!! When I tested on myself though, the difference was only 0.2 mmol. Not sure which to go by...

Sophia
 
Re: 6/18 Heart AMPS 561, +7 511

Ella & Stu said:
Hi. Walmart has online ordering. I ordered my Relion Ultima meter and strips directly from Walmart. They came very quickly and the postage was very reasonable (I live too far from a Walmart to be able to make regular trips there). Is there a reason why Canadians can't order online from Walmart? If not, check it out. Good luck!

Ella & Stu


Cant order the Relion online thru Walmart, not up here anyway, I sent the makers of Relion an email a while back telling them they need to market their meter up north, but to no avail, oh well.
 
pick one meter and stick to it or you have no consistency.

be sure to read the sticky about the shed and how / why you see some unsettled numbers when you increase the dose - you go up and lots of the increase goes to increase the shed and not into Heart, so it will take a couple shots before you see some good from the upped dose.

Also, if you have to shoot alot early or alot late, you can't just jump right back to the original shot time.
If you shoot at 6am/6pm, but one morn or eve you are 2 hrs late and shoot at 8, you may have to work your way back to the original 6am/6pm schedule slowly, depending on Heart's numbers.

it's ok; eventually you will find the good dose for Heart and see some fine numbers.
 
Gayle's been giving you good info. You can move a shot by 30 min. in one cycle once in a 24 hour period and be OK. If you had to shoot early tonight, your AM shot should be 24 hours from the time you gave tonight's shot. You can then move tomorrow night's shot back to your regular time. The rule of thumb is one 30 min. adjustment per day or you can move the shot by 15 min. per cycle if you absolutely have to. The less you tinker with the shot time the better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top