6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103, +3~260, +4~373

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Yesterday's Condo

Beginning at about midnight, Gabby was back to having GI problems -- liquipoo and vomiting. I gave her some Pepsid, I also finger fed baby food mixed with FortiFlora this morning, despite her not really wanting to eat. I reduced her dose since I'm really not sure whether or not she'll throw up again. I e-mailed my vet last night and will call this AM. I'm hoping I don't have to schlep Gabby back in. She so hates to be in the car!
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304

Good morning Sienne,
Just dropped in to see how folks are doing. Sorry to hear Gabby is not feeling so good.

Sending feel better vines your way.

Pedro says "hey". (I'll be checking in on the board this weekend - He is off to the vets this AM for follow up bloodwork after starting new meds for Cushings.)
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304

poor gabby .. I just can't stand it when our babies are sick .. I hope she starts to feel better on her own, and doesn't have to go on that awful car ride ....
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304

Hope Gabby feels better soon! All those late night parties this week probably didn't help matters much either...
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304

Ok, this is is so strange that Shadow was not into his food this morning too...you'd think they were catching a cyber cold on the forum or something.....
Isn't it a shame that when they are feeling poorly we have to make it worse with a car ride to the vet?
Mine hate the car too. I hope it doesn't come to that for you guys, but if that has to be, it has to be...
Hope Gabby feels better real soon! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304

Got off the phone with the vet's office. No cart trip for Gabby! Since the vet saw her about 10 days ago for the same problem, her thinking is that whatever was going on, Gabby needed to be on the metronidazole for longer than she was. Or, she has some sort of bug that will need to be cultured. The good news is that Idexx is running a special for those of us in Chicago who need a stool sample analyzed. If it turns out there's bacteria, they'll go ahead and run a culture. In the meantime, I need to make a run to the vet's office to pick up meds and make a deposit, as it were!

On a positive note, no puking for the last several hours.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311

Good news that you don't have to go to the vet. I think there should be a mobile pet lab or something for situations like this.

Maybe in my next life.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311

so glad to hear you don't have to go to the vet! Theres no place like home when you don't feel good .. I'm sure gabby is relieved theres no car ride today ...
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311

Hooray for no car ride, especially in this heat! I hope Gabby is back to feeling like herself very soon. Have a good Friday, Sienne. :smile:
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361

I hope Gabby gets back to her old self soon. These numbers are nice for your sleep but not much else.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361

Lucky Gabby no stressful car ride! Yai for no pukee's

keep us posted Sienne! ((((feel better soon Gabby))))
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361, +8~307

Back from the vet a while ago and got busy with basic aggravation -- my Bluetooth mouse died, the back-up mouse is dead, and the replacement won't be here for a week.

So, the thought re. Gabby is that whatever she had before, she wasn't over it and it came back or there's some other GI thing going on and hopefully the fecal culture will be informative. The vet prescribed more metronidazole IFlagyl) and Pepsid and added metoclopramide (Reglan) to the cocktail. I've been syringe feeding every hour or so. Gabby is not so happy about that. The vet suggested give her a day on baby food mixed with FortiFlora. I'd be much happier if she'd want to eat on her own. So far, there's been only one small episode of pukus and I can't tell if that was because of a little fur in her belly.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361, +8~307

Just getting caught up on your girl. (((((((((((Gabby)))))))))))) Hoping she starts to eat on her own and the new meds help.
Gabby, If you eat on your own mommy won't have to shove that syringe in your mouth anymore.
Did you see CF's video of her DH syringe feeding Meowzi? I thought it was so good.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361, +8~307, PMPS~354

wow - what is up with out kitties? I hope the cocktail does wonders and she is better sooner than later. Never fun when they don't feel well. Good luck ! Feel better Gabby!
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354

Gabby took her meds in a pill pocket -- a good sign that she had an interest in food. She got the meds an hour before her dinner/shot time. I'm hoping that the metoclopromide was doing its job since she ate without my having to finger or syringe feed her. Given that she's apparently eating, I brought her dose back to 1.5u. (I left off the fat for now since I don't want to have to contend with low numbers until I know I can get Gabby to eat.)

And I did see WCF's feeding video. The difference here is that CF's DH is involved so there are 2 sets of hands to hold, feed, give scritches, etc. When I try to syringe feed, Gizmo wants to help - which usually means that he wants to eat the baby food.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361, +8~307, PMPS~354

((((Gabby)))) I hope you start feeling better soon. It's no fun to have a tummyache.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby AMPS~304, +2~311, +4~361, +8~307, PMPS~354

You mean you don't have 4 hands and/or can't use your feet? :lol:
I've been known to borrow the neighbours to hold Tizon for me... I'd offer them but they are a little far from Chicago.
On a more serious note, I hope Ms. Gabby feels better soon.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Gabby had an appetite! She ate dinner part 2 on her own -- following me into the kitchen and wanting to eat. She's had a jar of baby food. It looks like she's feeling better based on her numbers, as well. She got another installment of baby food topped with gravy.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Woah, that is quite the drop.
Hoping you have a good night and she continues to eat on her own.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Holy moley, Sienne, you might have a busy night ahead of you!! Good luck, and I am glad Gabby is eating on her own for this development.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Whoa, Gabby! What - are you taking diving lessons from Kasha?!?!?

Glad that it looks like Miss Gabby is feeling better and eating - that's some good news!
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Hi Sienne,
Im soooo sorry Gabby is not feeling well again! ((((((((((gabby))))))))))))
Its obvious you have been working really hard the last few days to help her out. Nice job!
Im glad to hear she is eating better so far this evening and her GI system may be settling down a bit.

It sounds like you have mainly been syringe and finger feeding. Have you tried assist feeding the baby food from a spoon? It may just be a latte thing, but ever since her renal failure and feeding her the bf off the spoon that is the only way she will take it...and the only thing she WILL take off a spoon (except vanilla ice cream :lol: ). That is one of the reasons I resort to baby food so much. Its a lot less invasive than the syringes, and she usually seems to enjoy it. You should see her face if I try to blend up any kind of wet food into bf consistency and try to offer it from the spoon. :?

Im sure its hard with Gizmo. Maybe you could put yourself in another room with the door closed for these feedings if they have to continue? When I started syringe feeding I wrapped Latte burrito style in a towel. Eventually I didnt need the towel, as it became old hand to her. I sit her on my lap (only time she is on my lap...not a lap cat) vs sitting her on the floor, or in a chair. That may be a thought, since you only have two hands like me! Im sure you have figured - have everything prepared in advance...syringes prefilled, towel to wipe her mouth, etc.

I certainly hope she does well and continues to do so as the medication gets in her system more.

And that drop...uhhhhh...thats a Latte size drop...knock it off Gabby! ;-)

Try to have a good night over there.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Glad that Gabby is feeling better and eating on her own for you. BUt boy that is some drop. OK Miss Gabby don't go much lower. You and your Mommy want some sleep tonight.

I have always had good luck with the Metopramide with Tori for fighting nausea. I hope it will continue to work for you.

Hope you guys have a good night tonight and thanks for always looking out for us.
 
Re: 6/18 Gabby PMPS~354, +2~103

Hi Sienne and our poor baby girl Gabby. I am so sorry that Ms. Gabby is feeling a bit poorly, but as the day went on, looks like she is starting to feel better.

I'm sure that the syringe feeding isn't fun for anyone so I hope that Gabby starts to grubb on her own soon.

Hugs to ms Gabby ((((hugs)))) and also to you Sienne
 
Anyone have a clue what the carb count is with baby food? The content is a protein (chicken), broth, and cornstarch. Given how high of a glycemic index corn products are, I'm wondering how much the cornstarch is driving Gabby's numbers. She's polished off a good amount of baby food tonight. Frankly, at the moment, I don't care if it's HC if she's eating but I am curious.
 
Hi Gabby, I hope it wasn't something that I cooked at the party last night! I'm so glad that you're feeling better. Your mamabean is taking good care of you. See you tomorrow in good Gabby numbers. And, please, no more dramatic drops tonight!!

Stu

Hi Sienne, So sorry to hear that Gabby was under the weather today and I hope that the cultures and tests will tell you what may have caused her upset. It's good that you didn't have to take her to the vet. Have a good night, all 3 of you.

Ella

p.s. First your automat(s), now your bluetooth mice. Electronics seem to be allergic to you!
 
I'm so glad a vet trip wasn't needed, Sienne. I'm glad Gabby is interested in eating again. Thinking good thoughts (and numbers) for your girl!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top