? 6/18 day 3 NS~ AM +3=151, +5=146, +10=128 PM 0=146

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiestyaries

Member Since 2017
Happy Kitty Daddy Day! Our numbers have been in the mid to low blue since I last shot 6/15. Been monitoring as much as possible. (ss its up to date). Thoughts were he would deplete his depot and go back up If Im understanding the language correctly but I dont see the numbers going back up. I am going to keep monitoring tonight but will have to go to work tomorrow. Thinking I should leave as is with no shooting? I can call the vet and discuss w/ them tomorrow and he gets his B12 shot on Wed so they will see him again then. Thoughts?
 
Hi Sherri , Chance hasn't seen a green for 6 cycles and he is starting to creep up some. The goal before taking them completely off insulin would to stay in over all green numbers under 100 with a an occasional blue. I think it's premature to be completely off the insulin but how much to start back on again, I am not sure. Hopefully some veteran eyes can help guide you.
 
Hi Sherri , Chance hasn't seen a green for 6 cycles and he is starting to creep up some. The goal before taking them completely off insulin would to stay in over all green numbers under 100 with a an occasional blue. I think it's premature to be completely off the insulin but how much to start back on again, I am not sure. Hopefully some veteran eyes can help guide you.
Thank you. I tried calling the vet yesterday but she was out. He has an appt tomorrow but I will try calling again today. Im not sure if i should start at .25 or .5.
 
Hey Sherri, I was off the boards yesterday and was hoping some more eyes would see your thread as far as dose if any for Chance.

A few questions: Your signature says pred as a daily med. Did he recently go off of it?

And did anything change with his diet or eating habits?
 
Hey Sherri, I was off the boards yesterday and was hoping some more eyes would see your thread as far as dose if any for Chance.

A few questions: Your signature says pred as a daily med. Did he recently go off of it?

And did anything change with his diet or eating habits?
Hi Bobbie,

He is still on Pred. 2.5 MG per day. Nothing has changed with his eating except I probably won't be feeding him Stella and chewy's raw anymore. He vomited after eating it two nights ago and then again this morning.

He went to the vet this morning for his B 12 shot. My husband showed them the ss I printed out for them ( I had already spoken to the vet tech yesterday about it and emailed it to her) that I am keeping and they told me to stay the course as I am, not to shoot him with the numbers the way that they are. They told me to just monitor. And see how he does and to call if anything changes. He gained a little more weight so that's a happy sign. I know sometimes cats with IBD/triaditis can have their Pred lowered. I think we will have to wait until he's really stable to see if that can happen. Maybe we will see green...
 
I have to agree with Bobbie, with the numbers you are getting he is running a little high.
Using a human meter, we would want to see a cat in remission running in the normal range for most of the cycle 50-80 with only the occasional number over 100.

I think he would benefit from a little more insulin support, though I can understand your reluctance to go against your vets recommendation.
 
I'm jumping on the same bandwagon. Chance's numbers look good, just not great. I'd encourage you to take a look at Gill's George's SS. George's numbers were a sea of green before he went OTJ. I'd think about dropping the dose back to around 0.5u and see how he does. It really looks like Chance's pancreas needs a bit more support.

BTW, vets get nervous with numbers that are under 200. Generally, they are not used to having caregivers who test and keep close track of their cat's numbers AND know how to intervene if numbers run low. You are an exception to what a vet is used to.

 
I'm jumping on the same bandwagon. Chance's numbers look good, just not great. I'd encourage you to take a look at Gill's George's SS. George's numbers were a sea of green before he went OTJ. I'd think about dropping the dose back to around 0.5u and see how he does. It really looks like Chance's pancreas needs a bit more support.

BTW, vets get nervous with numbers that are under 200. Generally, they are not used to having caregivers who test and keep close track of their cat's numbers AND know how to intervene if numbers run low. You are an exception to what a vet is used to.

[/QUOTE
I have to agree with Bobbie, with the numbers you are getting he is running a little high.
Using a human meter, we would want to see a cat in remission running in the normal range for most of the cycle 50-80 with only the occasional number over 100.

I think he would benefit from a little more insulin support, though I can understand your reluctance to go against your vets recommendation.

Thank you both. I'm using two vets so I try and pull the best out of both of them but honestly get more direction and guidance here with reading posts and getting advice from all you wonderful people! His daily vet was impressed w/ the ss and keeping track of it and I am sure they would encourage me to do what I felt best as they know I usually stand my ground on certain things. His specialist on the other hand I probably would have to "convince" I'm on the right path since he told me to shoot 1.5 and test once a week. Glad I know better. I thought about what you advised and thought the same thing - perhaps give him .5 or .25 but he tested .98 last night and .93 this morning. I might be trending in the right direction. For now I am going to monitor and see where we are and hoping that's the right thing for him. :nailbiting:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top