6/18 Cassie +9 65 rt 72. AMPS 144 +2 216. +4 97. 40 minutes later 81. +5 85 +6 124 +7 326 PMPS 501.

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Hi friends. I'm stressed. Yesterday I found my father feeding Cassie chicken (with FRANK'S HOT SAUCE ON TOP! :mad:) even though he's been told repeatedly not to feed her or even touch her. He's not a good person so I shouldn't be surprised but it was really upsetting. Small vent, I'm sorry.

Anyways, I feel horrible because I didn't test her during the night and I think she must've gotten low. She was 65 at 7:30 (+9) this morning so I retested and it was 72. She must've been low last night. AMPS was 144, and +2 was 216. I know you guys said if +2 is higher than I should be okay for the cycle, but just wondering in this case if it's food bringing it up from 2 hours ago? I can't remember but I think someone said food won't bring it up that much. Is another bounce starting? :(
 
Yup, a bounce from those greens. :rolleyes: Was that 65 on the AT or Relion? It’s a bit confusing seeing both. If it was the AT, you need to lower the dose. And you need to decide for sure if you are following SLGS or TR, because that 65 earned a reduction with SLGS, regardless of meter. If you are using the human meter and TR, you hold the dose.

I can’t imagine a cat even liking hot sauce.
 
Yup, a bounce from those greens. :rolleyes: Was that 65 on the AT or Relion? It’s a bit confusing seeing both. If it was the AT, you need to lower the dose. And you need to decide for sure if you are following SLGS or TR, because that 65 earned a reduction with SLGS, regardless of meter. If you are using the human meter and TR, you hold the dose.

I can’t imagine a cat even liking hot sauce.

Ay ay ay, I was supposed to perform the glucose curve tomorrow so the vet could see. Now what do I do? Do I wait again? I want it to be accurate so the vet can see that she needs a reduction. Everything was on the Relion, sorry for confusion! I was hoping to choose SLGS once the vet gives me an official new dose for her, but I think until then I must be on TR since I'm able to test her often.
 
It is your call. He might still be bouncing tomorrow, but I would show the vet your Relion data as well as the AT data. If you follow our dosing methods here, you don’t need to wait for the vet to tell you what to do with the dose.
 
It is your call. He might still be bouncing tomorrow, but I would show the vet your Relion data as well as the AT data. If you follow our dosing methods here, you don’t need to wait for the vet to tell you what to do with the dose.

I'll try to do the glucose curve Saturday in case the bounce is still going on tomorrow. But I will show him the relion data as well. Regardless of what he does say I will lower the dose for sure..so I guess it doesn't really matter. I'm sorry I've been such a pain about this all. I hope I get it down one of these days. :(
 
Not a pain, just learning. There is a lot to learn at the beginning - we've all been there so no worries on the questions. We love to help here.
 
I'm not sure if I should be waiting to feed high carb food until she's below 60 on the relion or not. I just felt that since it was so early in the cycle that it may be a good idea to stop it before it gets any lower. I'm going to test at +5 (in 20 minutes) to see how she's going.
 
Gosh now I'm reading that the nadir on lantus CAN be around +4 to +6 on lantus. I'm wondering if I should've avoided food to test this theory for Cassie. I just wanted to make sure she didn't go hypo. :(
 
She's at 97 (with relion) at roughly +4. I'm giving her some high carb food

Next time, just give a teaspoon or 2 of her regular low carb food...we want to try to stop the fast drop without sending her to the moon with too many carbs.

As long as you're able to test, YOU are in control of your cat's blood glucose.

Any news on when you'll have the syringes so you can do doses other than in whole units?
 
Next time, just give a teaspoon or 2 of her regular low carb food...we want to try to stop the fast drop without sending her to the moon with too many carbs.

As long as you're able to test, YOU are in control of your cat's blood glucose.

Any news on when you'll have the syringes so you can do doses other than in whole units?

We are at 124 now for her glucose so I must've really loaded her up on carbs..oops! I will just do that next time with her normal food! I guess I didn't know how fast it would drop and I was panicking.
I do have syringes now! I'll update my signature. I'm not very good with syringes so I was wondering when I lower it if I could do 1.5 just so it's easier for me right now to get the hang of the syringe. But I understand if it'd be better to try 1.75 first.
As long as you're able to test, YOU are in control of your cat's blood glucose.

Thank you for saying this. It's very comforting to know I can keep her from going hypo. It's just so scary! But she DID enjoy that fancy feast :joyful:
 
Magnifiers, good overhead light and a white or light background below help with dosing. Some people use headlamp magnifiers or you can find a good combo in craft supplies.

No worries on the over carbing, everyone does it at first. Though I think when I was up with @Chris & China (GA) her first low, she might have set the record for too much karo. :p

Right now you are in the learning phase. Cats are different in how carb sensitive they are. You have just done the first experiment. Write the details of how much you fed, what and when in the Remarks column, and you can refer to it next time.
 
Magnifiers, good overhead light and a white or light background below help with dosing. Some people use headlamp magnifiers or you can find a good combo in craft supplies.

No worries on the over carbing, everyone does it at first. Though I think when I was up with @Chris & China (GA) her first low, she might have set the record for too much karo. :p

Right now you are in the learning phase. Cats are different in how carb sensitive they are. You have just done the first experiment. Write the details of how much you fed, what and when in the Remarks column, and you can refer to it next time.

hahaha about the karo!! If I give Cassie 1-2 tsp of her normal low-carb wet food if she's around those same numbers, how long should I wait to see the number improve/stay the same before moving on to give more? Do I retest in 15 minutes or more like an hour? Do I continue testing all day? I've stopped today after seeing the jump to 124 from her full can of fancy feast to give her a break until PMPS, lol. I'm also assuming to save the high carb food until she gets closer to 50 on the relion?

SO MANY QUESTIONS!! :bookworm:
 
Carbs take about 20-30 minutes from the plate to the bloodstream, so no use testing sooner than that. Wet food high carb lasts a couple hours, so you want to keep testing at least that long to see if they drop after it wears off. More into in the Sticky Note on handling Low Numbers.
 
Carbs take about 20-30 minutes from the plate to the bloodstream, so no use testing sooner than that. Wet food high carb lasts a couple hours, so you want to keep testing at least that long to see if they drop after it wears off. More into in the Sticky Note on handling Low Numbers.

Ah so her PMPS will probably be a bit high tonight then. I'm gonna stay up late tonight and check her. I'm also gonna move her shot time back a few hours (I'm going to do the 15 minute thing), that way it's not 12:30AM when I check her +2. LOL

EDIT: Just tested her, 326 at +7. Boy I learned about bouncing REAL fast. :facepalm:
 
Last edited:
If you want to test at +11 tonight, and she's over 400, feel free to shoot then. It's not something you'd normally do, but as a one time with her so high, it will be OK this time.
 
If you want to test at +11 tonight, and she's over 400, feel free to shoot then. It's not something you'd normally do, but as a one time with her so high, it will be OK this time.

Then I can make that her normal time completely? I was reading a bit about that but was unsure about it. That'd be nice to get back an hour already. :)
 
Back
Top