6/18 Boo Radley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica & Boo Radley

Member Since 2011
I have been "patiently" (hard for me ;-) ;-) ) holding the 1.0 Unit dose for 5 cycles after our rapid reduction week. Numbers have been in the upper 200's and lower to mid 300"s since the reductions and we're ketone negative.

Sheila and Vicky; I'm curious if you're thinking this is a case of another small reduction to see if that bumps him, or do you think we need to go back up to 1.25 tonight? I"m off for the next few days, so testing won't be an issue. Thanks in advance :razz: :razz: :razz:
 
Honestly - it could be either. I would go back to 1.25u and see what happens. If 1u is too much, that small increase will probably cause another drop to low numbers and then you would know and could drop back.

There were so many reductions trying to keep up (down? :roll: ) with the numbers dropping, that it is hard to "see" where the lows are coming from (from which dose).
 
Isn't the rule of thumb with reductions that if it doesn't hold to go back to the last best dose? That looks to me like it was 2U. Now, it's not a good idea to bump Levemir up that much all at once. It looks like he would benefit from very systemized increases. Increasing to 1.25U and holding for 5 days, increase next to 1.5U, hold for 5 days, you get the picture. His best spate of preshots was at 2U between 6/7 and 6/10. That tells me Lev was leveling him out. The 40 after 1U on 6/10 were probably the result from the rebound breaking. The high BGs disappeared and the insulin in his system had nothing to work against so down he went. I don't know if they truly indicated a dose reduction. The very fact that the rebound broke so quickly and he had more low BGs says to me that that 2U was about right. It's like it had found an equilibrium, but the rug was pulled out from under it because the dose was dropped too many times.

There are also no notes as to his eating habits. Occasionally having an "off" food day will cause lows and don't warrant a dose reduction.

Just some thoughts to help you make sense of why his BGs are all over the place, but he gets good response, he just can't hold those nice blues even.
 
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
There are also no notes as to his eating habits. Occasionally having an "off" food day will cause lows and don't warrant a dose reduction.

Oh Vicky...I want to laugh at that.....,my Boo NEVER has an off food day. He LOVES food....I'm guessing that is probably 95% of why he is diabetic. He eats the same amount, same time, every single day....if I didn't, he would eat 24/7, would eat anything and everything, and would probably weight 25+lbs. The ONLY time he gets extra food is when he has a drop and then it's only low carb saturated in extra H20!

I very much appreciate your input. When we were at 2.0...the consensus was to lower the dose....when we were at 1.5, it was to lower again.....I actually think the mindset at 2.0 was to drop all the way to 1.0 immediately! I am open to trying anything and agree that those days of consistent numbers were the ONLY consistent days we've seen probably in our entire time with insulin.

Keep in mind he's FIV.....so his his immune system adds to his sugar equation. None the less, we'll see how the increases go as I get the feeling from both you and Sheila, that this is the right route to go! As always...thank you both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top