6/18 Bagheera AMPS 287 PMPS 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
Well, we are back to the high, but not outrageously high, blood levels. No scares like we had on Sunday. My human cannot figure out why that happened!

He is kind of frustrated. It seems like no matter what he does, he cannot consistently get me in the blues! He would settle for the low yellows right now.

Prior condition
 
Re: 6/18 Bagheera AMPS 287

Haven't stopped by to see how you guys are doing in a while. Some lovely greens on Sunday, I see! :mrgreen: Usually, when you have to stall or skip a shot, it's considered that a decrease might be necessary, so depending on if you get another low pre-shot over the next couple of days, you might want to drop it back to 5.75. ;-)

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
I know you think I might be an acromegalic cat, but my human doesn't think so. I am not gaining weight, and I am the same happy and playful cat that I have always been. And I've always been a big boy, and nothing is happening with the size of my paws or my head. I'm just the same happy big cat that I have always been.

I've actually thought it more likely that if Bagheera has a high dose condition, it would be IAA (a form of insulin resistance) rather than Acro (especially because of his younger age). With IAA, there's none of the Acro symptoms or visual cues. It might be worth it to look into getting him tested so at least you know what you're dealing with.

From here (a little over halfway down the page):
IAA is supposed to be self-limiting, meaning it goes away at some point. (See article link below) “We have a couple of anecdotal reports of kitties who, by continuing to raise the insulin doses, were able to overwhelm the antibodies, eventually lower the insulin doses and gain control of the BG’s.”
 
Re: 6/18 Bagheera AMPS 287

Great blue and green numbers on the 16th. I don't see any numbers for 6/17 & 18th?

Hang in there :-D :-D :-D
 
If I were to hazard a guess, it looks like he might still be bouncing from seeing those greens a couple of days ago, however, you know what they say, "can't tell without more testing!" :lol: ;-)

I know you're rather limited on mid-day testing throughout the week due to work, but I would suggest you try to get a few more +6 to +11 range tests this weekend, especially because you just increased by .5u instead of .25u (not that you shouldn't have increased by that much necessarily, but because by then, the depot should have filled and NDW and any bounces would have cleared to show how it's truly working when you increase by that much).

Has he put on any more weight by any chance?
 
Oh, no. More ear sticks on the weekend? I like having my human around but those ear sticks drive me nuts. You would think a big boy like me wouldn't care, but they are annoying.

And my human may have gotten a little too smart for the both of us. You see, he figured, okay, if I'm dosing at 2-3 units and I increase it by .25 units, it's around a ten percent dose increase. But at 5.5 units, a .25 unit increase is only around five percent. So if we have been increasing my dosing by around ten percent he figured we should be consistent.

I haven't gained any weight. I am still the 18 pound boy that I have been for a while. And I am not overweight, either. My human stood over top of me and looked. I still have a waist and he can feel my ribs. I am not as sleek and slender as Jacey, but then, she is like a ballerina and I am like a football player.

KPassa said:
If I were to hazard a guess, it looks like he might still be bouncing from seeing those greens a couple of days ago, however, you know what they say, "can't tell without more testing!" :lol: ;-)

I know you're rather limited on mid-day testing throughout the week due to work, but I would suggest you try to get a few more +6 to +11 range tests this weekend, especially because you just increased by .5u instead of .25u (not that you shouldn't have increased by that much necessarily, but because by then, the depot should have filled and NDW and any bounces would have cleared to show how it's truly working when you increase by that much).

Has he put on any more weight by any chance?
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
Oh, no. More ear sticks on the weekend? I like having my human around but those ear sticks drive me nuts. You would think a big boy like me wouldn't care, but they are annoying.

And my human may have gotten a little too smart for the both of us. You see, he figured, okay, if I'm dosing at 2-3 units and I increase it by .25 units, it's around a ten percent dose increase. But at 5.5 units, a .25 unit increase is only around five percent. So if we have been increasing my dosing by around ten percent he figured we should be consistent.

You can do it! Just a couple of extra tests during the day on the weekend. :-D

Yep, I figured as much when I saw you did the increase. I was meaning that since this is the first time you'd increased by .5u instead of .25u, not that you shouldn't have increased by that much, if that makes better sense? :thumbup

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
haven't gained any weight. I am still the 18 pound boy that I have been for a while. And I am not overweight, either. My human stood over top of me and looked. I still have a waist and he can feel my ribs. I am not as sleek and slender as Jacey, but then, she is like a ballerina and I am like a football player.

Hehe! Not critiquing your weight; just checking if this was a weight-based increase or par for the course. ;-)

I compare Michelangelo to being built like Gene Kelly and Henry as being built like a barrel! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top