6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236, PMPS 251 +3.5 115, +5 116

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236

it's just one test so i'd just note it but it's important to get some spot checks. hoping he'll let you this weekend. :) can you get one tonight? don't want him trending up (coz of too little insulin) but don't want to be missing the possibility 1u is too much.
 
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236 , pmps 251

Thanks Chris,

He's a bit calmer tonight, so I'm going for a +3 in a few minutes, because as we can see he did go up slightly for pm. I did shoot 1 unit today.

What other spots do you suggest, maybe I'll try a 5 or 6 then it's bed time. and I can try a couple more tomorrow, as I'll be home.
 
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236, PMPS 251 +3.5 115

So, I'm now able to test him really quick. One quick poke and he bleeds! And I'm starting to love this meter, as it requires such a small amount of blood.

So, this is interesting, 251 to 115. I'd say this insulin is working for this boy.
 
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236, PMPS 251 +3.5 115

Hillary,
I'm glad Blue is starting to settle in and allow you to test more. He's a lucky boy, he just doesn't know it!

I would try a +5 for sure, and a +7 would be great. I suspect the dose may be a little high, and if so, his nadir will be later than typical, maybe +8 or later. The ps #s trending upward make me think he's bouncing, and that's a pretty big drop for +3.5.
 
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236, PMPS 251 +3.5 115

yep it's definitely working. and you're gonna need to get some tests in later for sure. :) i'd definitely go for a +5, and then if looking a little low, keep testing perhaps thru +7. figure this insulin should keep working for another 3 hours or so soooooooooooo :)
 
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236, PMPS 251 +3.5 115

Thanks was planning on +5, and then bed, but will have to see what that looks like and then will know if I can go to sleep or not.

Do you think I'll need any HC with him, as I don't have any in the house...since I no longer needed it and yes, broke down the hypo kit, but I do have syrup and such if needed and can run to the market if really necessary....
 
Re: 6/18 Alexia's Blue AMPS 236, PMPS 251 +3.5 115

Does he eat well? If so, FF may be enough, it tends to spike pretty good if he will eat enough of it. *I* would get some HC in case, but you're much more experienced than I am and you know what to do! Just be aware that PZ onset is typically +2, and that big of a drop in an hour and a half is a little concerning. Take a look at Tinkles' SS, he is usually still above ps # at +3. ECID though....there just isn't enough data to know how the insulin is working with Blue.
 
Well, if I were to assess here, I'd say yes a big drop, but look at how nice he is surfing. and speaking of surfing this test took longer, partly cause I can't see and had to find Maui's flashlight and his head was in the carrier, which made it more awkward to poke. Tuna wasn't enough of a distraction from those snarling teeth!

But, I prevailed and look at this number.

And you asked about his appy - well he sure can eat, he just had some tuna and is now chomping (yes he makes lots of noise when he eats) on his FF dinner. He is like a dive bomber grazer - when it's fresh and really wet, he goes at it, then leaves and dive bombs back for another session. I don't know how many sessions he has, but I am giving him 2 cans of FF at a time.

Yes, this boy can eat and just went from his "dinner" to his "breakfast" bowl, as I forgot to pull that up. and now he just circled back to eat from the "dinner" bowl. see dive bomber - LOL
 
And I was so hoping it wasn't going to be! Blue is a good color on a cat named Blue.

It was a challenge to get the +5, so I am glad I don't have to try a +7 tonight.
 
sorry it took a bit for me to come back but glad you got the +5. the food kept him surfing, it looks like, so leave food out if you're off to bed.

pretty big drop at the beginning. you might want to shave the dose a little. but as long as the AMPS is decent you might want to curve him at 1u anyway to see how it works thruout the cycle (mini curve as we discussed).

2 cans of FF at a time? wow. how much does this guy weigh, do you think? is he overweight, normal, skinny?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top