6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82|10~110|PMPS~152

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie&Willy

Member Since 2011
UGH Yesterday

PJ Party with Mr. Willy last night. Finally gave in and gave some HC around 3.5 to slow him down so that I could go to bed at some point :lol: :lol: It was a battle but I feel victorious although extremely exhausted.

Going to go BTB for a little while... I will stop by condos later but I will be thinking of you all and keeping Sandy in our heart.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214

Hi guys .. no wonder you feel so tired today! I hope you enjoyed your btb and that willy gives you some time to rest up! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192

Couldn't get to sleep! Ugh!!! Whenever I am sleep deprived my appendages feel all numb... it's the worst. I took one of Willy's b-12 because sometimes it helps lessen the sensation! Oh well! Maybe I can get my DH to handle the pack tonight so I can go to bed early... :lol: :lol:

Going to call the vet soon and find out if she is in today and if she would have time to talk to me about testing for Acro...
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Your vet quit?? (( Stephanie )) I hope there's another in the practice that can work with you and Willy.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Great numbers for Willy! Hope you are able to get some rest.

That really stinks about your vet. Good ones are hard to find especially with special needs animals. I hope you can get some references and find a new one quick!
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Found out that my vet quit when I went in to speak about having Willy tested for Acro/IAA/etc... we're known as "the guys with the diabetic" by anyone who doesn't actually know our name (they ALL know Willy's name).

So, we decided to try talking to the other vet at the clinic before we make a decision if we go vet shopping. She was the original vet he saw when he went DKA; she originally DX'd him with having a dental infection and it took some pushing to figure out it was ACTUALLY DKA :roll: :roll: :roll: She's also the one that sorta advised us to... not go down the path we're on because it's "difficult" and "expensive" (she is quite old and my understanding is this is an old school line of thought). We figured we've been at this clinic for a long time and we like the techs so we'll gauge her response to everything we tell her and decide next week if we would like to go forth with her look for someone new.

Anyways, the talk went ok. I kinda caught her up on what we were doing (diet, protocol, spreadsheet). I explained we were very "aggressive" in our treatment and while it may not work for everyone, it works for us because we hometest and we're prepared (ie: yesterday last night).

She seemed ok with the range he was in (more OK about it than our vet was) and she approved (verbally!) of his diet (high protein low carb!). These are both huge pluses for us.

One BIG negative is she was convinced that the *only* real way to judge diabetes regulation is fructosamine because it's a "summary over time, not just one point in time." I explained that I test many times a day and that data is real time. I planned to have a fructosamine done in August anyways and I don't mind making minor concessions if I am able to continue doing what I am doing with support. :lol: :lol:

I brought her Willy's spreadsheet, the protocol, and the information for Acro/IAA. I told her about my understanding of these things and that I wanted to give her some time to look into them and what would be needed for the testing. She seemed reluctant to consider Acro, is convinced is extremely rare. I told her there are a number of things that concern us about Willy and went on to explain what they were. For each thing I said, she sorta shrugged (hate when people do that, at least feign interest!). I expressed my understanding that a lot of my observations were subjective as individual things but as a whole they are suspect and my preference to have them ruled out. I also explained that knowing this wouldn't change anything but it would allow us to understand things that MAY arise in the future. She was briefly convinced he has hypoT but looked back in his record and saw it was already ruled out. :lol: :lol: She also mentioned something about seeing an internal specialist in PHX but in the context, it didn't really make sense.

When I reiterated the testing information she didn't really listen to me (I don't think she understood that I was saying it will need to be sent out and I know it can't be done by THEIR lab). She doesn't know if their lab will allow them to do the test; she needs to speak to some manager or something about it. She is going to look into it this weekend and contact us on Monday with an update (she can't guarantee an answer by then but will update us for sure). In her defense, we were taking up a lot of her time for how busy they were. I am hoping she looks closer at everything this weekend. :? It was unintentional but I had to explain myself 2-3-4 times because I kept getting interrupted.

If the test can be done, I think we will give them a fair shot and continue going there, especially because she approved (on the surface) of the protocol/diet/etc. If they won't do it (unless for a really good reason, and then I would expect them to refer us to someone in town who can) I think we will shop around.

*Oh, one more thing about my clinic that I like: as a WHOLE they do not over vaccinate or suggest things unnecessarily (we don't have a big flea/tick problem here, I asked about it for Gizmo and my vet told me not to worry about it unless I was planning to travel a lot because the risk of chemical burn outweighs the probability of him getting fleas/ticks). They actually wrote me a note to give to my apartment (requires proof of vaccination) that Willy was not a public health hazard and because he was vaccinated properly in the past, is indoor only, and he's diabetic it is unnecessary to vaccinate him further at this time.



Sienne- that comment made me laugh!!!

Nina & Melissa- thank you for the thoughts. We have a healthy stock of insulin (4 pens left and 1 refill for a new box) so that's good news. There is also a 24hr clinic here that has really state of the art (supposedly) equipment. Willy was there when he was DKA and they took really good care of him, however, because they handle emergencies, the vet really did not give us much attention because she was super busy. This is something I don't like.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Awesome work with the potential new vet. My spunky was an acro cat. I begged for the test....they did it for me...not cause they saw value in it. They even sort of dismissed the positive result. Mine too requested fructosamine.....once they got the TOTALLY normal result they said "huh...what you are doing is working...let us know if you need anything." They let me treat as I saw fit. We became known as the best controlled diabetic in their history. Sometimes you just need their blessing....not for them to agree or even learn from you...although that would be nice too. They knew I could help Peake....although he seems to be doing better on his own. Paws still crossed. Good luck with your test. Look on the website for Michigan state...they used to test wednesday only I think so blood drawn and overnighted at the perfect time to get there will net you faster results :razz:
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Hi Stephanie: What an experience with the vet. It's so difficult to find ones who understand. I haven't read enough of your condo to know why you think he is acro? Five units bid doesn't seem that much; does he have other symptoms....jaws, tongue, leg issues, etc? I was just surprised to read that from you.

I wish you luck with whichever vet you decide on....the old one at your clinic or a different clinic. Hope you get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Thank you. The information from Michigan State (found in the Acro support group) is what I brought to her today. I'm glad to see that someone else has had the same (almost) dismissive treatment. As long as they are WILLING to do the test and listen to me, I am happy. It's a bummer because we just got to that point with our vet. I guess she left for a fellowship (internship?) or something. Ugh! I don't want to start over!

Willy isn't on a super high dose, but we really feel there is something going on with him. We might be totally nuts (likely) but I would prefer to know for sure!! :lol:


In other news: 2 different cats that I ADORED at Petsmart (humane society adoption center thing) got adopted out today! We are soooo happy!!

The boys owners abandoned him because they moved and couldn't take him :roll: :roll: . They kept coming in with their very young daughter to see him and it really really upset him (and the kid, she was bawling the entire time) and he stayed upset for quite awhile when they left. I felt so bad for him (I go in weekly and I saw them at least twice). (They told me they were his owners etc.)

The other was this amazing, sweet kitty and they made room to keep her there for the last 8 weeks because she was such a doll.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Must be unsettling for the new vet to meet ordinary beans who know (at least) as much as she does!

I hope you get a vet as good as you deserve!
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Marje- I mentioned it awhile ago in passing. I really thought it was HypoT (dry skin, won't lose weight, always hungry) but it came back normal in February. I don't know much about cat health or how to put things together to determine it or even what's important. So many of the symptoms are seriously subjective... I mean really, what is "large"? "Large" compared to what? :lol:

These are some of the things going on, I am open to any suggestions if there is anything you can think of (or rule out)!! We really -believe- deep down that it's nothing but we -feel- like something is off (if that makes sense). We're just trying to rule things out as they come up. We have been known, in the past, to overreact to small things so if you think we're being silly, also open to that because after the way the vet shrugged me off I'm starting to think I am. If you want me to take a picture or video of anything to clarify, I can this weekend.

Main Issues:

- Insatiable appetite. It has not gotten better. Not even a little bit. He eats so fast he will throw up a little (gag?) while eating and just continue without a pause. He will eat until he pukes and he will eat anything that seems eatible (including plastic/paper if it has food smell on it). We strictly limit his calorie intake to 220-240 calories a day because he packs on weight if he goes above that. We give NO treats or additional food because he completely flips out. He attacked me twice yesterday after I gave him HC-- he was after the spoon but decided that since I was the one holding it to go after me. After that he jumped up at my DH and went for his hand completely unprovoked.

- He has weird breathing (think of how someone sounds when they are on oxygen-- only way I can describe it-- it's in his nasal area and it's loud almost like a sudden and hard inhale). It is not constant, but it is most of the time. It's HIGHLY audible. It is not allergy related (he's always done it and asthma was ruled out in the past).

- Still flooding the litterbox. He isn't drinking from the fountain at all to my knowledge. I do water down his food but he is peeing so much that he gets his back feet wet because it can't make it through the litter fast enough. The amount coming out seems like WAY MORE than he is consuming.

- High cholesterol. 3/4 vets we've seen said he's the correct weight and that it (high chol) makes no sense. 1 says he could lose a pound but it wasn't super important. This was the only abnormality on his last blood test. We've been working to get him to lose the pound but it's really stubborn.

Other stuff (mostly subjective):

- He is a large cat. It seems disproportionate in a lot of ways. He has a very large abdomen, very very large feet, flat head. His ears and tail look tiny for his size. He used to be the size of Rasta (when we found him) and he was suspected to be 2ish at that time but he's gotten bigger since then.

-Poor muscle definition/tone. It hasn't gotten better with better quality food or exercise.

- Not interested in playing. At all. Has always been this way. I don't think he's depressed or anything like that, he will occasionally tackle the others and cuddle on cat nip toys but he doesn't play. He is pretty lazy, in general, until it's close to food time when he starts YELLING at us for food as he walks around (he complains himself hoarse :lol: ).

- Neuropathy. We are attributing to diabetes and is fine when we give b-12. If we skip a dose it is noticeable.

- He has a really weird coat. It's always been weird. It's almost like it couldn't decide what length it wanted to be. Its like a really thick/super short undercoat (almost) with really awkwardly long guard hairs. It's especially noticeable if his head gets wet, the hair gets "wavy" looking because it's 2 lengths. I will try to get a picture of this later.

- Extremely dry skin (dandruff)on his back. This could be a lack of grooming but he is no longer getting mattes at the base of his tail so I think he has been at least somewhat. It has not improved with better food, vit E, fatty acids, etc.

- No infections, no dental needed.

- Weird/random jumps/drops in BG. I attribute this to just being a cat with diabetes. But the vet did note there were a few days where he jumped to 300 out of the blue (not a bounce) or drop a ton of points (yesterday!!!) for no real reason. I feel like I'm constantly having to shave his dose when he is low and add some fat when he's high because the 5u doesn't seem to be good enough (or is too good!) This would not be a good diagnostic tool since it's unreliable, even under the best of circumstances, since cats are cats.

- My DH wanted me to add that he has "frog legs".. basically, his legs look too big for his body so when he's sitting or laying down he resembles a frog.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Stephanie: thank you for giving me such a great description. I was very nosy curious what you meant. From what I have read of acro, I guess I might be suspicious, too. However, there are many cats that dive (Gracie although not like she used to) and also shoot up at the end of a cycle (Gracie...although not like she used to). I will be very interested in what you find out. Has he always looked like this or has it developed as he's gotten older?
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

I actually appreciate you being interested. I often think I am crazy and overreacting (I have in the past, especially with my dog since I haven't owned one before) and I don't mind hearing an outside opinion. I would say everything I mentioned began occurring at least 2 years after we took him in.

I should add that he's also very clumsy and doesn't do things that require precision or dexterity because he falls awkwardly and uncomfortably and lands "hard". I remember he used to try to run across the back of the sofa and he would completely fall off. He doesn't even bother anymore.

When we found him, he looked similar to Rasta and he was similar in size. His head has seemed flat for awhile (before his DX we actually nicknamed him Flat Head). Our old old old old vet (passed away) in the first years of Willy being in our home, told us a lot of it (Willy's issues such as one of his fangs just falling out completely out of nowhere) was probably the result of improper nutrition and to expect him to change physically.

Willy and I (actually) did not get along prior to his DX because when he would jump on you, the pressure from him standing was really really painful. Ofc I loved him but it was very frustrating because he wouldn't sit down, he just wanted to stand on you. He and I starting getting along better about a year before his DX... he didn't lose weight but the pressure was noticeably lessened (I wasn't getting bruises from him standing on me anymore). I do think his paws have gotten bigger.

The voracious eating has gotten soooo much worse, even since his DX. He's always been hungry and a "garbage disposal" but the intensity is really bad now.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Wow, Stephanie, what a lot you have on your plate when taking care of Willy. He is so lucky to have you & DH.
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

you have a lot going on stephanie! that's a lot of different symptoms that you're trying to figure out & then the whole vet thing - yikes.

my last cat, felix, hurt when he stood on us - and he would almost never sit on your lap. he'd sit beside you, or he'd stand on you, but not sit on your lap. at his peak he weighed about 24 lbs and his feet were tiny - all that weight concentrated on 4 pinpoints. yeah. it was not good. but he was the sweetest "little" baboo ever! we loved him.

i hope you can get some answers. i'm kinda confused about your vet's comments about the acro/iaa testing. all they have to do is draw the blood, separate the serum and send it off via fed ex. btw, the person who i talked to at the Michigan lab said use Fed Ex because they were having trouble getting stuff through the post office in a timely manner.

i'm going to go look up that song! :lol:
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

Sienne and Gabby said:
One thought to help sort some of the issues out is to schedule a phone consult with Cornell. The Feline Health Center will set up consultations for around $50.

Thank you for this Sienne!! I am going to look into it. I would love somewhere to start. The other vet (that I initially had problems with but actually worked out to be very eager to learn) listened to everything I would say, nodded enthusiastically, and then told me what is plausible/worth considering and what is unlikely. I think part of it is that I feel dismissed, it's frustrating.

I really hope I am making something out of nothing, I do have that habit with my pets... general lack of life/pet/children experience.

Kathy and Julie- I don't think this would've been a big deal if our vet was still there. Now we have to go through the process of getting acquainted with someone else, trying to let them get to know Willy, and determining if they are a good fit ON TOP OF sorting all this out. UGH!!! I REALLY like all the girls that are techs at the clinic. They are all super nice and helpful. I really wish the clinic would've sent us out a letter or something... I feel very let down, caught off guard, and overwhelmed. They normally send out letters for stuff like this, are very good about calling you to check in, getting back to you about questions, etc.

Julie- PS- you're gonna hate me!!!
 
Re: 6/17Willy AMPS~214|2~192|5~92|7~82 my vet quit

it's not possible, stephanie! :lol: i haven't listened to it yet because the family's watching monk on tv . . .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top