6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6~ 95+7 156+11.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17388
Hello almost back to our right time Trey got to eat 6:30am-6:45am tested at 7:30 am and he is 331BG Tonight would it be ok to move up another 30 minutes .Tonight we could move him to 7:00pm and in the morning he would be back to his 6:30am then testing before he eats or right after he eat what is the best way? Will get a test today what is the best hour to test just want to do one AMPS and one PMPs cause tomorrow we want to do the curve and need to know what hours I should be doing this at ok. Had a good day so ready to start over.. Hubby said he got along great no fuss at all with Trey. Our company is back today till the 24th.We will work around this Everything is great from now on No more furshots,no more eating before his shot Everything is perfect Right ? I believe !!!! I believe!!!! Thanks so much for being here... ~O) :YMSIGH: @-) @-) @-) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Trey 331 AMPS Advice

Good Morning: Belated Happy Birthday Trey. I usually test, shoot and feed. In fact, I usually shot Tuffy while she was eating and she did not mind. He is probably a little high from the nice blue he had yesterday. You are doing fine. Have a good day, enjoy your company.
 
Re: 6/17 Trey 122 AMPS Advice

Hi just did a test I think this would be a +4 11:30am Trey is 122BG so easy now using a towel to snug him in ....will do another later but what time would be best +6 or later one LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/17 Trey 122 AMPS Advice

HI Kath
I am glad it is getting easier for you to test Trey.

Please change your first subject line to read like this.

6/17 Trey AMPS 331~+4 122

You gave Trey his shot at 730 when his BG was 331 as oer your ss.
You can get another test at +6, that would be nice.
As Sienne said earlier, please, please try and get in some tests after his PM shot.
Those 12 hours are just as inmportant as the daytime 12 hours.
You are doing a great job!
 
Re: 6/17 Trey AMPS 331~+4 122

I am so happy to see a +4 pretty blue!


Hope you can catch a +6 - it could be :arrow: :mrgreen: heee heee!!!
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT now we're getting somewhere!

This is very good - you are so close to finding Trey's peak! And now we know he can hit those pretty greens!
IF you're up for it - go for +7 :mrgreen:

eeeek!!! I'm so happy for you Kath!!! :-D
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6

And what do we have in here now?
Well it looks like we have a pro in Kath, adjusting Trey's schedule and testing as easy as pie!

Well done to you Kath, you have come a long way since your arrival on the boards, and I bet you are feeling alot more relaxed and sure of what needs to be done and when to keep you Trey healthy.

It also seems like Trey is being very well behaved and giving you some great numbers! I bet by now that you are seeing some good improvements in how Trey is acting too.

I hope your day keeps going so well.
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6

Yeah!!!!! :mrgreen: I am too so pleased with us too.Trey just tested +7 (2:30) and he is 95.4BG He is the best boy Thanks to all for your help
:lol: :mrgreen: :shock: :-D
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6~ 95+7

Love the emitocon variety pack. :lol:
Congratulations on going green.

Sorry if it is already here -- I'm rushing through -- did you switch to syringes? Do you think these numbers coincide with that?
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6~ 95+7

No still using pen we checked the amount and our pen is right on so we left it at that will use syringes when we start to change units hope that is ok LOL Kath
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 86 +6~ 95+7

OK, good. I'm so glad you ditched that 3u dose.
Did you buy the syringes? you'll want them handy cause next dose will likely be going down by 0.25u.
 
Test at 12 - real PMPS and shot 2U.
This might be the lowest you've shot, so please get a +1 and +2.
You will be home and have wet food HC cans and strips right?
Nice cycle today.
 
live and learn... that's all. Been there, done that too... no worries.

rule of thumb... no food 2 hours before shot time -> otherwise your BG number may be artificially high because of the food.

test, shot and feed... (but we don't send the minute police to your house to verify)
Try to be as close to 12/12 as you can, but again.. .no minute police dispatched to PEI.... only to the USA :lol:

So +1 is PMPS +1 hour.... right?
 
I do have the syringes and I will keep a close eye on him maybe we can test at +1 to see if he is coming down or +2 he did have some thing to eat ....Will stay calm :mrgreen: feeling so bad wish I would have waited a few more minutes but what s done is done one step at a time :shock:
 
We fed him after his shot but it was 2 hours before his shot no food Right >We were 15 minutes early because we are working on getting him back to 7:00 then we will be back on time .....
 
yup one step at a time Kath - dont go feeling bad, you're doing a-ok and learning along the way. :-D

now.....how bout that +1 tonight :mrgreen:

I check back on you later :razz:
 
Hey Kath,
You are doing amazing! Don't worry about it!

Now you see what we meant about needing to see Trey's numbers between his shots.
That little rascal has probably been getting greens but you never knew it!

So now, you want to get a +1 and +2 so you know what Trey is doing 1hour after his shot and also 2hours after his shot.

Last, don't forget to catch that before-bed test so you know where Trey was when you went to bed.

The next thing you know, you are going to have some nice sunshine yellow amps numbers!
 
Re: 6/17 Trey PMPS 214+1.5

OK we tested at 8:30 pm and he is 214bg we will test before we go to bed +5(12:00pm) then in the morning we do a curve do we test +3 +6 +9 not sure here vet says every 4 hours should I be relieved now?????? nailbite_smile :mrgreen:
 
Hi Kath,
The 214 is fine, but you have it in the +2 column, so just move it to the left and put it into the +1 column.
That +5 will be a perfect test time because it may be around Trey's nadir so you will see if he is really low or if he is fine.
For your curve, you can do whatever you feel like doing. Just remember that there is no such thing as too much data. Just think of that ss as being a scratch card - the more you scratch, the more you see is underneath. And just look at those great greens you uncovered!
You can do the 3, 6, and 9 tests, but you can change it up on other curves. Don't always pick the same times. The next time you could do 2, 7, and 10 on another curve, or you could test every 2 hours.
It looks like Trey is getting his lowest numbers around +6 so you can check at +5 and +7 or 8; you are trying to discover Trey's pattern and once you know, you will be able to react better to his needs.

You're doing great and I bet Trey's looking alot better now too because he's got some pretty fine numbers there today.
 
Kath --

A couple of rules/hints to keep Trey safe and you sane:
  • Your test before your morning shot is your AMPS (AM Pre-Shot)
  • Your test before your evening shot is your PMPS (PM Pre-Shot)
  • The order is test, feed, shoot. (Many of us give a shot while our cat is eating.)
  • If you don't know if it's safe to give a shot, do not feed. Post on the Board and someone will help you sort out what to do.
  • For doses that are not in full units (i.e., 1.0, 2.0, etc.), you will need syringes. The pen will only be accurate if you are measuring a full unit of insulin and sometimes are not accurate even for a full unit. Syringes are better for measuring insulin.
  • Shoot as close to your regular shot time as possible. If you are off schedule, we can help you figure out what to do to get back on schedule.
  • You really need to get spot checks during the morning AND evening cycles. AT LEAST one spot check, in addition to your AMPS and PMPS is needed. More is better especially as you see Trey's numbers improving.
  • Everyone here is in a different time zone. There are people here in California and South Africa and Europe. Times need to be in the hours from your shot times. Midnight is different for all of us.
  • A curve is every 2 hours. A mini-curve is every 3 hours. If you are going to get a curve, test every 2 hours. (It's ok to feed the way you always do. You don't need to hold food due to shots when doing a curve. Just don't feed close to your PMPS. See the point below.)
  • No food within 2 hours of shot time. If you want to feed late in the cycle, feed no later than +9 to be safe.
  • DO NOT run out of strips or HC, canned food.
  • No dry food.
 
Tested a bit early too tired so off to bed get ready for another day of stabbing our boys ear. Tested 241@PMPS+4.25 Just wondering how come he is still going up should he not have came down a bit more. It was +1.5 when he ate last....I hope he will be ok for the night He sleeps with me so I will check off and on for sure . Say that and maybe I will not hear a thing LOL Kath pray for a great day to all tomorrow and for our boy Good numbers are coming LOL Kath
 
The rise in numbers is a bounce (or rebound). It's a result of the greens in the AM cycle. This is a normal event. Trey is used to higher numbers. When he's in the greens (or maybe even the blues), it's a level of BG his body isn't used to. As a result, his liver "panics" and pumps out stored glucose as a way to protect itself. The more time that Trey spends in healthy, normal BG numbers, the less his liver will panic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top