? 6/17 TiTI Procedure to clear colon. AMPS 208 NS HOME!! +20.5 158 +23.5 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Very Active Member
What a shame. She is coming down , and now I could not Give her th 8.5 dose, because she is in surgery. Like things weren't complicated enough.

Ok. Just called the doc. TiTi's out of surgery. Did well. I asked them to chekc her BG. I think they were a bit surprised by my request, but I explained that lately her numbers have been all over the place.

Titi's home, eating like a champ, active, and talking her head off. +8.5 158
 
Last edited:
Kathy, I was reading through the end of yesterday's thread and saw your comment about people asking you repeatedly about megacolon. I know I've mentioned it more than once, but although I've read every one of your posts, I haven't seen you respond about it. I'm wondering if you have quoted me and then answered inside the quote. Your comments will be sure to be seen if you put them after the end of the quote, not inside of it. That may be the reason you feel like you're getting asked the same questions repeatedly. Sorry about annoying you with it.

Hoping everything is going well for Titi this morning!!
 
Kathy, I was reading through the end of yesterday's thread and saw your comment about people asking you repeatedly about megacolon. I know I've mentioned it more than once, but although I've read every one of your posts, I haven't seen you respond about it. I'm wondering if you have quoted me and then answered inside the quote. Your comments will be sure to be seen if you put them after the end of the quote, not inside of it. That may be the reason you feel like you're getting asked the same questions repeatedly. Sorry about annoying you with it.

Hoping everything is going well for Titi this morning!!

This happens a lot. I do need to be sure I answer at the end of a message. But even when I have, it just seems like the same question, gets asked a lot by a lot of different people. Dunno why. Maybe the threads get out of order?

Should I put all the answers on my original condo for the day?

How does it work anyway? when you send me a message, is it attached to any sort of thread?
 
What a shame. She is coming down , and now I could not Give her th 8.5 dose, because she is in surgery. Like things weren't complicated enough.

Ok. Just called the doc. TiTi's out of surgery. Did well. I asked them to chekc her BG. I think they were a bit surprised by my request, but I explained that lately her numbers have been all over the place.

Titi's home, eating like a champ, active, and talking her head off. +8.5 158

Whew! What a kitty!
 
All right! Way to go Titi!!!

By the way, being that you skipped the AM shot that 158 is actually +20.5 :cool:

eta - also, being that you didn't shoot this morning if that 208 was at 8am it belongs in yesterdays PM+10
 
Last edited:
Kathy, I was reading through the end of yesterday's thread and saw your comment about people asking you repeatedly about megacolon. I know I've mentioned it more than once, but although I've read every one of your posts, I haven't seen you respond about it. I'm wondering if you have quoted me and then answered inside the quote. Your comments will be sure to be seen if you put them after the end of the quote, not inside of it. That may be the reason you feel like you're getting asked the same questions repeatedly. Sorry about annoying you with it.

Hoping everything is going well for Titi this morning!!

I bet I did. I'll scroll to the the bottom from now on. Yes, actually , I've been giving everyone who asks, very thorough answers.

The deal is that my doctor assessed her for megacolon, and nixed it. She has literally been inside her descending colon 3 times now, the cells are just a bit thicker than normal, probably from the stress of having repeated problems with crap getting rock solid inside it, ("it" being the descending colon.)
On x-ray, the colon also appears normal.

My doc thinks, and I concur, that for whatever set of reasons relating to the diabetes, she dehydrates far too easily, and at least for the nonce, my doc feels that 100mls lactated ringers daily, and 1/4 tsp Miralax daily will work. We'll use lactulose for a back-up, if things do start to back up anyway. She also recommended a special diet for constipation, but it relies on fiber, and my doc did not know the protein content. The price of it is outrageous anyway, so I thanked her, but said, I'd rather not at this time. I'd rather save up for the 3 tests.

I'm doing a re-check in a few days, and plan to ask my doc to instruct me in how to palpate TiTI's kidneys in order to feel whether or not TiTI is backing up again.

There. That is as thorough an explanation as I can think of.
 
Piling on my well wishes and hope she feels perky soon.

She's like a brand new cat! I guess the pain med injection is a big help. lol But I also think getting rid of all that crap-litereally, is a great relief. Her whole descending colon was packed with rock hard feces.

Clearly dehydration that doesn't show up on the pinch test. I think some pro-biotics might be a good idea.
 
All right! Way to go Titi!!!

By the way, being that you skipped the AM shot that 158 is actually +20.5 :cool:

eta - also, being that you didn't shoot this morning if that 208 was at 8am it belongs in yesterdays PM+10
\
I fixed it, but I will not understand where it is, or what actual time it represents, while it is sitting back there in the previous day. As it is I need to count and refer back to my meter to know what is going on.
However, when I look at the chart as a whole entity, it is very helpful to find trends, and places where there are post shot sites with consistent spikes and drops in BG.

So I see the balue. It's a lot like learning a foreign language.
 
I fixed it, but I will not understand where it is, or what actual time it represents, while it is sitting back there in the previous day.
in your time column you indicate 9:55 PM was the time of last nights shot. Lets call it 10 PM. Since 8 AM is 10 hours later that makes the test a+10
However, when I look at the chart as a whole entity, it is very helpful to find trends, and places where there are post shot sites with consistent spikes and drops in BG.
precisely.
Along with the spikes and drops you need to accurately assess duration. It's so important to making safe dosing decisions. You may find yourself in need of quick help at some point and having the tests reflect the true +hour makes it easier for someone unfamiliar with Titi to make the best possible assessment as quickly as possible


.
 
Good to hear that Titi is feeling so much better now! :) How long until shot time? Some of us are discussing dose for tonight - anesthesia can bring down the blood glucose so it can be a good idea to reduce the dose the evening of surgery.
 
in your time column you indicate 9:55 PM was the time of last nights shot. Lets call it 10 PM. Since 8 AM is 10 hours later that makes the test a+10
precisely.
Along with the spikes and drops you need to accurately assess duration. It's so important to making safe dosing decisions. You may find yourself in need of quick help at some point and having the tests reflect the true +hour makes it easier for someone unfamiliar with Titi to make the best possible assessment as quickly as possible


.
Yes. I am beginning to get it. The duration is still fuzzy for me; figuring out the duration of each depot, can take you pretty far back, like more than 3 cycles, and this is still tough for me.

But I am grateful for all the data I have now. It made it clear this morning that skipping the shoot was a good choice.
I am considering shooting at 9:30 tonight and leaving the shoot times there. Because of this job, my sleep schedule favors getting to bed between 1-2am, and up around 9am. Now lately I have no sleep schedule, but if we can keep TiTi's BGs less crazy, I can get back into what works best for me. I did think it possible to solve this sooner, but by hurrying it in any way, I just prolonged it.

Seems safe to shoot 8.5 at PMPS (9:30pm) tonight.
 
Anesthesia can lower blood glucose and the effects can be seen for several hours. If TiTi is still coming down at preshot time, it may not be safe to shoot 8.5U tonight.
 
Good to hear that Titi is feeling so much better now! :) How long until shot time? Some of us are discussing dose for tonight - anesthesia can bring down the blood glucose so it can be a good idea to reduce the dose the evening of surgery.

I thought normal (8.5) at 10pm, which is 1 hour from now. The anesthesia was gas delivered thru a mask. An iv was run of lactated ringers, and the surgery took 15-30 minutes, no comlications. She got a morphine based shot for pain around 2pm today.
She started the day in yellow, is now in mid-blues, and hasn't had much reaction to the surgery at least visually, except that she feels much better, is no longer hot to the touch, and is gallivanting around like a kitten, and eating easily..
 
Last edited:
Anesthesia can lower blood glucose and the effects can be seen for several hours. If TiTi is still coming down at preshot time, it may not be safe to shoot 8.5U tonight.

Well she is at exactly the level she was at about 4 hours ago. I have little data for today, because she didn't come home until 4pm. At 8am she was 288 and feeling crummy. Please see what I just posted re: the anesthesia used, and all the other details of the surgery.

Here is what Iposted a few minutes earlier
I thought normal (8.5) at 10pm, which is 1 hour from now. The anesthesia was gas delivered thru a mask. An iv was run of lactated ringers, and the surgery took 15-30 minutes, no comlications. She got a morphine based shot for pain around 2pm today.
She started the day in yellow, is now in mid-blues, and hasn't had much reaction to the surgery at least visually, except that she feels much better, is no longer hot to the touch, and is gallivanting around like a kitten, and eating easily..
 
The thing is, we still don't know how much over dose she may be. Personally I think there are more pajama parties to come and so suggest 5 or 6u BCS for tonight.
Why tempt fate ?

Remember- better a day too high than an hour too low.

(BCS=big chicken s**t)
 
The thing is, we still don't know how much over dose she may be. Personally I think there are more pajama parties to come and so suggest 5 or 6u BCS for tonight.
Why tempt fate ?

Remember- better a day too high than an hour too low.

(BCS=big chicken s**t)

I'm a a bit confused. How does this relate to the surgery? Are you proposing a permanent reduction? Or is this related to surgery? Or what?
 
I'm a a bit confused. How does this relate to the surgery? Are you proposing a permanent reduction? Or is this related to surgery? Or what?
One time, as a precaution, based on the anesthesia combined with Titis true insulin needs still being unknown. In the morning return to 8.5u, numbers permitting.

The decision is yours. you hold the syringe.
 
Gas administered thru a mask has the lowest possible duration of effect. Like 30 minutes.
One time, as a precaution, based on the anesthesia combined with Titis true insulin needs still being unknown. In the morning return to 8.5u, numbers permitting.

The decision is yours. you hold the syringe.

I hold the syringe, but have been an idiot holder at times. I know now, this is a long haul. I hate it, but it's so.

How bout 6.5. lol. My usual compromise. Then I'l feed hr and go to be. I really can't do any more PJ parties for a while. I'm on the verge of getting sick - happens if I lose too much sleep for too long. At some point, my body tells me to go to Hell, and then it does go to hell.

Wish I'd been told which anesthesia they used, other than gas with a mask. There's heaps of types of gas. Yea, it's always less long lasting, but it varies depending on which gas is used. .
 
I agree it's better to err on the side of safely. Since you don't have half unit syringes yet, wouldn't 6 units be easier for you? If you're going to be soon after shooting and don't plan to test tonight, it's even more important to be conservative here.

BTW, I'm so glad she came through the surgery so well and is feeling so much better. I'm sure it makes your heart happy to see her that way!
 
Whatever you decide, please plan to get at least one additional test before AMPS. She is full of surprises.

Well, I'm testing before PMPS tonight, of course, and plan to test 1 hour after. More to get the stats than anything else.,
Might test at +2 or +3. I've been passing out more than falling asleep lately; that's the problem.
Tomorrow, certainly right before AMPS. Before? doubtful.

Yes, she is surprising. Sturdy as a frigate one day, then a day later, fragile as a rose in the Texan sun.
 
I agree it's better to err on the side of safely. Since you don't have half unit syringes yet, wouldn't 6 units be easier for you? If you're going to be soon after shooting and don't plan to test tonight, it's even more important to be conservative here.

BTW, I'm so glad she came through the surgery so well and is feeling so much better. I'm sure it makes your heart happy to see her that way!

Too true - If my syringe error is on the .75 side, that would not be good. So yea, 6 units.

Yes, I am pleased. She doesn't mind the Miralax taste either, so it's easy to give it to her. I use a syringe and she figures she's drinking some nice water.

Off now to pill Mikey, test, shoot, hydrate, and Miramax TiTi, take my BP pill, and test TiTi again, then pass out. lol :)
 
so glad that she came through it all ok and is feeling well tonight! I'm glad you gave a reduced dose tonight. It's good to be cautious after anesthesia.
 
This happens a lot. I do need to be sure I answer at the end of a message. But even when I have, it just seems like the same question, gets asked a lot by a lot of different people. Dunno why. Maybe the threads get out of order?

Should I put all the answers on my original condo for the day?

How does it work anyway? when you send me a message, is it attached to any sort of thread?

No, please don't put your answers throughout the day in the original condo (first post of the thread) for the day. Your comments will get missed there. No one looks there for updated information. Use that only for the first post of the day.

Go ahead and add a new reply to your thread anytime you are answering questions or adding information throughout the day.

How does it work anyway? when you send me a message, is it attached to any sort of thread?

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by this. Everyone should just hit "reply" to post a new answer.
 
Too true - If my syringe error is on the .75 side, that would not be good. So yea, 6 units.

Yes, I am pleased. She doesn't mind the Miralax taste either, so it's easy to give it to her. I use a syringe and she figures she's drinking some nice water.

Off now to pill Mikey, test, shoot, hydrate, and Miramax TiTi, take my BP pill, and test TiTi again, then pass out. lol :)

I agree it's better to err on the side of safely. Since you don't have half unit syringes yet, wouldn't 6 units be easier for you? If you're going to be soon after shooting and don't plan to test tonight, it's even more important to be conservative here.

BTW, I'm so glad she came through the surgery so well and is feeling so much better. I'm sure it makes your heart happy to see her that way!
Thanks. GOt another problem here
10pm pe AMPS 172
12a. +2 131
1am+3 79 (2 1/2 mls of sugar, ans100mls lactated ringer, and fed TiTi
1:40am 84
2:11am 95

The drops post AMPS were scary . Now I'm getting at least a flat line.

I need some advice on how to proceed.

I sent same message to Ju;lie. Figure someone is up.
 
Whatever you decide, please plan to get at least one additional test before AMPS. She is full of surprises.
yea, and another surprise:
10pm pe AMPS 172
12a. +2 131
1am+3 79 (2 1/2 mls of sugar, ans100mls lactated ringer, and fed TiTi
1:40am 84
2:11am 95

The drops post AMPS were scary . Now I'm getting at least a flat line.

I need some advice on how to proceed.

sent same message to Julie and TRicia.
Anesthesia can lower blood glucose and the effects can be seen for several hours. If TiTi is still coming down at preshot time, it may not be safe to shoot 8.5U tonight.

I shot a 6 on advice, but still in trouble:
10pm pe AMPS 172
12a. +2 131
1am+3 79 (2 1/2 mls of sugar, ans100mls lactated ringer, and fed TiTi
1:40am 84
2:11am 95

The drops post AMPS were scary . Now I'm getting at least a flat line.

I need some advice on how to proceed.
 
So Glad she's through the surgery, sending vines:bighug::bighug:

Hi, Gil,
Hope you got some vines left.

Dunno if you're around

I'm in some trouble here.

Shot 6units at 10pm AMPS, and then
10pm pe AMPS 172
12a. +2 131
1am+3 79 (2 1/2 mls of sugar, ans100mls lactated ringer, and fed TiTi
1:40am 84
2:11am 95

The drops post AMPS were scary . Now I'm getting at least a flat line.

I need some advice on how to proceed.
 
she dropped 60 points in an hour.
That is not good
Alsso I ran out of contour strips. I need to swith to the relion prime meter, so on the last test, I used a big drop of blood to test both meters:
relion meter: 91
Contour meter 98

The 2 test were taken within seconds, so I conclude that the relion meeter tests approx 8 points lower than the Contour.
 
I think you will find that if you take two tests from the same drop of blood with the same meter, you will get two different numbers, too.
she dropped 60 points in an hour.
Yes, that requires action, but I do think honey was a little extreme. I would have given LC, or MC at the most. You don't want to send her to the moon, just slow her down.

Of course, I know you need to get some sleep, so maybe you did want to make her go high? The effects of the honey should wear off within about two hours, so you should know soon if she's going to keep going up or go down again. Have you fed her anything since the honey?
 
I think you will find that if you take two tests from the same drop of blood with the same meter, you will get two different numbers, too.

Yes, that requires action, but I do think honey was a little extreme. I would have given LC, or MC at the most. You don't want to send her to the moon, just slow her down.

Of course, I know you need to get some sleep, so maybe you did want to make her go high? The effects of the honey should wear off within about two hours, so you should know soon if she's going to keep going up or go down again. Have you fed her anything since the honey?
She escaped and scarfed 3 kibbles of dried food from the living room cats - they're on half wet half dry food
But she has her MC food and she nibbles it constantly.

Oh rats, then I have no idea how to calibrate the relion meter. Well, I'm on it now.

Want her to go high? Oh, no I just imagined her going down another 30 points in 30 minutes, and gave her the amount of honey that has worked in the past.

She rose to 82 and then the 90s for the last 3 checks - checking every half hour
And god yes I need to sleep. Is it safe to do so now?
 
ok, after 2 1/2 hours she's holding in the 90s

need to go to bed. I'm thinking, so do you.

From what you've already said, it's safe to go to bed, and I am. Enough already. If I go under, so do 15 other cats and 2 dogs, so if she doesn't hold till I get up, so be it.
But I'm sure she will. I probably over reacted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top