6/17 Tarragon PMPS 102 Vet update Turnup

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL!

Busy weekend flew by and I didn't get a chance to check in. Tarragon had a beautiful blue and green weekend and earned a reduction yesterday. Tarragon's appy has not been the greatest so it may have something to do with that. He is such a sweet boy and always worried about everyone else. He is our "old soul".

Our 16 year old civvie, Turnup, is not doing well and Tarragon hasn't left her side much. Turnup has dementia and it has gotten much worse over the last couple of days. She is obviously very confused and disoriented, staring at walls, re-doing a lot of her routine, not preening (she is a big preener), etc. She is always a very vocal kitty and hasn't had much to say the last couple of days but is making strange noises. We took her to ergent care yesterday because her breathing had become shallow and she was very shaky. Everything checked out ok, but they didn't want to put her through too many tests since she is so frail at only 7 pounds and doesn't do well at the vet. The vet thinks she may be having small strokes. We brought her home where she is happiest and will see how things go. Any extra vines would be appreciated by all of us.

This is a rare occurrence and only proof that Turnup is not feeling well. She usually can't share a seat with her pesky little brother but didn't mind at all that he wanted to lay with her all weekend.
 

Attachments

  • t&t.jpg
    t&t.jpg
    71.4 KB · Views: 741
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Nice start for T. Sending a TON of prayers for Turnup....how sweet of T to keep watch over her.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

(((Melissa))) How sweet with Turnup sleeping besides her bro Tarragon. That could be why Tarragon's appy is off with worry over Turnup. Sending many healing vines and prayers for Turnup. Keep us posted.
Congrats on Tarragon's reducie,
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

I'm glad I checked in this morning so I can add a ton of vines for Turnup. Tarragon is such a sweet brother, wanting to comfort his sister. Obviously, he's going to be affected by whatever she's going through. I'll be keeping you all in my prayers that she's okay. I'll keep good thoughts!!! Love you guys!!
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

((((Melissa))))
We are sending a bouquet of our most beautiful healing vines to Turnup this morning. I hope she'll be doing better today. Mr. T., keep on watching over your sister.
Thinking good thoughts,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Morning Melissa ~O) ~O) ~O)

Many many vines for Turnup. Be well little one. How wonderful that Mr T is watching over her, caring for her. Positive thoughts headed your way.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Adding my vines! It warms my heart how much T. is caring for Turnup right now.
Kitties know so much, don't they.

That's a beautiful amps, Tarragon!

Hugs, ((Melissa)) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Tons of vines for Turnup. Looks like Tarragon is giving her the best care possible. Hugs to you, Melissa.
Liz
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Ohh, Mellissa, I'm so sorry that Turnup is feeling poorly. How wonderful and gentle, Tarragon is, to keep watch over her.
She probably feels comforted to have him by her side, right now. I'm not surprised he isn't eating as well, as he knows something is different with his sister.
Sending lots of healing vines to Turnup, and prayers for your hurting heart.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Sending tons of healing vines for Turnup. Tarragon is such a good kitty looking after his sister.

Lots of healing hugs,
Tena
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Sending lots of healing vines for Turnup from us too...
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Hi Melissa. Glad to see Tarragon with a nice blue AMPS this morning.

Soooooooo sorry to hear hat Turnup isn't doing well. Were sending healing vines for Turnup and will keep turn up and you in our Prayers.

Have a great day Melissa.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

Morning Melissa, so sorry to hear about Turnup poor kitty,glad Tarragon is by her side.
Sending lots of vines and some snowflakes her way.

Tarragon Looking good :smile:
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 - Vines for Turnup

So sorry to hear about Turnup! Sending lots and lots of healing vines for her. Keep good watch over her, Tarragon!
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 +6 92 - Vines for Turnup

Thank you all. I went home and checked on the kids at lunch and let Charlie out since it stopped raining for the time being. Turnup was a little more talkative and came out for treats so that is always a good sign. She is still a little wobbly and seems a little confused, but at least she is home and resting. Tarragon ate all the breffis and left me a nice #5 for my noon aromatherapy along with green. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 +6 92 - Vines for Turnup

I am sending many feel-better vines for Turnup, and some healing snowflakes as well.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 +6 92 - Vines for Turnup

NIIIICE Numbers Mr. T! Bootiful pic too!

Headbutts, extra thoughts and prayers for sweet Turnup AND the rest of you because it affects everyone when they don't feel right.

BIG HUGE HUG,
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 +6 92 - Vines for Turnup

Tons of healing vines coming your way for Turnup. And scritches for both kitties. Good luck on Mr. T. decrease - he's looking good today. So sweet of him to look after his sister.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 +6 92 - Vines for Turnup

Mega healing vines for Turnup. Mr Tarragon is as sweet as he is handsome - Thinking of you Melissa :smile:
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon AMPS 126 +6 92 - Vines for Turnup

Mellisa, sending prayers for Turnup to feel better. That's so sweet Tarragon wants to comfort Turnup.
 
Re: 6/17 Tarragon PMPS 102 Vet update Turnup

Tarragon is cuddly tonight with nice numbers.

Thank you all so much for the vines, prayers, etc. Turnup is feeling better this evening, asking for water at the faucet and for supper. Still a little unsteady. I talked to her regular vet after he got a chance to look over the labs that ergent care did. He thinks, as do they, that she had a stroke or series of them over the weekend. She doesn't seem to be in physical pain. Her dementia has gotten much worse. He talked a little about feline Alzheimer's, which I didn't know existed. The good thing is that she is still using the box and eating. She is just very confused most of the time, repeating the same thing over and over, staring at the wall, loud talking at strange times, etc. We agreed the best thing for her is to keep her routine the same and make sure she feels safe. Thank you all so much. ((((Hugs))))
 
Hi Melissa,
I hope that Turnup's dementia won't cause her too much confusion. Good idea to keep her routines as steady as possible. Cats are creatures of routine in any event, and a cat with dementia would need her routines even more. Thinking of you tonight as you come to grips with this new challenge. Good thing you have Tarragon to help out!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
If the process has any similarity with humans, you may want to leave some lights on at night. Even thought cats see far better than we do, the shadows can be a cause for confusion or fear.
 
Melissa, in keeping with what Sienne said, when Checkers and Susan's cat were on Tramadol (Ultram), they both freaked out terribly, when we went near them. Seperately, in our own homes. They both had HUGE dilated pupils.

I couldn't understand why Checks would not let me near him. Susan figured out that they couldn't see well, with the dilated pupils and saw us as huge monsters coming at them.
Obviously I don't know how Turnup sees, Sienne's comment just reminded me of that.
 
(((( Melissa))))

Sending many prayers and healing vines for Turnup. I also wondered if she has Sundowners which can extend to daylight hours as well. Is there anything they can give her? My friends dog had this dementia but I cant remember what they gave him.

Keeping you all in our thoughts. Glad Little T is doing well.
 
Hi Melissa,

I am glad that Turnup is doing a little better. I too think being at home is good for her: familiar, where she is comfortable. Keeping her in thoughts.

Nice pmps too Mr T! BLUE!

Sorry to be so MIA of late. I just don't know where the time goes... BUSY! I hope you guys have been well. :-D I will hope too that the day has been a good one
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top