6/17 LaurieL's Gracie AMPS 157

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaurieL

Member Since 2011
On Tuesday we had our first scare with Gracie's BG dropping very low. (She threw up after her breakfast and shot.)
This morning, Gracie's AMPS was 157 and I was afraid to give her a shot since this is an unusually low number for her. The poor girl is really annoyed with the ear pokings/injections and has been hissing and trying to bite me. She had been so good in the beginning. :sad:
 
Re: 6/17 LaurieL's Gracie AMPS 157 (afraid to give shot)

you have options besides just skipping her shot, laurie. i think it might be helpful if you read the post about dealing with low pre-shot numbers, although 157 isn't considered low. even the 79 you got the other day is just in a normal cat's BG range. we don't treat numbers until they're under 50.

are you going to be around to test this morning? and do you have test strips and high carb food? if so, if i were you i would definitely give insulin.

one option is to wait a bit til the numbers rise to a number you feel like you can shoot.

another option is to shoot less than the normal amount.

you have to do whatever you feel comfortable with, but one thing i've learned is that just because they'll drop 100 points from 200-100 with one shot, doesn't mean they'll go from 100 to zero with the same dose. as you use the lantus their curve flattens out. but i'm not expert, i'm just telling you as i understand it.

Here's the posts you need:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45683
 
Re: 6/17 LaurieL's Gracie AMPS 157 (afraid to give shot)

I don't consider myself one of the experts here but if Gracie were my cat, I would give her a shot. A BG 157 is a nice solid blue and seems shootable and there's a sticky on the insulin depot that explains what happens if you don't. Hopefully some expert eyes can weigh in more.

btw, shooting while they're eating has worked well for me.
 
Re: 6/17 LaurieL's Gracie AMPS 157 (afraid to give shot)

Hi Laurie!! I haven't seen you post before so it's nice to meet you.

I took a look at Gracie's SS and, to be honest, there really isn't a lot of info there. You need to try to get some tests in during the PM cycle, even if it's just a test before you head off to bed. Also, during the AM cycle, try to test at AMPS, but also before you leave the house to go to work (if you work away from home). Then you should check again once you return home.

Shooting a 157 for the first time can be scary, but is very doable. I can't advise on what you should do because I'm definitely not one of the experts here on LL. If she ever does throw up her breakfast after you've given her a shot, try to give her something to eat, a little at a time.

I'm sure someone else will be on soon to help you out.

Edited to add: I agree with Julie completely on her post!! Also, Champ won't have anything to do with the testing and shooting unless he's eating something. I ALWAYS put some kind of food, even just a couple of pieces of boiled chicken breast, in front of him when I test and he couldn't care less what I'm doing with his ear. You just need to find what will distract Gracie and use that method all the time!!
 
Re: 6/17 LaurieL's Gracie AMPS 157 (afraid to give shot)

I've got to agree with Patty. You need a bit more data to guide your decisions. We strongly encourage that you get at minimum, one test per cycle in addition to your two pre-shot tests. You have no information about where Gracie's numbers are overnight. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. You really need to know what's going on so you can either safely increase or decrease Gracie's dose.

You have options if you are uncomfortable shooting a particular number. You can stall (and not feed) and re-test in 20 - 30 min. to see if numbers are rising. You can also shoot a reduced dose. A third option is to skip the shot but that has a big impact on the shed.

This post on handling low pre-shot numbers may help you to weigh your options.
 
Re: 6/17 LaurieL's Gracie AMPS 157 (afraid to give shot)

Gracie's BG was 330 at +2. I went ahead and gave her half a dose since it was already late and would be better than nothing.
I'll try not to panic the next time. Thanks for your help today.
 
Hi guys .. Don't worry about panicking, I think we have all done that at one point or another .. before you know it, you'll be shooting the 60's without batting an eye! Try and have a good weekend guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top