6/17 Jinx PMPS 327, +4 437

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73243

Jinx threw up a couple times yesterday despite me splitting up each meal into 2 parts 1/2 to 1 hr apart. So I just started mixing a little bit of his old canned NV food with the raw to see if that helps. I'm hoping I just started him on the raw too fast and we can go back to having firms stools and no barf...

Hope you all have a great Sunday!
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156

What a great start for Jinx. Please be sure you get at least a +2 :-D :-D no surprises then...we hope.

Good luck on the food mix.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41

Ugh, I fell asleep. :-x :-x Will never do that again. Just gave 1tsp of HC of will check in 20 min.

Just, used the 911 to get everyone's attention. He seems fine right now.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41

Hello Joe, you did good to put the 911 up, someone with more experience should come along soon, but in the meantime, here are the basics.

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

Also, there isa great sticky on handling low numbers. I have mine printed out for such occasions. ;-)
Shooting and handling low numbers

What a nice AMPS, now stop diving Jinx! And unless Jinx is a long term diabetic, this is an earned reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48

He's coming up. Just gave another tsp of HC and will test again in 20 min.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48

Good, keep it up! There is a name for this routine - "lather, rinse, repeat" - I think. ;-)
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48

Thanks, Anne. Not out of the clear yet but I think I got lucky and dodged a bullet on this one.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48

Until you see that numbers are stable, you'll want to test every 30 min. I think you are pretty good at the drill!!
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48, +4.25 65

Is a little HC recommended with a 65 or should I hold off and check to see where he's at in 30min?
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48, +4.25 65

How about just a tad bit of LC to keep him surfing there. If you gave him very much HC, he may continue to go up but it could wear off and he could come back down. So I'd give a little LC and recheck in 30.

I want to look at his SS and make sure this is not shed because I know you just gave him a reduction. brb
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48, +4.25 65

I have to go out and get some things taken care of, Joe, but there are people around if you need help.

Let's see how this cycle plays out; I'd like a couple other folks to also look at his SS so we'll get back to you on dose, ok?
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48, +4.25 65

Ok, thanks Marje. He did throw up this morning shortly after his PM +6 meal and didn't eat his entire meal this morning. Presumably factors that could have contributed to what I'm seeing now and more of a reason I should have gotten a +2...
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156, +3.5 41, +3.75 48, +4.25 65, +4.75 5

Looks like he wants to surf today. Just gave some LC and will test in 30.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +3.75 48, +4.25 65, +4.75 56, +5.2

45 at +5.25. Just gave some HC and will check in 30min.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +4.25 65, +4.75 56, +5.25 45, +5.7

Just gave his afternoon LC meal about a 1/2 hour earlier than usual. Will check again in 30.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +4.25 65, +4.75 56, +5.25 45, +5.7

Boy...he's serious about this. I'm tending towards you reducing him tonight.

Doing ok?
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +4.25 65, +4.75 56, +5.25 45, +5.7

Hang in there. ]inx is just exercising his catly rights--to throw low number when he feels like it! But look how nice--in the daytime!
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +4.25 65, +4.75 56, +5.25 45, +5.7

Jinx, you handsome devil! How about surfing at some nice safe green numbers for a while and give your bean and your ears a break?
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +5.25 45, +5.75 49, +6.25 56, +6.7

Just fed the second half of his afternoon meal at +6.75. C'mon Jinx... Come up a little bit. And hopefully he'll keep all this food down.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +5.25 45, +5.75 49, +6.25 56, +6.7

Up, up, up Jinx.

IMHO, If it is taking work for you to keep him up, I'd reduce his dose tonight.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +5.75 49, +6.25 56, +6.75 55, +7.2

I will, Marje. And just noticed your previous post. I'm doing good and he is being great with the ear pokes but it would be nice if he decides to start coming up. Just tested 60 at +7.25. Do you think I can get away with checking in an hour?
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +5.75 49, +6.25 56, +6.75 55, +7.2

Nice numbers! I agree with Marjorie, if you are having to manage Jinx this much with the food then definite reduction in order tonight.

Joe, right now you are in this phase:

Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

I'd get one more test 30 mins after your last one and then see where you are.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +6.25 56, +6.75 55, +7.25 60, +7.7

Thanks, Cathy. Definitely reducing to 3.0u tonight.

Just tested a 67 at +7.75. Will test again in one hour.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +6.75 55, +7.25 60, +7.75 67,+9 99

Finally!!!!! Similar to the evening of 6/15 with the protracted lows and the fact he didn't really come up on his own until +9.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx AMPS 156... +6.75 55, +7.25 60, +7.75 67,+9 99

Perfect. Good luck with the reduction. Paws crossed it holds :-D
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx PMPS 327

Contemplated shooting through the bounce with 3.25u but opted for the dose reduction to 3.0u. For future reference, please let me know if I should have given 3.25u. Thanks!
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx PMPS 327

Congrats on a gorgeous day and the reducie today Joe and Jinx! And now you get to sleep tonight too. Bonus.

Sometimes cats stomachs need to get used to raw food. Some people add probiotics. I just did the gradual introduction. But of course ECID. Hope you get the food issues sorted out soon with Jinx.
 
Re: 6/17 Jinx PMPS 327

Thanks, Wendy. I think I went too fast so I'll introduce him to it more gradually. And I just started adding probiotics this morning to the raw so I'm hoping that helps as well.

Hope Neko gives you some good numbers tomorrow. And I'm very interested to see how she takes to the buffalo. I'll see how Jinx does with the Primal raw quail but it does have some ground up bone marrow in it and it took him a couple days to poo after eating it with some very hard poo in the beginning. Have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top