6-17 Jeddie +11.5 56, +12 65

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is getting stranger and stranger. To recap:

Last night he was 76 so I shot .4u (normal dose was .5u)
This morning he was 301, so I shot .5u
Tonight at +11.5 he was 56 (I was going to shoot early to move up shot time)
Waiting 35 mins and he was 65 so I shot .2u (I don't want to wait longer and make his shot time even later, but he needs something)

So, here we are. .5u too much, .4u not enough? 76 to 301 to 56? Anyone want to tell me what that looks like? BTW, this is the same pattern as 10 days ago.

I guess I will try reducing his dose again and see what happens.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
This is getting stranger and stranger. To recap:

Last night he was 76 so I shot .4u (normal dose was .5u)
This morning he was 301, so I shot .5u
Tonight at +11.5 he was 56 (I was going to shoot early to move up shot time)
Waiting 35 mins and he was 65 so I shot .2u (I don't want to wait longer and make his shot time even later, but he needs something)

So, here we are. .5u too much, .4u not enough? 76 to 301 to 56? Anyone want to tell me what that looks like? BTW, this is the same pattern as 10 days ago.

I guess I will try reducing his dose again and see what happens.

looks like rebound/too much insulin to me....

Sheila, using your drop method, can't you reduce him in .05U increments? Or maybe stay with the .2U dose and see if he settles, then move UP in .05U increments.

I think you did great by going ahead and giving only .2U. Look at it this way - if we had a cat on 1.5U dose giving these numbers, wouldn't we tell them to reduce by at least 1/3rd of the dose to 1U? 1/3rd of .5U is almost .2U less. By dropping to .2U you are probably far enough below his best dose right now that you can let him settle on .2U and see what his numbers do.

Just a suggestion. Don't let me confuse you :lol:
 
That;s a good idea, Vicky. Sort of a "start over" (which I know is frown upon with lev/lan).

There is so much going on in the next 48 hrs anyway with me trying to get his shot earlier so I can pack the car and get out of here by 10am tomorrow, traveling where he won't eat much for 6+ hrs, etc.

Yeah, if I can't manage .05u increments, I need to shut my mouth around here :lol:

ETA: he was 287 this am - shot .2u
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
That;s a good idea, Vicky. Sort of a "start over" (which I know is frown upon with lev/lan).

Not by me. The whole point to Tilly needs to be stressed better - that you have to have started below the optimum dose for the methodical dose increases to work! That's why I harp on starting at .5U for Lev. You'll know soon enough if it's not enough.

When the cat is throwing rebound cycles (such as Jeddie's lows for preshots and then higher numbers) and there are no other complicating health issues to cause concern for ketones, the best plan is to drop the dose by half and begin again. Of course, maybe that's what you mean by the start over being frowned upon.

Got a PM from Beth, gotta go. have a safe trip and hope the kitties enjoy the upper Michigan weather (it is Michigan, right?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top